Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Book
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 17:07
He got you there Jesse!

Embarassed
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 13 October 2009 18:32
gheintze wrote on Tue, 13 October 2009 08:00

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 13 October 2009 09:31


As far as putting sandbags on a Bunker, there wouldn't be any point since neither effect can stack. Cool


Unless you were the allies putting sandbags around an axis bunker...

Geoff



True...true. And in that case both the die reduction and the flag benefit would apply. Thanks for pointing that out.
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 15 October 2009 22:01
Gosh, I thought the answer to this would have been agreed long ago by veteran Memoir 44 players. I only bought the game about 3 weeks ago and I know its slightly pedantic, but I do like unambiguous rules that let the game flow.

I feel slightly daft as I appear to be the only one who has ever contemplated placing a sandbag in a hex already occupied by a hedgehog or barbed wire and, of course, my infantry - we are talking about the "Dig In" card after all!

I'm glad that some of you think it's quite a sensible idea, however, having thought about this for a while my position is as follows:

Page 7 of the current FAQ states "Sandbags may be placed on any countryside or terrain land hex, including a hex with a bridge".

And page 8 of the FAQ adds: "Wire is a subset of Terrain along with other obstacles like bunkers, hedgehogs, and sandbags".

You can interpret these two statements all night long and still not be sure about the placing of a sandbag with a hedgehog or wire (or bunker!).

Figuring out what defensive bonus this might give and how it may stack is, I suspect, another subject entirely!

I guess the question we should be seeking the answer to is...

Q: Page 16 of the Memoir 44 base game rule book defines 4 TYPES of 'obstacles', 2 'fixed' (Bunkers and Hedgehogs) and 2 'removable' (Sandbags and Wire).

When designing scenarios or playing a card that allows you to place an obstacle mid-game, e.g. the 'Dig In' card, are there any restrictions on the NUMBER and TYPE of obstacles that may be placed in the SAME hex?

Whilst it might not lend itself to the greatest tactical possibilities, personally I hope the answer is...

A: 'Any single hex may contain a MAXIMUM of ONE obstacle irrespective of TYPE (provided the underling terrain allows placement of that obstacle). This applies at both scenario design stage and during play.

I think this would make things a lot simpler to remember (and calculate) all round and, let's not forget, there is a practical limit to the number of 'objects' you can place and / or see on one hex, irrespective of whether you are playing the on the beloved 'real' board or the VASSAL board.

Apologies if my post has not covered other obstacle types available in the expansion packs but maybe the proposed 'solution' will work with them too?

What does everyone think?

Many thanks.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 15 October 2009 22:15
If I understand you correctly, you're saying that maybe the rule limits players to having one obstacle per hex. That assumption is incorrect.

You can place your sandbags on a hex with wire or hedgehog. That's not the issue. The issue that your initial question brought up was whether the "ignore 1 flag" feature stacks, allowing units to ignore multiple flags. The answer to that question is no, you cannot stack any of the benefit features from obstacles.

In short, you can place your sandbags after playing "Dig In" on any Land Hex (like the FAQ says) but it won't always benefit you. If you want to place the sandbags on bunkers, but it's already your bunker, you can't gaining benefit and might as well not place it there.

I hope this helps clarify things. Cool

[Updated on: Thu, 15 October 2009 22:34]

      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 15 October 2009 22:28
The rules state:

A unit on a hedgehog may ignore the FIRST flag.
A unit behind sandbags may ignore the FIRST flag.

You can't accumulate flag protection since they all stipulate the FIRST flag only.

So if you are behind a hedgehog with sandbags you ignore the FIRST flag only, second flag makes you retreat.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 15 October 2009 22:34
Vulch wrote on Thu, 15 October 2009 13:28

The rules state:

A unit on a hedgehog may ignore the FIRST flag.
A unit behind sandbags may ignore the FIRST flag.

You can't accumulate flag protection since they all stipulate the FIRST flag only.

So if you are behind a hedgehog with sandbags you ignore the FIRST flag only, second flag makes you retreat.


Very well put!
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 15 October 2009 23:27
mem44 wrote on Thu, 15 October 2009 16:01

Gosh, I thought the answer to this would have been agreed long ago by veteran Memoir 44 players.


This question has been answered long ago and its answered pretty well in the FAQ which you quote below, but from the thread I can see why you would think otherwise. We just like to argue alot. Don't get discouraged. This is a great game!

Quote:

I feel slightly daft as I appear to be the only one who has ever contemplated placing a sandbag in a hex already occupied by a hedgehog or barbed wire and, of course, my infantry - we are talking about the "Dig In" card after all!


Don't feel daft. You are not the only one that has done this and putting the sandbag on a hedgehog or wire makes perfect sense. In fact, I have put them on bunkers also, simply because I had 4 units and wanted to use up the avaiable sandbags (so opponent couldn't use them in the extrememly unlikely case they get a Dig-In and there were no sandbags left).

Quote:

When designing scenarios or playing a card that allows you to place an obstacle mid-game, e.g. the 'Dig In' card, are there any restrictions on the NUMBER and TYPE of obstacles that may be placed in the SAME hex?


I think the question has already been answered, but I will give a simplistic answer to this main question.

With a Dig-In card you can place the sandbag on any LAND hex that contains the ordered unit, regardless of what else is contained in that hex, except another sandbag (unless the special rules state otherwise).
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 00:38
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 15 October 2009 21:15

If I understand you correctly, you're saying that maybe the rule limits players to having one obstacle per hex. That assumption is incorrect.


In a nutshell I was saying that I think this rule is not clear and as such, one interpretation might be to simply say you can only have one obstacle per hex. I supported this argument by including the lines from the Rules / FAQ which I believe are not clear.

However, you appear to think this rule is clear. Could you please tell me which lines in the Rules and/or FAQ lead you to believe that you CAN have more than one obstacle per hex.

Chances are, I've missed something.

Many thanks
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 01:03
Quote:

In a nutshell I was saying that I think this rule is not clear and as such, one interpretation might be to simply say you can only have one obstacle per hex. I supported this argument by including the lines from the Rules / FAQ which I believe are not clear.

However, you appear to think this rule is clear. Could you please tell me which lines in the Rules and/or FAQ lead you to believe that you CAN have more than one obstacle per hex.

Chances are, I've missed something.


I applaud your effort to make the rules more simple, but I think they're relatively simple already. I don't have experience with more complex War Games, but I've seen some of the rule books and Memoir '44 is already a very simple game.

Having said that, some of the rules are more difficult to interpret than others and questions always come up. It's not practical to expect a set of rules to cover every possible situation. However, if you usually take the rules at face value you might find that some of the questions work themselves out.

In answer to your request for a reference, I'm going to ask a question of my own. Where does it say you can't place more than one obstacle in a hex? The rules you referenced in your post simply said that Sandbags are place on land hexes and they are a subset of Terrain. The fact that it isn't forbidden, indicates to me that you could place sandbags in a hex with bunkers, wire, or hedgehogs.

I'm hoping this helps a little and doesn't confuse you more. This is a great game with very exciting things happening so I hope you're having fun despite these questions! Cool
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 05:18
Quote:


Page 7 of the current FAQ states "Sandbags may be placed on any countryside or terrain land hex, including a hex with a bridge".

And page 8 of the FAQ adds: "Wire is a subset of Terrain along with other obstacles like bunkers, hedgehogs, and sandbags".

You can interpret these two statements all night long and still not be sure about the placing of a sandbag with a hedgehog or wire (or bunker!).



The important part of the page 7 rule you quoted is "land hex". This means a hexagonal shaped tile and it must not be a water hex, i.e., ocean, river, ford, lake etc. "Land" is used merely to distinguish land from water hexes and "hex" refers to a hexagonal element not any terrain element (such as a rectangular bunker etc). One exception would be that you can put a sandbag on a marsh or a dam hex.

Since nowhere does it say you cannot put sandbags on bunkers, roadblocks, field bunkers, trenches, or anything else, one has to assume it is legal and I have always done so.

One thing you have to remember is the rules from various sources, such as booklets, cards, the FAQ (and even within the same source) sometimes do not use precise (consistent) language. That can be a little annoying if you are used to precise documentation. But common sense usually rules when you are in doubt in this game. And this game is pretty simple. And in the worst case, if you interpret incorrectly, it doesn't matter all that much as long as your opponent does the same.

[Updated on: Fri, 16 October 2009 05:19]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 07:38
Sgt Storm wrote on Thu, 15 October 2009 20:18


One exception would be that you can put a sandbag on a marsh or a dam hex.


Hi Sgt Storm,

While you may be right about these exceptions, I'm wondering where you saw this ruling to be so sure about this. Smile

I might be a little slow, but I'm starting to think that I should do some research and try to clarify the rules for placing sandbags even more than what we already have in the FAQ... Laughing Razz It'll be on my list for the next update.

[Updated on: Fri, 16 October 2009 08:08]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 09:18
And don't forget Japanese infantry units who must ignore the first flag rolled anyway. This is one area where the benefit of sandbags etc. is cummulative.
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 10:56
Achtung Panzer wrote on Fri, 16 October 2009 08:18

And don't forget Japanese infantry units who must ignore the first flag rolled anyway. This is one area where the benefit of sandbags etc. is cummulative.


That statement in itself doesn't make sense, unless you know the full ruling, so to clarify here is the full text.

Quote:

Japanese Infantry units must always ignore the 1st flag rolled against them.
When on a terrain or obstacle hex that already ignores a flag, Japanese infantry
must ignore the first 2 flags
rolled against them in any given dice roll. Finally
Japanese Infantry inside caves must ignore all flags rolled against them.


As far as sandbags on hedgehogs go, just think about what you would do in real life. If you are stuck hiding behind a hedgehog on a bullet swept beach, you have three choices. Get up and move, hide behind the metalwork, dig a hole in the sand to give yourself more protection. Why shouldn't you be able to dig in behind a hedgehog? You could do it in real life and that is what the game is about. Plus as stated, the rules don't forbid it.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 18:26
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 16 October 2009 01:38


Hi Sgt Storm,

While you may be right about these exceptions, I'm wondering where you saw this ruling to be so sure about this. Smile

I might be a little slow, but I'm starting to think that I should do some research and try to clarify the rules for placing sandbags even more than what we already have in the FAQ... Laughing Razz It'll be on my list for the next update.

I didn't see any ruling. I make this crap up when there are no rulings. Laughing

Seriously, I see no ruling to the contrary and in that case common sense rules. I suppose marsh maybe strictly is not a Land hex. It is "wetlands" in reality, but I personally would play it as land in the game for the following reason. Units can move into and occupy the hex without any additional support (e.g., boat/raft) so it is land. Therefore a Dig-In can be used to place a sandbag there.

(Look at it this way, if a marsh can support the weight of a tank, it certainly could support some sandbags. Realistically, a marsh is not all water, there are land corridors etc. through the terrain).

Generally, what I am saying is this: any hex that can be "normally" occupied by a unit that can place a sandbag, should be able to hold a sandbag. Counterexample: Although a unit can be on a river, it can't be there without a raft for additional support, hence it can't place a sandbag. This seems common sense to me.

As for the dam, the Terrain Pack rules indicate it may be occupied by infantry. The only official scenario (I know of) that uses dam hexes, Schwammenauel Dam, allows units on the dam hex. Therefore sandbags may be placed and that's the way I have played this scenario.

[Updated on: Fri, 16 October 2009 18:29]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 21:35
I'm not hung up on Sandbags. I percieve the card as one which allows an infantry unit to improve its position, either by digging slit trenches, filling sandbags or piling up rocks depending upon the ground being held.
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 16 October 2009 22:54
Quote:

With a Dig-In card you can place the sandbag on any LAND hex that contains the ordered unit, regardless of what else is contained in that hex, except another sandbag (unless the special rules state otherwise).



Well, if we're all agreed to this, I'm happy. Play can now proceed uninterrupted either at the table or on-line.

Maybe we could include a line to this effect in the next FAQ as suggested above?

As for the dice reduction and flag ignore, I can "do the math".

I've certainly enjoyed watching the debate develop.

Now, where did I put that sandbag?... Laughing

[Updated on: Sat, 17 October 2009 13:18]

      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 17 October 2009 13:53
Hello all,

I was playing again last night with a new opponent and a point came up which hitherto I think I'd been missing.

I know you cannot 'fire' upon a more distant enemy unit if there is an enemy unit adjacent to your firing unit. The rule says if you want to battle, you must 'close assault' the adjacent unit. If there is more than once adjacent unit, you choose which.

I've always thought as 'close assault' as a prelude to potentially 'taking ground' - but artillery cannot take ground. I therefore wondered if the this rule also applied to artillery units?

How have folks been playing it?

If the rule DOES apply to arty, I guess a great way of neutralizing enemy arty's range is to park one of your units adjacent to it - for as long as it lasts!

Many thanks

[Updated on: Sat, 17 October 2009 14:02]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 17 October 2009 14:14
Hey mem, I've always played that the priority target rule applies to all units, including artillery. They may not be exactly 'close assaulting', but they'd be directly firing HE or canister at infantry, or AP over open sights at tanks!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 17 October 2009 14:37
Hi, mem --

The requirement to do a close assault has nothing to do with the potential to take ground. It has to do with the fact that there's an enemy right next to you. Other immobile units, such as a tank in a bunker, are required to close-assault, too.

And yes, planting a unit next to an artillery does prevent it from firing at distant targets -- but your unit will get hit with 3 dice.
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 17 October 2009 15:54
Thanks for clearing that one up for me guys. I'm happy. Razz

Just one point...

sam1812 wrote on Sat, 17 October 2009 13:37

Other immobile units, such as a tank in a bunker, are required to close-assault, too.


You can't move a tank into a bunker can you?

Regards
Mem

[Updated on: Sat, 17 October 2009 16:04]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 17 October 2009 16:08
You can't move a tank into a bunker, but tanks can start the game in bunkers. This represents permanently dug in tanks, or tank turrets as fixed defenses. The tanks are not allowed to move out of the bunker in this case.
      
renza22
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
June 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 18 October 2009 09:51
Well done on this document. It would be great for DoW to develop its "living rules" book along this format by including the rules for each card in the text above the clarifications.

This would definitely save everybody a lot of time (and I would even purchase this as a hardcover if it ever came out).

Look forward to watching this thing develop and becoming the 'only' source of information for all things Memoir 44.

Keep up the good work.
      
Fasolt
Junior Member
Fähnrich

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 20 October 2009 21:05
I discovered the FAQ booklet yesterday, since I was away from M44 and the forums some time. Let me also say "thank you" for this helpful and well done collection of informtaion! The quotes give it also a very personal touch!
      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 22 October 2009 23:40
Does anyone out there have the 'Behind Enemy Lines' card as mentioned in the FAQ, i.e. the one that says 'Terrain movement restrictions are ignored"?

Mine says "Terrain movement and battle restrictions still apply" and so does the one in VASSAL - and I only bought the game a few weeks ago.

This caused a little debate last night during a move across the "cliff" in Point-Du-Hoc (the cliff being a 2 point move in the base version) as we tried to figure out if the unit (infantry) was allowed to carry out a 3-hex (but 4 point move) using BEL.

The FAQ Q&A suggested the move was possible but the VASSAL BEL card wording seemed to suggest it wasn't. Only afterwards did I notice the FAQ card wording differed from VASSAL and my set.

Can anyone clarify please? Cool

[Updated on: Thu, 22 October 2009 23:51]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 23 October 2009 00:52
The BEL card on the FAQ is the correct card. If you look at the Card Compendium, it's also the correct card.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 23 October 2009 14:59
The NEW "Sword of Stalingrad" expansion has a corrected BEL card as part of its package.

Quote:

This Battle Map set also includes 2 Standard scenarios playable on a regular Memoir '44 board - Mamayev Kurgan and Pavlov, Hero of the Soviet Union; and Summary cards for the previously published Battle Maps and Mediterranean Theater. Also includes a revised Behind Enemy Lines Command card.


http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/op3/

      
mem44
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 23 October 2009 19:23
Does anyone know if it is possible to get hold of the "revised" version without having to buy an expansion set or two? Shocked

I guess this goes for spares in general too. Rolling Eyes

[Updated on: Fri, 23 October 2009 19:47]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 24 October 2009 05:35
A suggestion for the FAQ: I was looking for a ruling about when a game ends, to determine how many objectives a player received in one of our campaign battles. There is no rule in the original game rule book or a ruling on this in the FAQ.

There are two possibilities: (1) as soon as a player receives a medal (2) at the end of the players turn (who received the medal or during which the medal was received).

In the battle the player played a BEL card, eliminated an enemy unit, thus reaching the required medal count for victory and then went on to occupy an objective. Under option (1) that objective does *not* count, but under option (2) it does.

However, there is an official ruling favoring option (1) mentioned in the following thread and it should be added to the FAQ so it is easier to find for people new to this issue.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=16694#msg_16694

[Updated on: Sat, 24 October 2009 05:36]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7191
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 24 October 2009 18:07
You're right Sgt. Storm. I meant to include that in the FAQ and must have just overlooked it. I will put that in right now for you. Games are over as soon as the medal count is reached...you don't get to finish your turn. Cool

Thanks for catching that! Smile

EDIT: It's in the document and will be there when the next version comes out.

[Updated on: Sat, 24 October 2009 20:32]

      
henryblake
Junior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 14
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 11 November 2009 08:44
Again, great FAQ.

A question came up in a recent game whether an infantry using BEL could take ground if he ended the first part of his move on a rice paddy. The same question would apply if he moved three onto barbed wire and then attacked, or any other terrain that specifies you can move no further on that turn.

I argued that taking ground was part of battle, not movement, so it would be covered by combat restrictions, and the infantry could not take ground after ending its first movement on the paddy but could--of course--move the additional three after the attack.

My opponent argued that because the FAQ didn't specify otherwise, the movement exemption was absolute, so the infantry unit could move three onto a rice paddy, attack, take ground, and then move an additional three.

Interestingly, I was the one playing BEL, so we were both arguing contrary to our interest. But we take the game seriously, so we like to settle any potential questions in the rules before they become important.

Thoughts?
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 11 November 2009 11:52
The terrain restrictions still seem to apply for the battle aspect of the BEL card. For instance, if you are ending your turn in a woods or town, you may not battle - so it makes perfect sense that if the terrain you are battling from limits taking ground (such as battling out of rice paddy, etc.) that that would apply. I personally agree with your analysis, but I am probably wrong - hahaha.


Laughing

[Updated on: Wed, 11 November 2009 11:52]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2200
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 11 November 2009 11:53
I would side with your interpretation as Taking Ground is a possible end result of battle and there are Terrain restrictions which would prevent an BEL ordered unit from taking ground (as surely as some would also reduce that units attack dice - like wire).
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 11 November 2009 14:29
I concur with Stevens and Tank Commander.

The movement phase and the battle phase are distinct, even when there are two movement phases. Taking ground is part of the battle phase, and a unit can't take ground if it just moved into a rice paddy.
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 12 November 2009 10:46
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 16 October 2009 05:18

Since nowhere does it say you cannot put sandbags on bunkers, roadblocks, field bunkers, trenches, or anything else, one has to assume it is legal and I have always done so.

Actually the sandbag is placed on the hex-tile in front of the bunker, trench etc.

Nitpicking, yes. Cool
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 12 November 2009 13:07
GreatDane wrote on Thu, 12 November 2009 09:46


Actually the sandbag is placed on the hex-tile in front of the bunker, trench etc.


Are you sure that is correct?

There is a big difference between:

the sandbag is placed on the hex-tile in front of the bunker.

and

the sandbag is placed on the hex-tile, in front of the bunker

One is on the hex tile in front of the bunker hex tile.

The other is on the hex tile containing the bunker, but in front of the bunker token.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 12 November 2009 14:09
There's no rule forbidding the placement of sandbags on bunkers, trenches, or road blocks. But those four obstacle and terrain types already reduce enemy infantry/armor's dice by 1 and protect against a flag.

As page 16 of the rules says, "When an obstacle is on a Terrain hex, the Battle dice reductions of the two are not cumulative. The best protection is the only one that matters. For example, ... a sandbag on a village does not add anything to the village protection (village defense is 2/1, sandbag defense is 1), though it does provide an additional feature: any unit in the village may ignore the first flag rolled against it, due to the sandbags."

So the only function of putting sandbags onto one of those hexes would be to remove a sandbag from the box and put it on the board.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 12 November 2009 17:59
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 12 November 2009 08:09

So the only function of putting sandbags onto one of those hexes would be to remove a sandbag from the box and put it on the board.


Yes and by doing so you reduce the number of available sandbags, in the unlikely event your opponent gets a Dig In Rolling Eyes, or plays a Counter Attack to a dig in (though why anyone would ever do that is beyond me Confused ).

But that's a very minor point. I usually find Dig-In to be a nuisance and find myself playing it as early as possible just to get rid of it.

GreatDane wrote above

Actually the sandbag is placed on the hex-tile in front of the bunker, trench etc


I don't know if this comment by GreatDane was serious or a jest, but it could be confusing to someone just starting out. So, it doesn't matter which way the sandbag is placed, whether in front of a bunker (assuming he means facing forwards toward the opponent) or not, since its protection is 360 degrees, although you are supposed to face it toward the opponent.

[Updated on: Thu, 12 November 2009 18:00]

      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 13 November 2009 13:21
Vulch wrote on Thu, 12 November 2009 13:07


I don't know if this comment by GreatDane was serious or a jest, but it could be confusing to someone just starting out. So, it doesn't matter which way the sandbag is placed, whether in front of a bunker (assuming he means facing forwards toward the opponent) or not, since its protection is 360 degrees, although you are supposed to face it toward the opponent.


That is exactly what I mean. You place the Sandbag obstacle along any hexside, and it will protect anything inside that hex - like a bunker with a pair of guns, or 4 Infantry figures.

[Updated on: Fri, 13 November 2009 13:25]

      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 13 November 2009 13:25
GreatDane wrote on Fri, 13 November 2009 12:21


A sandbag obstacle is simply a representation of the the entire HEX being surrounded by sandbags. Anything inside that hex is protected by the sandbag modifiers - save for the usual caveat that modifiers aren't cumulative.


Yes I know, I was just demonstrating that the way something is written can change the whole meaning, with a simple comma, or lack of.

Eats, shoots and leaves!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 23 November 2009 03:49
This came up in a game this weekend. I'm pretty sure my answer was correct, but it's not a bad idea to get official documentation.

When Armor Assault, Bombard, etc., says you may order one unit of your choice if you don't possess the card's designated type of unit, Marines are allowed to order two, right? That seems to be implied by the Pacific rule book's statement, "All Tactic cards that normally activate 4 units activate 5 units instead, and those that activate 1 unit activate 2 instead."
      
Pages (8): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Bridge questions
Next Topic:Overlord - Constructing a Pontoon and crossing it in the same turn
Goto Forum: