Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Card Play Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Dooper508
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
August 2009
Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 05:40
Hi all,

Newer player here. My brother and I have played about 8 scenarios now and I love this game. I have a question about card play that keeps coming up and i can't seem to find an answer since it's apparently difficult to search for.
I was wondering if someone could point me to a link that elucidates on how a card hand is played? Specifically, do I have to move or fire with all units designated by my card? In other words, do I have to order 3 units if my card says so, or can I move/fire with less? Can I completely do nothing on a turn by ordering with a card and not move/fire with anything? The manual says I may order a unit but that seems ambiguous. I know you can draw a new card if you cannot play anything, so if you can theoretically play a card and do nothing, I take it you can only pass on one that you can actually use, as you cannot play a card from a section without existing forces, otherwise the former rule would not exist. I feel there are so many questions about the exact way one can play their cards and it seems no one else is as confused as I am, I guess I must be missing something. I hope I am clear enough and thanks in advance for any help.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6847
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 05:46
Hi Dooper,

Welcome to the Memoir '44 forum. I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the game! If you like playing battles in sequence, you should look at getting the Campaign Book when you're ready for an expansion. You can play a free Campaign from Brummbar or Antoine to see what they're like before putting money down on the book.

To your question...when the rules or cards say the word "may" it means you can do something, but you don't have to. So when you play an Attack 3 card, you can order 3 units or none. Usually you'll want to use the card to it's full potential, but you don't have to.

Enjoy! Cool
      
Dooper508
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 06:40
Thanks Rasmussen,

I thought that was the case.
Anyone else, can you play a command card but not act on it, and can you play a card from a section you have no forces in to get rid of it? If so, why do people ask what to do if they cannot play any of their cards when they can just play one arbitrarily and just pull another? I guess what I'm really getting at is a deeper strategic issue: can you get rid of cards in order to plan a movement in a particular section(s)?

[Updated on: Sat, 08 August 2009 06:41]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 07:17
Dooper508 wrote on Sat, 08 August 2009 06:40

Thanks Rasmussen,

I thought that was the case.
Anyone else, can you play a command card but not act on it, and can you play a card from a section you have no forces in to get rid of it? If so, why do people ask what to do if they cannot play any of their cards when they can just play one arbitrarily and just pull another? I guess what I'm really getting at is a deeper strategic issue: can you get rid of cards in order to plan a movement in a particular section(s)?


Welcome to the forum.

On your turn you play a command card, order as many units as allowed by the card, or fewer if you don't have enough or don't want to use the full potential, draw new card.

If you only have right flank cards, but only have units in the other sections, you play a card, doesn't give any orders, draw a new card(and hope it isn't a right flank card. Razz )

If you don't want to move any of your units, you play a card, do nothing, draw a new card.

So your deeper question about dumping cards, to have cards for a planned move, is a good one.

You can do this, but is it a good idea to sit and wait for good cards? Or do you do the best you can with the cards you got?

You will quickly see the value of the "Recon 1" card, wiht this strategy, as it allows you to draw 2 cards and choose 1.

Have a great time exploring the strategies of this game.
      
Dooper508
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 07:37
Thanks Ad79, I think I get it now, and this game has seemed to open up new avenues of play I have not yet explored. This really helps when I find I have a hand of less than desirable cards for what I want even though I technically can use them. This game has just gotten better, and thanks again for the kind responses of the community. See you on the battlefield!
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 08:13
No problem, only glad to help.
If you haven't already played it, I would recommend the "Operation Cobra" scenario.
It is a good scenario, where you have too choose if you go offensively or defensively.
As Axis, do you leave cover to attack or wait for Allied to advance.
As Allied, do you advance with few units or build a hand to have a massive attack, or do you wait for the Axis to come out of cover.

If you play mostly with your brother I would recommend the campaign system to have scenarios that link together.
Brummbär's D-day campaign
( http://www.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/17898/_2134.pd f )uses only scenarios from the base game and Antoine's campaign is available for download on his userpage.
( http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/344648/m44/story )

And the Campaign book is a great expansion. But to take full effect of it you need Terrain pack(for 2 of the three campaigns) and Eastern Front for 1 campaign.
1 campaing in the book uses only the basegame with new scenarios.
      
Dooper508
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Card Play Question Sat, 08 August 2009 11:58
Thanks again ad79, and I plan on getting the expansions when the time comes (and the campaign book).
      
    
Previous Topic:contiguous Trenches
Next Topic:meaning of Advance in Campaign book
Goto Forum: