Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
jrk74
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 3
Registered:
July 2007
Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 18 April 2008 14:40
Check out the Infantry Assult card. I am in a game with a guy and he is questioning my use of it. I have INF but they are all behind sandbags and out of range. I don't want to move them because I'll lose my sandbags. So I elected to move 1 tank. I did, scored a hit, and a kill. He is wondering from the FAQ
that I interpreted the card wrong. He believed that I have to have zero INF left before I could move a tank. I don't think so.

The card reads:
“If you do not command any Infantry units, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice.”

Does command mean own? If it does this is a really lousy wording. I read this as you can move 4 INF or 1 anything. You are already taking a huge disadvantage by only moving 1 unit versus 4. The card is basically worthless if you don't want to move INF.

Read the card, then the FAQ, what do you think?

Thanks!
Jason
      
Sniper
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

Posts: 422
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 18 April 2008 16:05
I think your buddy is correct. The one unit movement rule is meant to compensate you if you have no other options, you had options, you did not like them, but you had options.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 18 April 2008 16:09
Sniper is correct. If you have the units to move, you must move them. The verabge at the bottom is a consolation prize, not a choice.

In essence, even if there is only 1 Infantry on the entire board, you must use Infantry Assault for infantry. The only way it would ever be used for any other unit is if ALL your infantry had previously been removed (and if that happens, you most likely lost the game already).
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7110
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 18 April 2008 16:55
jrk74 wrote on Fri, 18 April 2008 05:40


The card reads:
“If you do not command any Infantry units, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice.”

Thanks!
Jason


A while back someone said that when dealing with rule questions it's best to take the wording as literally as possible. When the Infantry Assault card says "If you do not command" it means if you don't command them...if there aren't any in your army and under your command.

Sorry, it sounds like you have to give back the medal and play a different card. Confused
      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 160
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 18 April 2008 19:40
I've always played this as meaning you can only order another unit if you do not have any Infantry on the board.

L8R's
T
      
woba
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Fri, 13 March 2009 23:52
I believe you're all wrong.

When you do not have any INF left to command, there is probably a 95% chance that you allready lost the game.
So why would the extra rule to order a unit of your choice excist?

And the card doesn't say: If you do not HAVE any Infantry units, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice.


      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 00:22
The same wording can be found on Armor assault card and Artillery bombard and in those cases the extra rule is very useful. Think Pegasus Bridge.

I`m with Sniper, Coltsfan, Rasmussen and Taylor on this one.
The extra rule is only used when you don`t have any infantry/armor/artillery on the board.

[Updated on: Sat, 14 March 2009 00:23]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7110
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 00:35
woba wrote on Fri, 13 March 2009 15:52

I believe you're all wrong.

When you do not have any INF left to command, there is probably a 95% chance that you allready lost the game.
So why would the extra rule to order a unit of your choice excist?

And the card doesn't say: If you do not HAVE any Infantry units, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice.



Looks like the discussion has been very eloquently concluded.Laughing

I have to respectfully disagree with this comment because there are battles where one side (or both) have no Infantry. When this happens, a player with Infantry Assault can use the card to order one unit. If there is Infantry on the board, they must be ordered with the card.

Here are some scenarios that have very few Infantry units:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1346

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4246

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4231
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1069
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 08:17
ColtsFan76 wrote on Fri, 18 April 2008 15:09

Sniper is correct. If you have the units to move, you must move them.


Remember that you can "order" a unit to do nothing - it doesn't have to move. So if you have an infantry unit behind sandbags just play the card, order the unit to "hold position" and draw a new card. This is how I play it - problem solved!


      
woba
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 09:19
The card 'behind enemy lines', also has that same extra rule.

So with that card you also can not command an other unit than an INF when you have at least one left?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 10:47
I would say so. It`s the same wording as the other cards mentioned. If you have infantry on the board the BEL card must be used to order an infantry unit.

I would guess this rule is too make sure all cards can be used at all times regardless of what kind of units you have on the board/under your command.

If this extra rule wasn`t written on these cards, the cards would be worthless in some scenarios where you don`t have the specified unit type in play.

As Rasmussen81 mentioned, the Knightsbridge scenario doesn`t have infantry so the BEL card would be worthless/unusable in that scenario without the extra rule about ordering 1 unit of your choice if you don`t command any infantry units.

Same applies for Armor Assault card and Artillery Bombard card in Pegasus Bridge scenario.

[Updated on: Sat, 14 March 2009 10:48]

      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1663
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 11:31
Hi there,

The right answer had already been given from the very beginning:

Sniper écrit le Fri, 18 April 2008 16:05

The one unit movement rule is meant to compensate you if you have no other options, you had options, you did not like them, but you had options.


The extra rule is here for 'bad hand' situations.
      
woba
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Sat, 14 March 2009 13:07
OK, I lose Confused
      
gp_man
Member
Lucky Bastard

User Pages
Posts: 38
Registered:
January 2009
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Wed, 18 March 2009 18:13
I thought this "extra rule" added at the bottom of the card came from Mr. Borg's similar game Battle Cry. This extra rule was not included on those cards. We played that BC to death and I remember several games where one or both players would spent a couple turns just discarding special tactic cards when you didn't have the correct units. The game could turn into a luck match, whomever picked up a card he/she could use first won!

This difference was the first thing I noticed about Memoir, and the reason I fell in love with it. M44 plays so much better.
      
Hugin
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 24
Registered:
January 2009
Re:Can I move 1 Armor with the Infantry Assault Card? Wed, 18 March 2009 19:58
woba wrote on Sat, 14 March 2009 08:07

OK, I lose Confused

Don't feel too bad, I would've said the same as you. As a matter of fact, we will continue to play with the option to issue a command to any single unit. It helps to mitigate the luck factor (either good or bad) just a small amount. Having the option to use a single unit in lieu of the cards full potential is a tactical gamble with a cost.
      
    
Previous Topic:Securing the Flank - number of sandbags?
Next Topic:Making a Card Tuckbox for Memoir '44 Deck
Goto Forum: