Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Villers-Bocage
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Villers-Bocage Mon, 08 June 2009 14:31
Hi all.

I haved played this scenario (included w/ the Tigers in the Snow expansion) several times now. I have won w/ the Brits twice too Shocked

Well the other day, I had a few extra minutes and tried this solo. Well, the Germans notched a couple of quick medals while the Brits got 1. Then, the Brits picked off Wittman's Tiger in the woods on a grenade-grenade (reroll). Then the Germans played Armor Assault. Even though they only had three Tigers left and only two could get adjacent to the Brits, it seemed that the Germans were about to have the upper hand in this battle. Well, the first battle w/ 4 dice got but 1 hit and no flags vs a 2 fig Brit tank. The battle back roll was an "Armor" followed by - you guessed it a "Grenade". Game over and a 3 to 2 Brit win!!!

I do have a question. If Wittman's Tiger does not move it fires w/ 4 dice. If it is ordered w/ Armor Assault and does not move it battles w/ 5 dice. If it takes ground (which is not movement) does it's overrun battle occur w/ 5 dice?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Villers-Bocage Thu, 11 June 2009 03:10
I would interpret armor overrun as a "move" for this purpose.

The extra die for Wittmann seems analogous to the "prepared attack" ruling on the Close Assault card, where overruns don't get the extra die. In addition, I note that the rule book's definition of "Armor Overrun" does use the word "move."

Finally, having played this scenario against you (with the Germans admittedly getting impressive cards in both games), I think the British need all the help they can get!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Villers-Bocage Fri, 12 June 2009 14:34
and the official answer is:

Dear "tank commander",

Thank you for your request.

This is a very good question - in fact, as soon as Wittmann's tank moves one hex (ie even when Wittmann is taking ground), Wittmann loses his additional die.

It is easier to fire at the enemy when immmobile!

Have fun with the Tigers!

Best Regards,

Antoine Prono
      
PanzerRunes
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 229
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Villers-Bocage Sun, 14 June 2009 11:12
Got to play this one twice tonight... Very nasty scenario.

First round was 5 to 1, Germans win.
Second round was 3 to 3 for a British win.

The first round being a total rout as the Germans had great rolls and the right cards (Armored Assault and Their Finest Hour) The game lasted four rounds and Whitman survived.

The second round saw the Brit's get mauled a bit, but they managed to hold on. I was able to hit both tanks on the German left flank causing multiple retreats on both thus forcing them off the map (strategy tip#1), The German right flank made quick work of the British left flank. More hits scored by both sides resulting in no medals but Whitman had been forced to retreat one hex. The final card play was a general advance by the Brit's. Whitman was hit and survived with a 3 armor roll by one unit, then the second unit scored a flag and a hit. Whit man backed up and did not survive the re-roll.

I had designed a Whitman scenario last year that basically rotated the map 90 degrees. My Whitman rule was two part:
1) If he did not move he could attack two units the first attack was normal at 3 dice and the second was with 2 dice. 2) The other option was to attack one unit and ignore any terrain modifiers.

I like the layout of this map better and like the Tiger rule. I would like to see some sort of rule for Medics/Mech's to resurrect a Tiger unit...
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Villers-Bocage Sun, 14 June 2009 19:13
PanzerRunes wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 10:12

I was able to hit both tanks on the German left flank causing multiple retreats on both thus forcing them off the map (strategy tip#1).


Cann you do this? I thought if you couldn't retreat (i.e. you're on the baseline row of hexes) you lost a figure, or, with the Tigers, rolled for a hit? Rolling Eyes

I didn't think you could quit the board involuntarily.


[Updated on: Sun, 14 June 2009 19:13]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Villers-Bocage Sun, 14 June 2009 19:28
A flag against a unit on the baseline is a hit, because unit can't retreat.

A Tiger on the baseline would re-roll all flags, grenade and tanks rolled against it and a grenade on the re-roll would be a hit.Thus killing the Tiger unit.

[Updated on: Sun, 14 June 2009 19:29]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Villers-Bocage Mon, 15 June 2009 00:36
PanzerRunes wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 05:12


...then the second unit scored a flag and a hit. Whit man backed up and did not survive the re-roll.


Whittman's Tiger does get to ignore a flag. Sounds like he retreated when he did not have to.
      
PanzerRunes
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 229
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Villers-Bocage Mon, 15 June 2009 05:58
Whitman was hit with 2 flags and an armor symbol. He retreated one hex and re-rolled a grenade.

Previously, the other two tanks in the (German left flank) woods were forced to retreat off the board...

I need to recheck the setup as I think we may have placed the battle star on the wrong unit. I think Whitman's tank is in the open middle position (which is what we used)... A full stomach, too many beers and played late in the evening.

Regardless, the scenario was set up the same both times.

I was not happy the first time I hit Whitman's tank... scored three hits only to re-roll all armor symbols...
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Villers-Bocage Mon, 15 June 2009 11:43
PanzerRunes wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 23:58


I need to recheck the setup as I think we may have placed the battle star on the wrong unit. I think Whitman's tank is in the open middle position (which is what we used)...


Whittman's tank starts in the center woods hex (1 hex in from the German baseline). His position allows him to fire on a Brit tank on the road w/ 4 dice.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Villers-Bocage Mon, 15 June 2009 11:44
PanzerRunes wrote on Sun, 14 June 2009 23:58

Whitman was hit with 2 flags and an armor symbol. He retreated one hex and re-rolled a grenade.


Ah, sorry. I thought there had been only 1 flag rolled.
      
    
Previous Topic:Some questions about operation market garden
Goto Forum: