Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Question on Cadets of Saumur
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1417
Registered:
October 2006
  Question on Cadets of Saumur Wed, 20 May 2009 16:32
I played the flipside of Hedgerow Hell yesterday. The player playing the Axis said that he did not have to take the two permanent medal hexes in the cities mentioned in the overview. Not thinking that way, my friend and I fortified those cities and put artillery in range to keep the Axis forces from crossing the bridge on the left, and used armor to keep them from crossing the bridge on the right. While our arty and infantry picked at them, the other player took enough of our forces to win. I don't know why, but I think he should have to take the two medal objectives in the cities mentioned.




__________________
"And while the hordes of death are mighty, the battalions of life are mightier still. It is my hope that my son, when I am gone, will remember me not from the battle but in the home repeating with him our simple daily prayer, 'Our Father who art in heaven." Douglas MacArthur <><
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Wed, 20 May 2009 19:23
Your opponent was right. He doesn't have to take the two towns to win the scenario, he only needs twelve medals.

If one side needs to hold a town or exit a unit to win in addition to getting a specified number of medals, it is clearly stated in the Victory condition for the scenario.

For an example of this look up "Breakthrough to Gembloux" where one unit has to exit the board, before the axis player can win.

Conditions of Victory:
Axis player: 12 Medals, with at least one collected by a German unit exiting the board through the Exit hex toward Gembloux.
Allied player: 12 Medals.

From the scenario page: http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=3496

But in Cadets of Saumur you can of course houserule in that the axis has to hold one or both towns to be able to win. It would alter the scenario slightly and would force the axis player to think more about offensive moves.

If you do, let us know how it played out.

[Updated on: Wed, 20 May 2009 19:26]

      
rooster5
Member

User Pages
Posts: 65
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Fri, 22 May 2009 09:07
Geesh, after palying axis so many times on the breakthrough to gambloux battle map, I know so well the rule of having to take a medal to win. Which I have not won yet as axis. (but damn I have come close)
If a medal has to be made by one side it will state in special rules a player "must" have this medal for victory conditons.

I will quote from the breakthrough map, which I think is one of the first to use this rule:
german player:
12 medals, of which one must be the medal collected by the first german ground unit that exits the board through the hex towards gambloux.

Ground unit, I am thinking, anything but a plane or boat. I have had as much as 14 medals and still not did achieve victory conditions as written by the law. To make a short story long, I am learning the language of our great game creators. It would state "must" if it is a conditon of victory.

Side note: Breakthrough to Gambloux is worth the price of the campaigne bag alone, which, I think, is the only way to get this battle map.

[Updated on: Fri, 22 May 2009 09:12]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sat, 23 May 2009 18:54
Here are two more questions:

1. When playing a Recon 1 card as something else (Blitz or Blowing Bridges Option 2) do you still draw three cards? In the base game you don't unless you use it for its original purpose so I have not drawn 3 cards or are the Overlord rules different?

2. How do you use the mortar? It is marked with one artillery whereas the new mortar as a SWA plays as an addition to an infantry unit. I've played it as an infantry mortar.

      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sat, 23 May 2009 18:57
Question 2: look here
http://www.daysofwonder.com/de/msg/?goto=164248#msg_164248
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sun, 24 May 2009 11:44
Question 1: If you use Recon 1 as something else you play it as that card, so you don't draw three cards. The whole card is substituted.
When attempting to blow bridges you don't draw three cards.

[Updated on: Sun, 24 May 2009 11:44]

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sun, 24 May 2009 13:33
I think the drawing three cards issue comes from some confusion with the Pegasus Bridge scenario and does not carry over for other scenarios. In that scenario the Axis draw 2 cards on every turn until they reach their maximum of 4 total cards. If the first card played by them is a RECON 1, then they would draw draw two, discard one and draw again - or in essence draw three cards. This again is scenario specific and not the way most scenarios work.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sun, 24 May 2009 13:57
stevens wrote on Sun, 24 May 2009 12:33

I think the drawing three cards issue comes from some confusion with the Pegasus Bridge scenario and does not carry over for other scenarios. In that scenario the Axis draw 2 cards on every turn until they reach their maximum of 4 total cards. If the first card played by them is a RECON 1, then they would draw draw two, discard one and draw again - or in essence draw three cards. This again is scenario specific and not the way most scenarios work.


Yeah, I was thinking specifically about Overlord where playing a Recon 1 card means that three and not two cards are drawn back into your hand. Smile

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Sun, 24 May 2009 20:06
I am sorry, I must retract my answer. You are correct that normally you may draw 3 cards in overlord if you play a recon-1 card. I forgot the topic was Cadets of Saumur (an overlord scenario). I need to think before I type. Embarassed
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Question on Cadets of Saumur Mon, 25 May 2009 08:26
stevens wrote on Sun, 24 May 2009 19:06

I need to think before I type. Embarassed


Hey, we've all done it!! Laughing

      
    
Previous Topic:ending a game
Next Topic:Pictures from the IWM
Goto Forum: