Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Tigers and retreats
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 19:24
I don't know if this has been asked before and I don't yet have the Tigers in the Snow battlemap - I keep checking my local shop in London but it doesn't seem to be in the UK yet.

Anyhow I tried the tiger rule out and I'm not sure about rolled flags. We played (with a three dice attack):

roll Flag/Tank/Star = re-roll Tank to see if a Grenade rolled. If so, the tiger is destroyed. If not, ignore the Flag rolled in first roll, so no retreat.

Did we do this right? Do you re-roll any hits to see if the Tiger is detroyed and if not, apply any flags from the first roll? Or can you only retreat a tiger if flags and no hits are initially rolled? Rolling Eyes


      
boersma8
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 182
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 19:31
Good question. I have no idea. I hope they'll come up with an official answer soon.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 19:42
I'm thinking that the re-roll is to see what damage the hit has done - fatal or just a bounce-off. If the tiger survives i.e. no grenade on the re-roll, then any retreats from the original roll should apply to the (undamaged) tiger.

This seems to make sense, but am I right?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6849
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 21:44
There has already been an official answer to one question about retreating for Flags but I'm not sure if it was the same question you're asking.

A Tiger is played just like any other unit when a flag is rolled...if it can retreat, it must move backward and it behaves exactly like a normal Armor unit that is forced to retreat. So I would move the tank back and then reroll the die that hit so if it isn't destroyed it's in the right spot. But I don't think it probably matters what order you do those in. If it can't retreat, the Flag counts as a hit.

So let's pretend a Tiger is backed up the the edge of the board and can't retreat: the attacker rolls three dice and gets a Grenade, an Infantry, and a Flag. The Grenade counts as a hit and because the Tiger can't retreat, the Flag counts as a hit. So the attacker rerolls two dice (one for the Grenade and one for the Flag) and gets two Stars...the Tiger is not destroyed and everyone had better watch out!! Cool

Does this help?

[Updated on: Sun, 07 June 2009 21:47]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6849
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 21:52
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 07 June 2009 10:24



Anyhow I tried the tiger rule out and I'm not sure about rolled flags. We played (with a three dice attack):

roll Flag/Tank/Star = re-roll Tank to see if a Grenade rolled. If so, the tiger is destroyed. If not, ignore the Flag rolled in first roll, so no retreat.

Did we do this right? Do you re-roll any hits to see if the Tiger is detroyed and if not, apply any flags from the first roll? Or can you only retreat a tiger if flags and no hits are initially rolled? Rolling Eyes


I just looked over your first post and I don't know if I answered your question very clearly...so I'm going to try again.

The Tiger must retreat if a Flag is rolled, just like any other unit. So in your example, you did not play it right because you ignored the Flag. The second roll does not ever count as a retreat (even if you roll a Flag) because all you're looking for with that roll is a Grenade to see if you destroyed the Tiger.

If you rolled 3 dice and got a Flag, Flag, Tank. And then rerolled the Tank and got another Flag...the Tiger only retreats 2 hexes for the original roll.

I hope this helps.
Smile
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Tigers and retreats Sun, 07 June 2009 23:48
OK I think I get this. Assuming the tiger can retreat and Flag / Star / Tank is rolled, you:

retreat one hex (Flag applies just like any unit);
then re-roll Tank to see if the tiger is detroyed (i.e. Grenade rolled)

I think I was wrong to first resolve the re-roll and dismiss the intial Flag because I was only looking for hits i.e. Tanks and Grenades.

This would've changed the game because the tiger wasn't being pushed back and just kept on coming - no Grenade re-rolls!

Time for a rematch! Very Happy


      
    
Previous Topic:Prokhorovka in "Breakthrough" format.
Next Topic:Warship LOS and Terrain Reductions Question.
Goto Forum: