Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Bishop084
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
May 2009
Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Fri, 01 May 2009 20:07
As I understand it, the sections under "Expanding through new Conquests" is a sequence of events.

1. Ready your Troops
2. Conquer
3. Abandoning a Region

As such, you would not be able to completely abandon a region to give you more troops for conquests this turn, but would have to wait to use them next turn. This of course means less victory points this turn because some/all regions you once controlled have been left empty.

However, I've seen a few comments that seem to imply they abandon regions as part of their "Ready your Troops" phase, and use those extra troops this turn. Which is correct?
      
Magnot
Member

User Pages
Posts: 49
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Fri, 01 May 2009 20:23
My understanding of the rules, or what seems to make the most sense, is that you abandon regions as a part of your "ready your troops" phase. The way that section of the rules is organized, however, does seem to imply that this might be the final phase of the turn.

Let me refer you to the front of the quick reference cards; I think this should dispel any uncertainty. They read:

"Ready your Troops: Leaving 1 race token in each Region, take the others back in hand. If you wish, you may abandon some (all) Regions during this phase, but you will lose the Victory coins associated with them (and possibly become subject to the first conquest rule again)."

does that answer your question?

[Updated on: Fri, 01 May 2009 20:26]

      
Bishop084
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Sat, 02 May 2009 01:43
It does indeed.

I'd gotten so used to refering back to the main rule book to clarify the various race/abilities, I never thought to go to the quick reference to clarify the rule book.
      
TheDarkSun
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2008
  Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 06 May 2009 07:28
Hi there.

We just bought a game and REALLY enjoyed our first two plays, but... the same question arose - as we play now, you can NOT take out your troops and attack with them on the same turn.

This is a really major gameplay issue. Can someone from the officials confirm the rules, please?

Thank you in advance
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 06 May 2009 14:27
TheDarkSun wrote on Wed, 06 May 2009 07:28


This is a really major gameplay issue. Can someone from the officials confirm the rules, please?


All you need is to read all the rules! Cool
Specificly the chapter called "Abandoning a Region on page 6.
      
TheDarkSun
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2008
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 06 May 2009 15:08
Well, I have read all the rules. Specifically, Abandoning the region I read like 10 times. And yes, while text suggests that we can abandon the region and attack with that token - this rule doesn't make much sense to me. For example - it will overpower Amazons to hell.

So, I'll be waiting for the official response.

Thank you for fast response.

[Updated on: Wed, 06 May 2009 15:08]

      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1658
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 06 May 2009 15:35
Yes, you may abandon regions and use the freed tokens to attack other regions, as indicated in the rules and on the summary sheet.

Note that you cannot abandon a region that you have just conquered. This would be far too powerful.
      
TheDarkSun
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2008
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 06 May 2009 15:44
Thank you very much for such a quick response.
We'll try to play with that rule.
      
seqiro
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 27 May 2009 22:09
Antoine wrote on Wed, 06 May 2009 09:35

Yes, you may abandon regions and use the freed tokens to attack other regions, as indicated in the rules and on the summary sheet.

Note that you cannot abandon a region that you have just conquered. This would be far too powerful.


Clarification here:

Do you mean you cannot do this immediately after conquering the region, i.e. during redeployment? That's actually in the rules.

Or does this mean that you cannot leave a region you conquered on your NEXT turn, during the Ready Your Troops phase?

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3194
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 27 May 2009 22:31
He means that you cannot use your troops to roll through the map during your turn, ie use 3 troops tokens to conquer an enemy region, then immediately take 2 of these tokens back in hand to conquer an adjacent region, etc...
      
seqiro
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Wed, 27 May 2009 22:34
eric wrote on Wed, 27 May 2009 16:31

He means that you cannot use your troops to roll through the map during your turn, ie use 3 troops tokens to conquer an enemy region, then immediately take 2 of these tokens back in hand to conquer an adjacent region, etc...


I would have thought that was obvious. You can only move your tokens before your conquests begin (ready your troops) or after your conquests are ended (redeploy). And the rules already state that you have to leave at least one token in a region when you redeploy.

[Updated on: Wed, 27 May 2009 22:34]

      
BamH1
Member
Small World Creation Contest Winner

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Thu, 28 May 2009 01:08
seqiro wrote on Thu, 28 May 2009 06:09

Antoine wrote on Wed, 06 May 2009 09:35

Yes, you may abandon regions and use the freed tokens to attack other regions, as indicated in the rules and on the summary sheet.

Note that you cannot abandon a region that you have just conquered. This would be far too powerful.


Clarification here:

Do you mean you cannot do this immediately after conquering the region, i.e. during redeployment? That's actually in the rules.

Or does this mean that you cannot leave a region you conquered on your NEXT turn, during the Ready Your Troops phase?



He means you cannot redeploy with extra strength by abandoning regions just conquered in present turn. At the beginning of the next turn, then yes, he may (if they have survived).

Exception is Amazons who MUST remove 4 tokens from the board during redeployment. They may in fact have to abandon newly acquired land to do so.

In such a case, I don't think there is any restriction as to which regions the amazon player must abandon (either old or newly acquired).

It is not always advantageous to abandon and re-enter the board, or, for that matter, to abandon during readying troops, because you could well have less territories at the end of doing so, and less points. Obviously, if you have a strategic or bonus points reason to do so that then prevails.
      
abodi
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 7
Registered:
May 2005
Re:Rules Clarification: Abandoning a Region Thu, 28 May 2009 10:04
wow seems pretty un thematic, to have you race disappear on the left hand side, and return with a vengence on the right.
      
    
Previous Topic:6 player Board/Variant
Next Topic:Abandoning all regions?
Goto Forum: