Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Book
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 16:02
The Official Memoir '44 FAQ book has finally arrived! You will find it under the "Advanced Play" section of the Memoir page at www.memoir44.com where it has replaced the previous, now outdated FAQ documents.

This 37 page booklet can be downloaded two different ways: as a single huge pdf file or as 10 independent pdf files. Either format can be easily printed, punched and placed in a binder for further reference. Alternately, if you choose to download the huge file, you can use the Search function of Adobe Reader to quickly look up questions. This booklet provides the official answers to the most frequently asked questions we have seen on the Memoir '44 forum so far. Each entry has been carefully compiled by yours truly and reviewed by Richard for accuracy.

As new expansions and further questions come up, Days of Wonder, Richard, and I will do our best to post updated copies in a timely manner. You can always check to make sure you have the latest version of the book by looking at the bottom left corner of any page.

This thread should be used as the place to post questions regarding the FAQ Booklet as well as new questions that haven't been addressed yet. But please thoroughly search the FAQ Booklet and the Official Card Compendium online before asking anything, so as not to clutter this thread with questions that have already been covered.

Enjoy!

[Updated on: Mon, 17 October 2011 15:41] by Moderator

      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 16:16
Great job on this mammoth task Jesse!

Very Happy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 17:15
Brummbär wrote on Wed, 26 August 2009 07:16

Great job on this mammoth task Jesse!

Very Happy


Thanks, Malcolm! And thanks to all the people who contributed their time to help edit and perfect this book. You know who you are and I appreciate all of your assistance!

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 17:16
On behalf of all of us at DoW headquarters, a huge THANKS to Jesse and Richard for this epic production that truly sounded like The Longest Day at times! Very Happy

Well done!

[Updated on: Wed, 26 August 2009 17:16]

      
PanzerRunes
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 229
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 17:22
Great job to those involved.

Talk about a monster undertaking. Shocked

How often are you all anticipatiing it will be updated?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 17:29
PanzerRunes wrote on Wed, 26 August 2009 08:22


How often are you all anticipating it will be updated?


Probably every-other month on the third Friday, except for leap year when it'll be the second Thursday! Laughing Very Happy

Actually, I'll work with Richard to update the files when new questions that require Official Clarification reach critical mass...I'm hoping it'll be a little while! Razz
      
Havlik
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 18:07
Looks good! This will help us beginner players...now I can get my questions answered as I think of them, instead of having to ask on this forum and wait for a reply. Very Happy
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 20:04
Very, very, very, nice Smile

Hurrah! No more tournament arguments about whether or not you can BEL from the sea up a cliff, etc. etc. Laughing
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 945
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 21:37
Well done!

Finally, I can refer to this while playing against Sam. We've lost the match, only because he didn't accepted the the BEL ignores all terrain battle restrictions, while the card stated differently. Same thing once with AT infantry ordered with Inf. Assault on Juno Beach. Again, Sam didn't believed me, that the SWA Unit CANNOT Battle. However, we still won the game. Very Happy

Good to have this as an evidence! Twisted Evil
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 22:07
Thanks Ras!
Great effort.


Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 26 August 2009 22:45
This is good work Jesse!

It must have taken alot of time. Have you been outside at all this summer?

[Updated on: Wed, 26 August 2009 22:45]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 27 August 2009 01:53
ad79 wrote on Wed, 26 August 2009 13:45

This is good work Jesse!

It must have taken alot of time. Have you been outside at all this summer?


Laughing Laughing I've been outside a lot this summer...I just worked on the FAQ at night, so I didn't sleep at all this summer! Very Happy Laughing
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 27 August 2009 02:31
I want to take this chance to thank everyone who asked clarifying questions and/or compiled a FAQ style document. You were all instrumental to my work on this project!

Thank you, Stevens, for the document "Forum Rules Clarifications by Richard Borg" on your User Page, which I used extensively while putting the FAQ together. I also used the "Official FAQ Update - work in progress" thread on the Days of Wonder Forum. It was huge and took some sifting, but was full of valuable questions. Thank you ColtsFan, for all your work on that thread and for getting the ball rolling for this project! decumanusmaximus pointed out that I probably used the document he created, called the "Unofficial FAQ" on BGG, so thank you to him.

I pulled in as many documents, questions, threads, and resources as I could, so thank you to all the players of Memoir '44 and your questions! If I forgot to mention you specifically, I apologize, it was not intentional.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 27 August 2009 03:08
Wow! A real page turner -- I couldn't put it down! This may be the best expansion yet.

Thank you, Ras, Richard, and DOW! Very Happy
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 27 August 2009 20:41
No questions asked...

because they're all answered here! A very impressive job and many, many thanks to all concerned. Very Happy

      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 949
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 28 August 2009 02:46
There is a question over on BGG about whether Armor can retreat down cliffs in the Omaha Beach scenario. These cliffs are impassable to Armor during movement. To my knowledge, the rule says that you can't retreat onto impassable terrain, but in this case the terrain is OK, it's the line in between the terrain that's not.

It would make sense that they are unable to retreat, but I can't be sure.

What is the official word?

Geoff
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 28 August 2009 02:57
gheintze wrote on Thu, 27 August 2009 17:46

There is a question over on BGG about whether Armor can retreat down cliffs in the Omaha Beach scenario. These cliffs are impassable to Armor during movement. To my knowledge, the rule says that you can't retreat onto impassable terrain, but in this case the terrain is OK, it's the line in between the terrain that's not.

It would make sense that they are unable to retreat, but I can't be sure.

What is the official word?

Geoff


Thanks for posting this over here, Geoff! Now it won't be lost over time. Very Happy

I will include this question in the next version of the FAQ Book and Richard will provide an official answer (unless he wants to step in and provide one before then).
      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 29 August 2009 00:28
So... Where's the "questions about the FAQ" thread? Very Happy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 29 August 2009 01:22
Shnik wrote on Fri, 28 August 2009 15:28

So... Where's the "questions about the FAQ" thread? Very Happy


You're on it. Very Happy

If you have questions about the FAQ booklet, I'm happy to clarify things if I can.

[Updated on: Sat, 29 August 2009 06:42]

      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 29 August 2009 20:07
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 28 August 2009 19:22

Shnik wrote on Fri, 28 August 2009 15:28

So... Where's the "questions about the FAQ" thread? Very Happy


You're on it. Very Happy

If you have questions about the FAQ booklet, I'm happy to clarify things if I can.


Well, actually, there's one ruling that seems to stick out against what is written on the cards and in the rules. I know it says Richard Borg confirmed all the answers, but still...

On page 10, it says that the "Road crossing a railroad" hex doesn't count as a road for the extra movement. This seems counter-intuitive to the cards/rules which state "This plays the same as a standard Road." Is this really how the hex should be played?

On another note, though, great FAQ! I really like the "questions to important members of M44" (or however they're called). All that was missing is previews or hints of upcoming expansions! Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 29 August 2009 22:19
Shnik wrote on Sat, 29 August 2009 11:07


On page 10, it says that the "Road crossing a railroad" hex doesn't count as a road for the extra movement. This seems counter-intuitive to the cards/rules which state "This plays the same as a standard Road." Is this really how the hex should be played?


It is indeed how the hex should be played. Richard can step in and correct me if I'm confused about the reasoning, but what I understood from when we talked about this rule is that the road simply allows Armor and Artillery to keep moving (normally they would have to stop when they enter a railroad hex). But the extra movement benefit only applies with pure road hexes. This is the same kind of ruling we have for roads that cross bridges.


Quote:

On another note, though, great FAQ! I really like the "questions to important members of M44" (or however they're called). All that was missing is previews or hints of upcoming expansions! Razz


Thanks, I'm glad you like it. Eric slipped one hint about the computer version of Memoir '44 in there but that's the only clue we're getting about what's in the works, I guess. Cool

[Updated on: Sun, 30 August 2009 23:16]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 10 September 2009 17:49
Fellow players of Memoir '44:

It was brought to my attention that I had a rule error under Engineers, in the "Troop" Section of the FAQ. I had said that Engineers could battle and remove mines in the same turn, which is not true.

I have corrected that mistake and the updated version in online for anyone who wants. Both the full FAQ document and the "Troops" document have been updated. The "Troops" section is now version 1.0.1 and indicates that it was updated in September of this year. Players can simply download the "Troop Cards" section and print it out to replace the old version, or download the entire document. Cool

Please let me know if you have any questions about this correction. I'm in my first week back at teaching, so it is entirely possible that my explanation wasn't very clear. Very Happy
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2100
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 21 September 2009 20:28
I did note conflicting answers on Pg 19 regarding if players agree to use the Air rules in a scenario which does not mention the air rules.

In the answer to the 2nd question on that page it states "...so if both players want to use the Air Rules, each player gets one Air Sortie card".

In answer to a similar question (6th one down - not including the "which expansion" question) it states "If players agree to use the Air Rules but there is an absence of other instructions, simple shuffle both Air Sortie cards into the deck".

The correct procedure in this case is each player gets an AS card to start the game but the different answers on the same page could cause confusion.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 21 September 2009 22:24
Thanks for catching that discrepancy. I'll fix that and it will be in the next version. Smile
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2100
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 22 September 2009 11:30
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 21 September 2009 16:24

Thanks for catching that discrepancy. I'll fix that and it will be in the next version. Smile


Your welcome sir and glad to be of service Smile
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 04 October 2009 08:58
Some clariification on when the additional die applies in subsequent combat would be helpful i.e. does Armour keep the +1 die in Overun combat (Close or ranged) when using TFH?
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 04 October 2009 09:02
When using Counter Attack the FAQ carries the suggestion of exchanging for the original order card. But the Counter Attack (unless against a C-in-C card) must be in the corresponding section.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 04 October 2009 16:55
Hi Achtung Panzer,

Both of your suggestions might warrant some modification in the FAQ document, but for me to determine that I need to know exactly where you're referring to. You can either PM me with where you're looking, or just post the page numbers and what section you think needs the additional clarification.

Thanks for you help in making the FAQ Book more useful! Cool
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 04 October 2009 21:40
Will do jesse, thanks.
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 11 October 2009 12:22
Thanks for the FAQ document, it is very helpful.
I have a question regarding the base game which I am still unsure about having read the FAQ.
Q: Can you place sandbags on a hex that already contains a hedgehog or barbed wire?
Many thanks
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 11 October 2009 13:03
Good question. Personally I don't see why not. Can't recall seeing anything that restricts placement of sandbags with regard to terrain...
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 11 October 2009 15:17
The reason I ask is that I played the "Dig In" card for a number of units that were still on the beach (some in hedgehog hexes) the other night and later wondered if that was a "legal" thing to do. The FAQ on sandbag placement states its OK to place sandbags on any "countryside" or "land terrain hex" (which I assume includes beach) but I was not sure about the hedgehog.
Thanks.

[Updated on: Sun, 11 October 2009 16:50]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 11 October 2009 17:00
That brings up a good question, Mem44. The underlying issue is whether you can stack the 'ignore 1 flag' feature of the sandbag and the hedgehog. Rolling Eyes

I don't see any reason why you couldn't place the sandbags with barbed wire and hedgehogs, but I don't know if you would then get to ignore 2 flags since both hedgehogs and sandbags allow you to ignore one...any thoughts? Confused

EDIT: One warning about your strategy of placing sandbags on units in hedgehogs and barbed wire on the beach: If you're charging up the beach, you might not want to stop your men to play that card. It is a purely defensive move (since they can't attack or move that turn) and generally you want to get your men up off the beach as quickly as you can. But the question still stands if for some reason that's what you choose to do. Cool

[Updated on: Sun, 11 October 2009 17:03]

      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 11 October 2009 17:15
Hi,
The reason I placed a sandbag in a hedgehog hex was to get the benefit of the dice reduction that comes with a sandbag (but not with a hedgehog). I was assuming flags are not cumulative so I would still ignore only the FIRST flag. The die reduction gave some temporary protection to my centre whilst I advanced my flank units. It was also the best of a bad hand so I thought I'd give it a try!
Many thanks.

[Updated on: Sun, 11 October 2009 19:12]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 12 October 2009 22:17
mem44 wrote on Sun, 11 October 2009 11:22

Q: Can you place sandbags on a hex that already contains a hedgehog or barbed wire?


Or a bunker? Rolling Eyes

[Updated on: Mon, 12 October 2009 22:17]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 02:09
As the FAQ says, "Sandbags may be placed on any countryside or terrain land hex...." Nothing there excludes hedgehogs or wire.

Sandbags' die reduction feature doesn't "stack" with underlying terrain die reductions, so I would expect that the "flag protection" doesn't stack, either.

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 11 October 2009 11:00

That brings up a good question, Mem44. The underlying issue is whether you can stack the 'ignore 1 flag' feature of the sandbag and the hedgehog. Rolling Eyes

I don't see any reason why you couldn't place the sandbags with barbed wire and hedgehogs, but I don't know if you would then get to ignore 2 flags since both hedgehogs and sandbags allow you to ignore one...any thoughts? Confused

[Updated on: Tue, 13 October 2009 02:11]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 02:33
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 12 October 2009 17:09

As the FAQ says, "Sandbags may be placed on any countryside or terrain land hex...." Nothing there excludes hedgehogs or wire.

Sandbags' die reduction feature doesn't "stack" with underlying terrain die reductions, so I would expect that the "flag protection" doesn't stack, either.


I totally agree, Sam. The "Ignore 1 Flag" feature doesn't stack since the die reductions don't stack.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 11:23
I think mem44 has the right idea. He said that he used the sandbags to reduce the die roll on open ground not to reduce flag effect. I think this is both doable and a good strategy decision.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 15:31
stevens wrote on Tue, 13 October 2009 02:23

I think mem44 has the right idea. He said that he used the sandbags to reduce the die roll on open ground not to reduce flag effect. I think this is both doable and a good strategy decision.


I agree. I might have done the same kind of thing in his situation and it sounds like he played it right by not stacking the flag effect from the two obstacles.

As far as putting sandbags on a Bunker, there wouldn't be any point since neither effect can stack. Cool
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 949
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 17:00
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 13 October 2009 09:31


As far as putting sandbags on a Bunker, there wouldn't be any point since neither effect can stack. Cool


Unless you were the allies putting sandbags around an axis bunker...

Geoff
      
Pages (8): [1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Bridge questions
Next Topic:Overlord - Constructing a Pontoon and crossing it in the same turn
Goto Forum: