Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Overlord card question.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Overlord card question. Thu, 13 August 2009 22:17
If the CiC plays the Barrage card in the center section, which of these statements is true.

1. The center FG can recieve 1 Tactic card or 2 Section cards.
2. The center FG can not recieve cards, but can use initiative roll.
3. The center FG can not recieve cards, nor use initiative roll.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Thu, 13 August 2009 22:53
Good question which I've asked myself. I think option 3 as only one Tactic card can be played per Field General area of the board. Rolling Eyes

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 00:43
Actually since the card is played by the CiC, it has no direct effect on the Field General's play. The CiC would play this card first and then he could hand out 2 additional cards - for a total of three per turn.
Should the center FG receive no cards he may then roll for initiative. So in short answer 1. is true, but rolling for initiative would also be true if he received no cards.

Each Field General may either play a maximum of two section cards or one tactic card per turn, however this is not cumulative with the CiC's card play. So just because the CiC plays a Tactic card in the center, it doesn't limit the FG from doing the same.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2293
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 02:00
Just one clarification on Stevens's remarks:

The CinC gives the FGs their cards at the same time he shows his own CinC card (TFH, Barrage, etc.). The FGs wait to give their orders until the CinC card has been resolved.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 06:52
Thanks for the answers.

But Sam, if CiC plays TFH, the FG's wouldn't recieve any cards, since TFH gives each FG 4 dice and they roll to see if they can order any units.

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2293
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 07:13
Yes, ad, that's how TFH is played. It's an order to the three FGs.

But if the CinC is playing an Air Power or Barrage, he resolves that before the FGs give their orders.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 12:51
Sam,
Thanks for clarifying my remarks - yes all three cards are given out by the CiC at the beginning of the turn.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 19:49
stevens wrote on Thu, 13 August 2009 23:43

Each Field General may either play a maximum of two section cards or one tactic card per turn, however this is not cumulative with the CiC's card play. So just because the CiC plays a Tactic card in the center, it doesn't limit the FG from doing the same.


Well I'll be blowed! Shocked I didn't realise that.

Good to know ahead of the 8-player game we've got planned for a few week's time! Very Happy


      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 20:11
Achtung Panzer wrote on Fri, 14 August 2009 10:49

stevens wrote on Thu, 13 August 2009 23:43

Each Field General may either play a maximum of two section cards or one tactic card per turn, however this is not cumulative with the CiC's card play. So just because the CiC plays a Tactic card in the center, it doesn't limit the FG from doing the same.


Well I'll be blowed! Shocked I didn't realise that.

Good to know ahead of the 8-player game we've got planned for a few week's time! Very Happy



Check page 4 of the Operation Overlord rule book. If you don't already have it, you can download the book here:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/rules/

Just find Operation Overlord and you can download the PDF version of the rules. You might already have it, but just in case you don't! Cool

I would love to play an 8-player Overlord game! I assume it's face to face with other players and not on vassal?
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 20:33
Yes I have the Overlord expansion but I hadn't seen reference on page 4 to the question about the FG whose area the C-in-C choses to play his card. You are right though, it doesn't state that the FG is now precluded from a further card.

Sometimes it needs a posting on the Forum to clarify and I'm grateful for it! Smile

Not only do I have 8 players lined up but I'll be the umpire as 5 of the players will be new to Memoir '44 and only one has played Overlord. I hope to play the Soumussalmi and Operation Market Garden scenarios.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Overlord card question. Fri, 14 August 2009 22:08
Achtung Panzer wrote on Fri, 14 August 2009 11:33


Not only do I have 8 players lined up but I'll be the umpire as 5 of the players will be new to Memoir '44 and only one has played Overlord. I hope to play the Soumussalmi and Operation Market Garden scenarios.




Sounds fun. Color me jealous! Laughing

That's the beauty of the forum...you can post a question and eyes from around the world can help locate something you've missed. It's happened to me more times than I can count. I'm glad to have helped. Cool
      
    
Previous Topic:am trying to recall the name of a scenario
Next Topic:Question for Eric & team...
Goto Forum: