Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Several questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 11:55
guys, got several questions for clarification

1. an elite infantry can move 2 and battle right, if powered with Infantry Assault, can he move 3 and battle ?

2. if a plane is ordered with a TFH card, does it strafe with 2 dices ?

3. is there any file that i can download to see the summary card for aircheck ?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 12:23
Steve Nightrain wrote on Tue, 31 March 2009 11:55

guys, got several questions for clarification

3. is there any file that i can download to see the summary card for aircheck ?


You can find the summary card in the cards compendium here on this site.
The link takes you directly to the card:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=air_rule_4

Or download rasmussen81`s player aid. It has all air rules on one page. Makes it a breeze to look up.

Find it on his userpage:
page:http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/362174/m44/story

[Updated on: Tue, 31 March 2009 12:24]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 12:35
Steve Nightrain wrote on Tue, 31 March 2009 11:55

guys, got several questions for clarification

1. an elite infantry can move 2 and battle right, if powered with Infantry Assault, can he move 3 and battle ?


No, he can`t move 3 and battle.

With infantry assault card elite infantry can move 0-2 and battle(as normal) or move 3 and NOT battle(this extra movement when not battleing is the only effect of playing infantry assault cards on elite infantry.)

Question number two I don`t know. I have never thought about it.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 15:03
The answer for the Strafing aircraft with TFH card is yes. It may roll 2d instead of 1d. Makes you think a little differently about those planes now doesn't it!

This answer is given in the FAQ for the Air Pack. In fact, it is the third question asked. Check it out at this website:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq_airpack/
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 18:07
ad79 wrote on Tue, 31 March 2009 17:23

Steve Nightrain wrote on Tue, 31 March 2009 11:55

guys, got several questions for clarification

3. is there any file that i can download to see the summary card for aircheck ?


You can find the summary card in the cards compendium here on this site.
The link takes you directly to the card:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=air_rule_4

Or download rasmussen81`s player aid. It has all air rules on one page. Makes it a breeze to look up.

Find it on his userpage:
page:http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/362174/m44/story


thanks a lot, i forgot i've downloaded rasmussen player aid and it's wonderful, thanks a lot again Smile
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 18:10
thanks a lot for the answer, ok elite cannot move 3 and battle, and strafed with 2d is awesome

btw, since i'm pretty new to the air sortie rules, i need another clarification, so basically an airborne plane is cannot get hit by anything right ? it flew away if in the next turn, we don't order it

but if it happened to be ordered, then we do the aircheck, if it's on a town and right adjacent to him an enemy unit, then he rolls 3d for aircheck, if a grenade is tossed, then the enemy got a medal for the destroyed plane, am i correct ?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Several questions Tue, 31 March 2009 18:59
Steve Nightrain wrote on Tue, 31 March 2009 09:10

thanks a lot for the answer, ok elite cannot move 3 and battle, and strafed with 2d is awesome

btw, since i'm pretty new to the air sortie rules, i need another clarification, so basically an airborne plane is cannot get hit by anything right ? it flew away if in the next turn, we don't order it

but if it happened to be ordered, then we do the aircheck, if it's on a town and right adjacent to him an enemy unit, then he rolls 3d for aircheck, if a grenade is tossed, then the enemy got a medal for the destroyed plane, am i correct ?


You got it! Very Happy The planes don't change the battles in a huge way but they can add a subtle element that I really enjoy. It looks like you understand the rules really well.
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Several questions Wed, 01 April 2009 04:21
hi jesse
yes i agree with you, the plane is not changing the game in a huge way, but sometimes it can help a lot, especially in a situation when strafing artilerry, that flag or star can be useful, or strafing three infantries with 1 figure at the backrow Very Happy
      
dcbass
Junior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
June 2007
Re:Several questions Wed, 01 April 2009 23:29
Regarding the airpower, there is one rule I'd like to see changed. The flags that can't be ignored are tough and I wish it weren't the case. Mainly because if I were to imagine myself dug in and comfy in a foxhole, I wouldn't jump out and run away if a plane was shooting or bombing us. I'd get deeper into the hole.

Several games I've played have been lopsided especially in the Fall Gelb campaign because the Axis flies planes and picks off my artillery and then it's a breeze for the axis to sweep in and finish me off. Artillery on the back row are sitting ducks since they can't ignore retreats. Moving them up is fine but I'm getting spanked by the axis who are just being patient while the birds buzz around.

Ah well....

      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 04:19
to answer your question, probably in reality, the air-bombing raid is too heavy to handle that they really really need to retreat from that hole otherwise they'll get burnt Very Happy

but from a gamers perspective, that maybe just to add more strength to the airstrike, considering it only rolls 1d, i have experienced myself striking 4 consecutive hits against an artilerry and got no chance of GRE,FLG,or STR at all Very Happy

btw just add several questions to be clarified :

4. if a plane enters the board, should it start its first movement at an open hex, or could he straightly strafed an enemy ?

5. if i have air strike card (not sortie), considering it's the same as air sortie, can i play it along with my section card ?
and after playing, i should draw 2 cards right ?

6. if a plane is airborne, and two enemy units are right beside it, and i play an Assault card (order all), can i decide not to order the plane (because there'll be 2d aircheck and i won't take the risk) or should i keep ordering the plane ?

Thanks
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 05:12
Steve Nightrain wrote on Wed, 01 April 2009 19:19


btw just add several questions to be clarified:

4. if a plane enters the board, should it start its first movement at an open hex, or could he straightly strafed an enemy ?

The plane must enter a full hex, but it doesn't have to be empty. It can strafe an enemy right away!

Quote:

5. if i have air strike card (not sortie), considering it's the same as air sortie, can i play it along with my section card ?
and after playing, i should draw 2 cards right?

If you are playing with the Air Rules (bringing Airplanes onto the board), you treat the Air Strike card exaclty like an Air Sortie card. So you would put in face up on the table when you draw it and pick another card. That means you can play it with a section card but you wouldn't draw a card to replenish the Air Strike card.

Quote:

6. if a plane is airborne, and two enemy units are right beside it, and i play an Assault card (order all), can i decide not to order the plane (because there'll be 2d aircheck and i won't take the risk) or should i keep ordering the plane ?
Thanks

You can decide not to order the plane and it will safely fly off the board. You never have to order the plane.

[Updated on: Thu, 02 April 2009 05:13]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2194
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 11:54
"The plane must enter a full hex..."


One important note: If a plane comes in from the side of the board (not along a baseline) its first hex of entry cannot be an indented full hex (those bordered by a shaded half hex).

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 12:06
Dear Steve,
Page 4 of the Air Pack rules gives a pretty clear picture of the allowable hexes for aircraft entry onto the board.
The rules can be found here:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/rules_ap/

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2293
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 13:59
Steve Nightrain wrote on Wed, 01 April 2009 19:19

5. if i have air strike card (not sortie), considering it's the same as air sortie, can i play it along with my section card? And after playing, I should draw 2 cards right?


And Rasmussen replied:
Quote:

If you are playing with the Air Rules (bringing Airplanes onto the board), you treat the Air Strike card exaclty like an Air Sortie card. So you would put in face up on the table when you draw it and pick another card. That means you can play it with a section card but you wouldn't draw a card to replenish the Air Strike card.


Here's what it says on page 4 of Air Rules:
Quote:

In addition, when Air Rules are in effect, Air Power cards must be played as if they were Air Sortie cards instead; And cards that are deemed equivalent by the Scenario's Special rules - such as a Recon 1 card when Air Strikes & Blitz rules are in effect - may be played, at the player's option, as indicated on the card (e.g. a Recon 1) OR as an Air Sortie card instead.

Unlike true Air Sortie cards, these cards are never placed face up nor shown to the other player beforehand; they can never be played in combination with a Section card; and they are replaced as normal, once played, at the end of the player's turn.

So the simple answer, actually, is that Air Power and other "Air Sortie equivalents" must be played from your hand, and may not be played in combination with another card. But they have great surprise value.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 15:48
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 02 April 2009 04:59



Here's what it says on page 4 of Air Rules:
Quote:

In addition, when Air Rules are in effect, Air Power cards must be played as if they were Air Sortie cards instead; And cards that are deemed equivalent by the Scenario's Special rules - such as a Recon 1 card when Air Strikes & Blitz rules are in effect - may be played, at the player's option, as indicated on the card (e.g. a Recon 1) OR as an Air Sortie card instead.

Unlike true Air Sortie cards, these cards are never placed face up nor shown to the other player beforehand; they can never be played in combination with a Section card; and they are replaced as normal, once played, at the end of the player's turn.

So the simple answer, actually, is that Air Power and other "Air Sortie equivalents" must be played from your hand, and may not be played in combination with another card. But they have great surprise value.


Hey Sam, you're right that Air Power equivalent cards can be played from your hand and allow for the surprise value but the Air Strike card is not an Air Power equivalent; it's treated just like an Air Power card and must be layed face up on the table when it is drawn. Recon 1 is an Air Power equivalent and is played from the hand.

If you look at the rules, it says
Quote:

when Air Rules are in effect, Air Power cards must be played as if they were Air Sortie cards instead
and then it goes on to talk about Air Power equivalent cards which are different.

I hope this helps clarify the issue.
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Several questions Thu, 02 April 2009 16:19
thanks guys, i think everything seems clearer now
so if blitz rules in effect, i can play recon 1 as an order to a plane, and simply draw another card for replacement after my turn, but if i drew air power, i put it face up, and draw another one right ?

thanks again Cool
      
    
Previous Topic:Question about campaign 'Flanking Caen'
Next Topic:Vassal Special Edition
Goto Forum: