Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Can only one Fortification generate gold?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
yakface
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2009
  Can only one Fortification generate gold? Tue, 07 July 2009 00:56

I played a game the other night and I had a bit of a discussion with a first time player (who was, naturally, an English teacher by day).

She noticed that the rules for 'Fortified' say (emphasis mine):

"Once per turn, place 1 Fortress in a Region you occupy. The Fortress is worth 1 bonus victory coin at turn's end, unless you leave or are in Decline."


Pretty much all the other special powers that give bonus gold for each instance of the area you control (like the 'Forest', 'Hill' or 'Swamp' special rules for example) say the word "EACH" in their description.

The 'Fortified' rules seem to state that you get 1 bonus gold coin for THE Fortification.

While I do not think it is what was intended by any stretch of the imagination, I did have to agree that the rules did seem to indicate what she was arguing for: That you can only collect 1 gold total for all of your Fortifications, not one gold PER EACH Fortification.


Can anyone who has a non-English language version tell me if the wording on this rule is any different in those versions?


Thanks!

      
Zoli
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Tue, 07 July 2009 19:11
http://static.smallworld-game.com/lang/english/images/sw_rul es_de.pdf
http://static.smallworld-game.com/lang/english/images/sw_rul es_fr.pdf

Compared to Alchemist it's too strong, when you collect a bonus coin for each fortress. (You can have 1 race token less)

The german rulebook says:
Die Festung ist am Ende des Spielzugs 1 zusatzliche Siegmünze wert...Die Festung erhöht auch die Verteidigung der Region um 1.

It's singular. But the defense bonus is in singular too. (only 1 Fortress)
      
smash_64
Senior Member
Rikugun Shōsa

User Pages
Posts: 144
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Tue, 07 July 2009 19:57
In the French rules, it is stated that each Fortification is worth 1 point. So if after 3 turns you still have 3 Fortifications you get +3 points Wink
      
Nickydude
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
April 2012
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Sun, 29 April 2012 13:24
Sorry to bring this back from the dead but I'd like to make sure of this rule. When we play we take it as every fortification generates 1 extra victory point, so if you have 5 regions with 5 fortifications you'll receive 10 victory points. Is this correct?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Sun, 29 April 2012 14:04
Nickydude wrote on Sun, 29 April 2012 15:24

Sorry to bring this back from the dead but I'd like to make sure of this rule. When we play we take it as every fortification generates 1 extra victory point, so if you have 5 regions with 5 fortifications you'll receive 10 victory points. Is this correct?


Yes, each Fortification will give you an extra coin. In your example, if you managed to stay on the board for 5 turns (and therefore add 5 Fortifications since you add one each turn), you could get 10 coins...1 for each region + 1 for each Fortification in each region.

I hope this helps make it clear. Cool
      
Nickydude
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
April 2012
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Sun, 29 April 2012 20:51
Totally, thanks. Smile
      
Nickydude
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
April 2012
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Mon, 30 April 2012 01:05
Actually, re-reading your reply rasmussen81 you're saying you can only deploy 1 fortification per turn? We've been playing it that you can deploy all fortifications on all occupied regions belonging to that race each turn. So if I conquered 5 regions in one turn I can place 5 fortifications.

Can you only deploy one fortification per turn no matter how many regions you conquer?

Edit: Actually going back and rereading the rules it does say that.. no wonder I was winning! lol!

[Updated on: Mon, 30 April 2012 01:07]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can only one Fortification generate gold? Mon, 30 April 2012 04:03
Nickydude wrote on Mon, 30 April 2012 03:05

Actually, re-reading your reply rasmussen81 you're saying you can only deploy 1 fortification per turn? We've been playing it that you can deploy all fortifications on all occupied regions belonging to that race each turn. So if I conquered 5 regions in one turn I can place 5 fortifications.

Can you only deploy one fortification per turn no matter how many regions you conquer?

Edit: Actually going back and rereading the rules it does say that.. no wonder I was winning! lol!


I had a feeling that might have been the case...which is why I made sure to include that rule in my response. Smile It's all right, I played with several mistakes for a long time simply because I thought I understood the rules but had read them wrong! I think it's a natural part of board games. Very Happy

If you own an iPad, you would enjoy the Small World App! It it a great way to play Small World on the go and enforces all of the rules, which helps a lot of people figure them out. It's well worth the cost! Cool

Have fun and let us know if you have any other questions.
      
    
Previous Topic:Bag of many things?
Next Topic:Question about redeployment, i bet is always the same
Goto Forum: