Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 169
Registered:
June 2004
Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Sun, 14 June 2009 18:57
I thought that I saw a rule in a FAQ or addenda that says that a player can move *one* unit in *any* section by playing *any* card, even if the player has cards to move units in other sections. The idea being that a player will never be stuck unable to move units in a specific section if he never draws cards for it. Is this officially written anywhere? If it is, can someone point me to that ruling?

Thanks.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1075
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Sun, 14 June 2009 19:18
At best this would be a house rule. The frustration of sometimes having to throw a card away because it's no use to you e.g. a section card where you have no units, is all part of the command and control challenge of the game. It helps to recreate the fog of war.

      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Sun, 14 June 2009 20:42
The question about being unable to play a card appeared in this thread

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=10519#msg_10519

and answered by Eric

eric wrote on Thu, 17 June 2004 22:46

You play a card normally, activate zero units (since you have none you can activate, presumably) and draw a new one.
Usually careful units positionning and hand management make this a very unusual occurence, however. Also remember that any unit on a split hex belongs to either of the sections the hex sits on.
eric


Some folks play house rules about allowing discards and swaps so best look through old posts see if anything grabs your fancy Smile

[Updated on: Sun, 14 June 2009 20:43]

      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 169
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Sun, 14 June 2009 21:10
Thanks guys.

heh. Maybe it was just wishful thinking on my part. I think that I might suggest to my friends that we allow any card to be used to move any one unit, as frequently depleted units are stuck out there in harms way with no way to retreat for lack of a card. In real life a platoon or company commander, with no absolute orders to the contrary, would probably withdraw to a safer position without orders. We can say that tactical positioning should prevent that, but we've all seen units annihilated by a Bombard card no matter *what* our wonderful strategy has been. Confused
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Mon, 15 June 2009 15:10
It was a rule many players adopted for the first C&C game, Battle Cry (AH), as not being able to order a single unit was very harsh.

The designer softened the system a bit for M'44 - as many of the cards now allow you 'order any unit' if you no longer have the mentioned type.

Personally I like this system, as that forces you to keep an eye on future turns, and not just spend cards that could also have alternative functions.

I cannot remember when I last couldn't give a single order.
      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 169
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Mon, 15 June 2009 16:34
GreatDane wrote on Mon, 15 June 2009 09:10

It was a rule many players adopted for the first C&C game, Battle Cry (AH), as not being able to order a single unit was very harsh.

The designer softened the system a bit for M'44 - as many of the cards now allow you 'order any unit' if you no longer have the mentioned type.

Personally I like this system, as that forces you to keep an eye on future turns, and not just spend cards that could also have alternative functions.

I cannot remember when I last couldn't give a single order.


Try "Breakout To Lisyanka" again. If the Germans don't get a *lot* of cards that they can play in the center they will have a very rough time of it. Conversely, when we played this scenario last night my opponent watched helplessly while my Panzers smashed through the center and off the board as by the end game he had collected a nifty bunch of useless right flank , Medics and mechanics, and Dig In cards, while what he desperately needed was left flank cards to get his armor into the action. If he could have brought even *one* of his armored units into the fray the game might have changed considerably.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2149
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Moving Units in a Section Without a Card for it Question. Mon, 15 June 2009 22:27
gunhawk wrote on Mon, 15 June 2009 10:34

GreatDane wrote on Mon, 15 June 2009 09:10

It was a rule many players adopted for the first C&C game, Battle Cry (AH), as not being able to order a single unit was very harsh.

The designer softened the system a bit for M'44 - as many of the cards now allow you 'order any unit' if you no longer have the mentioned type.

Personally I like this system, as that forces you to keep an eye on future turns, and not just spend cards that could also have alternative functions.

I cannot remember when I last couldn't give a single order.


Try "Breakout To Lisyanka" again. If the Germans don't get a *lot* of cards that they can play in the center they will have a very rough time of it. Conversely, when we played this scenario last night my opponent watched helplessly while my Panzers smashed through the center and off the board as by the end game he had collected a nifty bunch of useless right flank , Medics and mechanics, and Dig In cards, while what he desperately needed was left flank cards to get his armor into the action. If he could have brought even *one* of his armored units into the fray the game might have changed considerably.


This could be said of many scenarios - too few cards in a given sector probably spells defeat for a side. It does happen from time to time and is very frustrating. But, that is the nature of the beast and such a game is over so quickly, one can always set them up again for an immediate rematch.
      
    
Previous Topic:Commisar Rules for Tigers in the Snow?
Next Topic:New Scenario Editor
Goto Forum: