Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sseluric
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
June 2009
  Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Sat, 06 June 2009 20:13
At the start of a turn either because it's the first turn or because I already declined a race in a previous turn I get to select a new race. If I select Ghouls, could I choose to decline them rather than conquer anything on the turn I select them?

If I could, then I would score 0 coins for the round (unless I had a spirit race) because my other declined race would be removed and I would then get to start the declined Ghouls and a new race on my following turn.

The rules don't give a player the option to go into decline on turn one, but I assume that is because it makes no sense for any race other than Ghouls. Should a Ghoul player have that option?
      
Magnot
Member

User Pages
Posts: 49
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Sat, 06 June 2009 20:53
I believe that, should you choose to send a race into decline, it is the only thing you can do on that turn. I'm pretty sure that precludes selection of a new race, as well.

You can't send a race into decline, then select a new race on the same turn, so I think it follows that you can't do it the other way around; namely selecting a race, then immediately sending it into decline (the "Stout" special ability excepted).

[Updated on: Sat, 06 June 2009 20:54]

      
Sseluric
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
June 2009
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Sun, 07 June 2009 01:13
The rules say that no conquests may be made on the turn that a race goes into decline, not that you can't do anything. Basically you are penalized a turn of inaction for declining. If the Ghouls were declined at the beginning of the turn they still receive this penalty since they could not enter the board and score any coins. Declining on the turn you take them is perhaps harsher than using them the turn you get them and declining the following turn, because you get no coins at all.
      
KarmanMonkey
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Sun, 07 June 2009 19:23
While that could be your interpretation of the rules, and the way they are phrased seems to support your argument, I don't think that it should be an option, simply because that makes stout less useful, and it also means that you're able to hang back with all your ghouls and completely miss two whole rounds of people jumping on them (one at the end of your first turn of conquest, the other after the turn you put them into decline)

I would like to see an official ruling on this one way or the other though.
      
Sseluric
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
June 2009
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Mon, 08 June 2009 17:00
KarmanMonkey wrote on Sun, 07 June 2009 13:23

I don't think that it should be an option, simply because that makes stout less useful,


I don't see how this would weaken the stout ability. Stout allows you to make conquests on the turn you go into decline. It allows you to spread out score lots of coins and then dump the race, avoiding a low scoring decline turn. Declining at the beginning of the turn has exactly the opposite effect. You get no conquests and you score 0. The only benefit being that you guarantee that you have all your ghouls on the following turn when you get your next race (avoiding 2 turns of possible attacks).

I suppose another way to look at this is, say there is a race and special I can't let an opponent take but it would be worthless for me to play. I feel it's worth taking a score of 0 for a turn to keep my opponent from getting it, so I take that race and decline it as soon as I take it. Now I have no non-spirit tokens on the board and get to choose another race next turn.

I pretty much created the thread to get clarification on when a race can be declined. The rules don't specify wether or not you can decline on a turn you pick a race, and I was curious what the official ruling on that would be. I figured it wasn't spelled out in the rules because it is just detrimental to any race other than Ghouls, and it could be argued if it would even help them.
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Mon, 08 June 2009 18:12
Sseluric wrote on Mon, 08 June 2009 17:00

The rules don't specify wether or not you can decline on a turn you pick a race,

Really? Maybe we have different versions of the rules then.

My rules are separated into two different chapters:
I. First Turn
II Follow-on Turns

Going into decline is only part of a Follow-on Turn, and the last rule of declining is to "play next turn as it was your first turn".
      
Sseluric
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
June 2009
Re:Declining Ghouls the turn you pick them? Mon, 08 June 2009 20:20
GreatDane wrote on Mon, 08 June 2009 12:12


Going into decline is only part of a Follow-on Turn, and the last rule of declining is to "play next turn as it was your first turn".



*shame* As usual the answer is read the rules and they already have the answer...

Thanks for catching what I missed GreatDane!
      
    
Previous Topic:Rules Clarification: "Fortified"
Next Topic:Rules Clarification - Flying Giants
Goto Forum: