Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Saint-Aignan de Cramesnil
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rooster5
Member

User Pages
Posts: 65
Registered:
April 2009
Saint-Aignan de Cramesnil Mon, 25 May 2009 17:24
Played this scenario last night. Great use of the new Tiger rules! This is the scenario on the flip side of Villers Bocage, the supplement scenarios that came with Tigers. The Axis won by a score of 5-4. Very fast and furious tank duel scenario. WE gave it two thumps up. I think this scenario would be great played to a 7 medal victory.
An interesting question arose and we played it like this. A barrage card was played and targeted a Tiger. Since the card stated score one hit for each symbol or grenade, it counted as a direct hit on the tiger, no re-roll for grenades. I played the Axis so just agreed to this rule. Cards have priority.
Kind of throws a kill one Tiger free card out there in the mix.
Did we play this right?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7193
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Saint-Aignan de Cramesnil Mon, 25 May 2009 17:54
I don't think you did, but I'm not the official ruling on this.

The Air Power Card and the Barrage card don't override the abilitly of Tigers to re-roll a hit! Both cards just increase the chance of getting that first hit or more hits.

The Air Power card increases the chances because the Star hits, and the Barrage card allows you to ignore Terrain protections. But just because these cards allow you to attack with more dice, the cards don't instantly kill the Tiger Tanks.
      
rooster5
Member

User Pages
Posts: 65
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Saint-Aignan de Cramesnil Mon, 25 May 2009 18:01
WOW that was a quick response. Ok THANKS so much for the clarification. Great! So there is not a Kill Tiger Free card in the game!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2326
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Saint-Aignan de Cramesnil Mon, 25 May 2009 18:22
I posed this question to Richard Borg last week, and he responded:
Quote:

(RB) Yes you must re-roll to confirm.
As the Tigers Summary card state: Enemy re-rolls all battle dice that score a hit.

(RB) If a Tiger cannot ignore a flag and is forced to retreat, like any other unit that cannot retreat, one hit is score for each retreat hex it cannot complete. Again hits scored in this manner must be re-rolled to confirm.

[Updated on: Mon, 25 May 2009 18:27]

      
    
Previous Topic:Pictures from the IWM
Next Topic:New St. Vith scenario using the new Tigers.
Goto Forum: