Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Are the Online Rules Different?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7192
Registered:
July 2007
  Are the Online Rules Different? Sat, 15 August 2009 16:34
Hi everyone,

I'm usually over on the Memoir '44 forum, but I really enjoy Ticket to Ride: Europe and it's my wife's game of choice. I was playing the online version a few weeks ago and ran across what looked to me like a discrepancy in the online rules.

It's possible that I've misunderstood the rules all along and it took playing online to correct me, but I thought this would be a good place to check!

So here's my confusion...when I draw a card from the 5 face-up cards, a new one is immediately flipped over to replace it. My understanding is that if the new card is a wild (Engine) card, I get it for the cost of 1 card, whereas if the Engine was already face-up it would be the only card I could draw because it costs more.

When I was playing online, the computer would not allow me to take that wild card as my second card...any idea why that would be? Rolling Eyes

If this has already been covered, just point me in the right direction because I didn't see it when I searched before. Thanks for any help you can offer.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7192
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Are the Online Rules Different? Sat, 15 August 2009 16:53
Embarassed Razz Embarassed

Shoot...after a little more research, and heading back to the rule book, I discovered that I've been playing the rule wrong this whole time!

I've been playing that if a Locomotive is turned over as your replacement card, you're allowed to take it as the second card. Wrong! Shocked

Sorry for the premature question...in the future I'll do a little more research before starting a new thread! Rolling Eyes Very Happy

Embarassed Embarassed
      
    
Previous Topic:DoW why must you do this...
Next Topic:1912 Expansion
Goto Forum: