Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
recon_in_force
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2008
Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Tue, 20 January 2009 18:24
Recently been playing all the Mediterranean Theatre scenarios with my young son and about to embark on getting the air pack out again and wondered if anyone could help with come clarifications as we've never played air scenarios with airfields and RTTO markers before. I'll try and be as succint as I can!

RTTO Markers

Are we right in thinking that if a scenario starts with a plane on an airfield and has a single accompanying RTTO marker, then a player has two aircraft to use, aside from any extra air sortie cards that may be drawn from the pack during the game after these two have been used/destroyed?

i.e. the initial plane is used and when it is 'destroyed' by air check or not used on a particular turn, then the RTTO marker is removed from the airfield hex and replaced with the plane, which can take off again later on with the appropriate section card or an Air Sortie card (or equivalent).

Airfields

We've searched on the forum and looked through some of the posts about airfield ownership and realise this could be a very contentious point, so we've used the air pack FAQ ruling that any airfield that is vacant can be used for landing either allied or axis planes - is that still a general consensus, have we missed any other ruling on this issue?

If a plane ends its movement phase on an airfield (assuming the airfield hex is vacant), can the plane remain airborne, as in it is just flying over (after safe air check), or by finishing its movement phase on the airfield is it automatically deemed to have landed and will need to be re-ordered at a later stage in order to fly again? i.e. can a player decide if the plane should land for use later, or if its mission can continue?

Hope these questions make sense, thanks in advance for any help.


      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 06:07
recon_in_force wrote on Tue, 20 January 2009 09:24


RTTO Markers

Are we right in thinking that if a scenario starts with a plane on an airfield and has a single accompanying RTTO marker, then a player has two aircraft to use, aside from any extra air sortie cards that may be drawn from the pack during the game after these two have been used/destroyed?

i.e. the initial plane is used and when it is 'destroyed' by air check or not used on a particular turn, then the RTTO marker is removed from the airfield hex and replaced with the plane, which can take off again later on with the appropriate section card or an Air Sortie card (or equivalent).


Yep, you have those rules down. To add to that, the planes on the airfield can be ordered without the need of an Air Sortie card. They are just treated like a normal unit.

Quote:

Airfields

We've searched on the forum and looked through some of the posts about airfield ownership and realise this could be a very contentious point, so we've used the air pack FAQ ruling that any airfield that is vacant can be used for landing either allied or axis planes - is that still a general consensus, have we missed any other ruling on this issue?


I don't remember if there was any other ruling on this one. I would go with your plan unless someone else can remember a different offical word on it. Anyone? Rolling Eyes

Quote:

If a plane ends its movement phase on an airfield (assuming the airfield hex is vacant), can the plane remain airborne, as in it is just flying over (after safe air check), or by finishing its movement phase on the airfield is it automatically deemed to have landed and will need to be re-ordered at a later stage in order to fly again? i.e. can a player decide if the plane should land for use later, or if its mission can continue?


The plane lands on the airfield. At a later time, you can order it just like another unit, but while it is on the air field it is very vulnerable to ground attacks...so watch out.

Have fun!!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2270
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 06:32
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 21 January 2009 00:07

recon_in_force wrote on Tue, 20 January 2009 09:24

If a plane ends its movement phase on an airfield (assuming the airfield hex is vacant), can the plane remain airborne, as in it is just flying over (after safe air check), or by finishing its movement phase on the airfield is it automatically deemed to have landed and will need to be re-ordered at a later stage in order to fly again? i.e. can a player decide if the plane should land for use later, or if its mission can continue?

The plane lands on the airfield. At a later time, you can order it just like another unit, but while it is on the air field it is very vulnerable to ground attacks...so watch out.

Small clarification about this point. According to page 6 of the Air Rules, "An Airplane that ends its movement on a friendly Aircraft carrier or Airfield hex containing no other unit (with the sole possible exception of additional friendly, Ready to Take-off markers) can safely land there." It is not obligated to land.

Coincidentally, just yesterday, my Marines kept a plane flying over the air field at Wake Island, so a Japanese infantry wouldn't roll 4d against it on the ground or waltz onto the medal hex there.
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1668
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 10:24
sam1812 écrit le Wed, 21 January 2009 06:32

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 21 January 2009 00:07

recon_in_force wrote on Tue, 20 January 2009 09:24

If a plane ends its movement phase on an airfield (assuming the airfield hex is vacant), can the plane remain airborne, as in it is just flying over (after safe air check), or by finishing its movement phase on the airfield is it automatically deemed to have landed and will need to be re-ordered at a later stage in order to fly again? i.e. can a player decide if the plane should land for use later, or if its mission can continue?

The plane lands on the airfield. At a later time, you can order it just like another unit, but while it is on the air field it is very vulnerable to ground attacks...so watch out.

Small clarification about this point. According to page 6 of the Air Rules, "An Airplane that ends its movement on a friendly Aircraft carrier or Airfield hex containing no other unit (with the sole possible exception of additional friendly, Ready to Take-off markers) can safely land there." It is not obligated to land.


That is correct. An airplane that ends its move above an airfield hex may remain airborne.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 17:35
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 20 January 2009 21:32


Small clarification about this point. According to page 6 of the Air Rules, "An Airplane that ends its movement on a friendly Aircraft carrier or Airfield hex containing no other unit (with the sole possible exception of additional friendly, Ready to Take-off markers) can safely land there." It is not obligated to land.

Coincidentally, just yesterday, my Marines kept a plane flying over the air field at Wake Island, so a Japanese infantry wouldn't roll 4d against it on the ground or waltz onto the medal hex there.


Sorry, I didn't make it clear that the plane doesn't have to land. The plane does have to keep moving though, if it doesn't land. You can't just have a plane sit over an Airfield for several turns and pretend that it's "patroling" or something! If the plane ever goes for a turn without moving (and it hasn't landed on the Airfield) it leaves the board.

Thanks for the clarification, Sam and Antoine.
      
recon_in_force
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2008
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 19:17
Thanks everyone for your responses, after reading and re-reading the air pack rules before posting here, I'm glad that we were on the right lines to start with, but your posts are much appreciated. My son was so excited when we logged on this morning to see the replies, it was like Christmas all over again!!

We were just about to play Gallabat-Metemma (air pack p51) when I wondered what an airplane could do when it got to an airfield hex. If I understand correctly, in that scenario, if the axis plane on Metemma airfield is no longer present, then given the air sortie cards are in the deck, it's perfectly reasonable for the allied player to draw an air sortie card, have their plane finish its movement phase by landing on the airfield, having then strafed the surrounding axis units. The aircraft would have landed on what was an enemy airfield, miles from its own lines, which seems an unlikely 'real life' scenario, as typically a plane would return to land on or behind its own lines.

When previously searching the forum I found some early posts which raised the subject of airfield 'ownership' and can see it could be deemed to be a contentious (if that's not too strong a word) issue - has anything ever been finalised about airfield ownership apart from the FAQ ruling that if an airfield is empty anyone can land on it?

Also, one other quick question about exit markers, if I may. Is it enough for a unit to land on a designated exit hex in order to exit the board, or does a unit have to move through it i.e. if an infantry unit moved two hexes (without any movement bonus) and landed on a designated exit hex, could it be taken off the board there and then, or would it have to wait until its next turn to move beyond the exit hex?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 20:20
In response to the exit marker question:

The unit has to physically move off the board to exit the board. So being on an exit hex is not a magic trap door to escape through. In fact, it would be incumbent on the enemy to destroy your unit or battle it into retreat to prevent your final departure on the next turn. See the following link:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=35050#msg_35050

One further thing to think about. Many of the questions that you may think of have already been asked and can be searched for using the search feature on the top right side of the forum page.

[Updated on: Wed, 21 January 2009 20:31]

      
recon_in_force
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2008
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 21:36
stevens wrote on Wed, 21 January 2009 19:20

In response to the exit marker question:

One further thing to think about. Many of the questions that you may think of have already been asked and can be searched for using the search feature on the top right side of the forum page.


Yep, I do try and conduct searches before posting, just realised I typed 'exit markers' in as the search string which is why I didn't find the thread you referenced. Thanks for the reply.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Wed, 21 January 2009 22:47
Don't feel bad!
One time I asked a question on the forum and while I was thinking about it, I researched it and found that I had asked the same question nine months earlier and gotten a very nice response.
Embarassed
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2140
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Airfields and 'Ready To Take-Off' markers Thu, 22 January 2009 03:09
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 21 January 2009 11:35

sam1812 wrote on Tue, 20 January 2009 21:32


Small clarification about this point. According to page 6 of the Air Rules, "An Airplane that ends its movement on a friendly Aircraft carrier or Airfield hex containing no other unit (with the sole possible exception of additional friendly, Ready to Take-off markers) can safely land there." It is not obligated to land.

Coincidentally, just yesterday, my Marines kept a plane flying over the air field at Wake Island, so a Japanese infantry wouldn't roll 4d against it on the ground or waltz onto the medal hex there.


Sorry, I didn't make it clear that the plane doesn't have to land. The plane does have to keep moving though, if it doesn't land. You can't just have a plane sit over an Airfield for several turns and pretend that it's "patroling" or something! If the plane ever goes for a turn without moving (and it hasn't landed on the Airfield) it leaves the board.

Thanks for the clarification, Sam and Antoine.



Right, an ordered plane must move at least one hex, cannot move into the same hex twice in any given turn nor end it's move in the hex it started the turn in.
      
    
Previous Topic:Cheap German and American infantry
Next Topic:Another plea for the British as expansion 6
Goto Forum: