Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Operation Overlord Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1412
Registered:
October 2006
  Operation Overlord Question Sat, 30 May 2009 02:35
I was at a convention recently playing "Tigers in the Snow" with someone who is new to overlord scenario's. We had a disagreement. I felt that the old overlord rules spelled out where tactics cards are played pretty well on page 6, where the new book does not. This other player played that tactics cards had to be played in one section or another-but not both. I disagree, I think that an armor assault means order any four of your armor units from either or both sections-there just has to be a total of four. I believe the same is true for the following tactics cards: Direct from HQ, Move out, Close Assault, Dig In, Firefight, and Artillery Bombard. I also play that the TFH (Their Finest Hour) card means that after the field general rolls his four dice and determines which units he can activate, those units can be activated from either or both of his sections. The new rulebook is not as clear on this as I would have liked, and obviously there are misconceptions. I just want to make sure that I am not the one making the misconception. I have been playing more overlord scenarios (even with two people) and I want to make sure I'm not doing it wrong.

The tactics cards that specify one section or the other are: Infantry Assault, Air Sortie, and the ones that only active one unit like Medics and Mechanics and Behind Enemy Lines. Maybe an Overlord FAQ would be good. (or maybe you've already got one and I just haven't seen it) Thanks DoW for all your support, that makes this game system so much better than others that just don't have any support. I've played games where everybody interpreted the rules because they were hard to understand, and no one was around to explain them. So everybody had their own interpretation of the rules. So then when you play that game at a convention, you have to ask the GM what his interpretation is. (shiver)

[Updated on: Sat, 30 May 2009 02:56]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2187
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sat, 30 May 2009 03:35
50th wrote on Fri, 29 May 2009 20:35

This other player played that tactics cards had to be played in one section or another-but not both.


Hi.

The other player was way wrong on this. Unless the tactics card in question states that limitation, the orders may be applied as you see fit in the flank (left - center - right) that it way played in.


      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2187
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sat, 30 May 2009 03:38
50th wrote on Fri, 29 May 2009 20:35

I felt that the old overlord rules spelled out where tactics cards are played pretty well on page 6, where the new book does not.



The new OL book can be looked upon as almost a supplement to the existing OL (read old) rules. When you cannot find an answer in the new rules, you should default to the old OL rules.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1412
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sat, 30 May 2009 17:48
Thanks guys, that's what I thought. And TC I am going to print out the new rules and put them in the same binder as the old rules and my OL scenarios. That's a good suggestion!



      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2187
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sun, 31 May 2009 00:26
Yuo are welcome sure.

Another good idea is to get a hold of all the Brog posts where he answers questions. When there is a dispute over what the rule is, there is nothing like quoting the game designer - who can argue with that Laughing

If you would like a copy, let me know.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3095
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sun, 31 May 2009 13:06
Go to my USER PAGE and download the Forum Rules Clarifications from Richard Borg.
Richard Says

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/320854/m44/story#_inde x_2

This has been updated with his most recent comment about sandbags on the Arnhem scenario paired with Tigers in the Snow.

Enjoy!
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1412
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Operation Overlord Question Sun, 31 May 2009 14:26
Thanks Stevens, I will print that out and put it in my Memoir 44 binder. I have printed out the rules from every expansion that I own, along with the original rules, and the action cards and put them in a binder. That way all rules are in the same place and whenever there is a question on a rule the answer is in the binder.
      
Shoegaze99
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 159
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Operation Overlord Question Mon, 01 June 2009 19:15
Not really related to the first post...

We're a bit sketchy on card replacement in our first OMG game, but we're winging it. The Overlord rules seem to say that each turn you draw two cards and keep them, as long as you don't go above the max. Got it. The scenario rules have the Axis starting with 3 cards and gaining cards as the Allies lose units, up to 13 in all. Got it.

Presumably, the Axis could also play a single card per turn and gain additional cards that way until they reach 13, i.e. they start with 3, use 1, draw 2, now they have 4. Also, presumably the Allies could do the same to make up for their lost cards, i.e., they lose 2 cards after losing two units, so only use a single card for a turn or two, drawing 2 cards each turn to fill in what they lost.

This seems to be against the spirit of the scenario, though, so my interpretation is that the Allies max cards decreases and the Axis max cards increases. So, the Germans CAN'T have more than 3 cards until the Allies lose a unit, and as the Allies lose units their max cards decreases.

That's how I'm reading it. Could be wrong.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Operation Overlord Question Mon, 01 June 2009 22:01
I'm with you on this one. The axis and allies maximum cards are dictated by units killed. The only way for the axis to increase their hand is to kill allied units. The allied maximum hand decreases as they lose units, so if they lose one unit the maximum is 11.

[Updated on: Mon, 01 June 2009 22:02]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1412
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Operation Overlord Question Mon, 01 June 2009 22:21
Which scenario is this? Shocked
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Operation Overlord Question Mon, 01 June 2009 22:41
Mrket Garden. The reverse side of Tigers In the snow
      
Shoegaze99
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 159
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Operation Overlord Question Tue, 02 June 2009 18:13
Due to some time limitations, we've been forced to stretch out this game for a few nights. (The Mrs. is pleased that we've monopolized the kitchen table for several nights now!)

And we're loving it. Very exciting scenario with a huge array of tactical possibilities. Operation Market Garden is probably my favorite M44 scenario thus far. The Allies really have to make some early headway fast, otherwise the shifting tide of the command cards begins to limit their options. The Germans, meanwhile, have an early mobilization problem. Do they engage the enemy early or attempt to get their troops at the rear into position to defend the three bridges and towns?

After this I think we'll for sure play Hedgerow Hell, which I bought but we have not played. I think it will be the start of trying over 1-on-1 Overlord scenarios. I love the epic scope of the map.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1412
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Operation Overlord Question Tue, 02 June 2009 23:39
I've done some 1 on 1 and 1 on 2 overlord games. It plays just as good. I like it better with at least four players, but it works just fine with two or three.


      
    
Previous Topic:Game night at my church.
Next Topic:Do Tanks have to take ground for overrun combat?
Goto Forum: