Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Tue, 08 September 2009 22:38
Playing Staraya Russo as the Russians tonight brought up a new rules question.

The bonus for winning the Luga Bridges scenario was a free Air Power token and on the victory roll my opponent rolled two stars, which meant I started with only 3 cards.

In the normal procedure if I played a command card the rule say: Draw two cards per turn until you are back to the number of cards indicated by the scenario.
This rule is ok.

BUT: I used the Air Power token for my first order.
What now?
DO I
1. Draw two cards as the rule say and get back up to the indicated command card hand in ONE turn. This gives the Air Power token an extra bonus.

OR

2. Draw only ONE card since I played the Air Power token and on the next turn draw two cards as per the rule and use two turns to get back up to the correct number of command cards.

Stig Morten

Yangtze: Great scenarios in this campaign!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Wed, 09 September 2009 02:28
I'm not sure on this, but I don't think you would get to draw any cards! Smile

The reason I think this, is because (if I remember right), the Air Power Token is played just like an Air Sortie card. If you had an Air Sortie card, you wouldn't get to draw anything since you didn't use a card from your hand. So in this case you would still have the same number of cards and wouldn't start replenishing you hand until the next turn when you actually play a card from your hand.
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Wed, 09 September 2009 05:00
i have a different opinion, after playing Air Sortie token, you will draw 2 cards because playing Air Sortie indicates you have played your turn, therefore the rule of "draw 2 cards until your hand replenished" will be activated, but still waiting an official response as usual Laughing
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Wed, 09 September 2009 06:08
Steve Nightrain wrote on Tue, 08 September 2009 20:00

i have a different opinion, after playing Air Sortie token, you will draw 2 cards because playing Air Sortie indicates you have played your turn, therefore the rule of "draw 2 cards until your hand replenished" will be activated, but still waiting an official response as usual Laughing


I can see your point, but you never get to draw cards after playing an Air Sortie card. It doesn't matter that it's your "turn" for drawing cards. Otherwise after playing an Air Sortie card in a normal game you would draw a card and end up with too many.

Just because you're low on cards doesn't mean the Air Sortie card rules are changed. In this case, you might not want to use the Air Sortie token because you won't get any cards.
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 945
Registered:
June 2008
Re:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Wed, 09 September 2009 08:42
Draw 2 cards per turn until you reach 5 cards. The Air Power Token is only equivalent of a card, but it doesn't functions as a card. You get no additional cards when you use the token. So you still have to rely at the start on only 3 cards...

P.S. Staraya Russa is a very tough scenario for the Soviets. Try to get rid of your opponent's armor and Panzergrenadiers before they will roll over your cavalry!

[Updated on: Wed, 09 September 2009 08:44]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign? Wed, 09 September 2009 22:49
Thanks for the answers guys, but I don't think we will get an agreement here before brummbär or some DOW folks give an answer.

To Jesse. We played withour air rules so the token was an AIR POWER token. Do you think that make it different?

To Nem. I managed to win the scenario 5-4 after taking two of the objective towns. The cavalry unit in the left section attacked the town in the left section but came under heavy german fire, but a timely retreat ensured he stayed alive.
      
    
Previous Topic:M'44 players in Ottawa ?
Next Topic:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question
Goto Forum: