Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 904
Registered:
December 2006
Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign Fri, 23 October 2009 19:37
I have a few questions about this scenario that are not "obvious" to me (and so would likely not be for some people):

1. The rules do not say the German paratroopers are elite units. Was that an oversight or are they indeed regular units?

2. For the German objective track, is exiting an armour unit considered an objective?

2a. And only armour units may be exited, correct? I see from some AARs that other players may have been exiting infantry.

3. The rules for reinforcements state "as soon as 3 Allied units are eliminated, the Axis player may call in armor reinforcemens." Reading this literally, that means I could eliminate the 3 depleted Allied units and bring in reinforcements. Is that what was intended or does Axis have to actually eliminate 3 full units? Then again, maybe it means Axis has to achieve 3 medals first (meaning eliminating the 3 depleted units counts as 1 unit for the purposes of reinforcements)?

3a. If Axis achieves the required 3 units/medals, he "may" bring in reinforcements on whatever turn he desires, correct?

3b. On the turn the Axis player brings in reinforcements, he places them on the specified hexes and then must order them in order to use them (the Action card implies they can battle but not overrun but that must be via an order, correct?)

4. This is more a general question, but would apply if the infantry are elite. Let's say I am playing a scenario where all infantry units are elite, hence no badges required (or all are sappers as in Fort Eben-Emael) and I roll an infantry symbol on my reserve roll. Do I automatically bring in an elite unit even if I do not roll a Star? If not, then I need a badge to distinguish this unit as regular.

5. And one more... If Axis gets an armour unit on a reserve roll, can that armour unit be exited for a medal.

[Updated on: Fri, 23 October 2009 23:27]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign Sat, 24 October 2009 10:04
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 23 October 2009 19:37

I have a few questions about this scenario that are not "obvious" to me (and so would likely not be for some people):



2. For the German objective track, is exiting an armour unit considered an objective?

2a. And only armour units may be exited, correct? I see from some AARs that other players may have been exiting infantry.



3a. If Axis achieves the required 3 units/medals, he "may" bring in reinforcements on whatever turn he desires, correct?

3b. On the turn the Axis player brings in reinforcements, he places them on the specified hexes and then must order them in order to use them (the Action card implies they can battle but not overrun but that must be via an order, correct?)

4. This is more a general question, but would apply if the infantry are elite. Let's say I am playing a scenario where all infantry units are elite, hence no badges required (or all are sappers as in Fort Eben-Emael) and I roll an infantry symbol on my reserve roll. Do I automatically bring in an elite unit even if I do not roll a Star? If not, then I need a badge to distinguish this unit as regular.




I can answer those questions I know, so here it goes.
2. Yes
2a.Only armor
3a. yes, but he needs an order to bring in reinforcements.
3b. He needs an order to bring them onto the board. If you have a card that only orders one of the sections you can only bring in one tank unit.
4. Yes, you would need to mark the regular unit you bring on (no automatic elite unit)in some way. OR mark all the elite units.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 904
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign Sat, 24 October 2009 16:50
Thanks,

So that leaves these questions to be answered:

1. The rules do not say the German paratroopers are elite units. Was that an oversight or are they indeed regular units?

3. The rules for reinforcements state "as soon as 3 Allied units are eliminated, the Axis player may call in armor reinforcements." Reading this literally, that means I could eliminate the 3 depleted Allied units and bring in reinforcements. Is that what was intended or does Axis have to actually eliminate 3 full units? Then again, maybe it means Axis has to achieve 3 medals first (meaning eliminating the 3 depleted units counts as 1 unit for the purposes of reinforcements)?

5. If Axis gets an armour unit on a reserve roll, can that armour unit be exited for a medal?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7161
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign Sat, 24 October 2009 17:43
Sgt Storm wrote on Sat, 24 October 2009 07:50

Thanks,

So that leaves these questions to be answered:

1. The rules do not say the German paratroopers are elite units. Was that an oversight or are they indeed regular units?


The rules don't say anything and the troop pictures on the setup map don't show them to be elite, so it looks like they are regular units. Unless you hear differently from Antoine or jdrommel, play them as normal Infantry.

Quote:

3. The rules for reinforcements state "as soon as 3 Allied units are eliminated, the Axis player may call in armor reinforcements." Reading this literally, that means I could eliminate the 3 depleted Allied units and bring in reinforcements. Is that what was intended or does Axis have to actually eliminate 3 full units? Then again, maybe it means Axis has to achieve 3 medals first (meaning eliminating the 3 depleted units counts as 1 unit for the purposes of reinforcements)?


Like most of Memoir '44, we have to take it at face value and that means if you destroy the 3 depleted units you can bring on your armor reinforcements. Whenever I've played this battle it isn't easy to destroy all three depleted units...the Allied player knows that when all three are gone, they count as a medal and they allow German Armor onto the board. Just play it as is and see how it works!

Quote:

5. If Axis gets an armour unit on a reserve roll, can that armour unit be exited for a medal?


Again, the rules say that "The hex 'To Neufchateau' on the Allied baseline is an Exit hex for the Axis armored units." and if you bring Armor reinforcement onto the board it would count as Axis armor...so you can exit them for a medal. This is easier said than done, though.
Cool
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 904
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Unternehmen Niwi in Airborne Campaign Tue, 27 October 2009 21:24
I have been playing this scenario using rules literally as written. I just thought since there were already a number of mistakes and omissions in other areas, and since all 3 other scenarios denote paratroopers as elite (as if it's obvious) and do not use badges, that this scenario would also.

This scenario is pretty hard for the Axis player. What seems to decide the game is luck on victory and reserve rolls. If one side gets a good reserve roll and the other doesn't that can drastically affect the outcome.

Some house rules might be in order to reduce the affect of chance one-time dice rolls. I wonder why the campaign rules were not set up to allow reserves to be brought in whenever desired upto the available reserve units (or something similar)? Using a point system rather than reserve tokens, along with a point cost per unit type in each scenario, might solve this problem. For example in Unternehmen Niwi maybe it would cost 1 reserve unit to bring in infantry, whereas armour might cost 2 reserve units to discourage early armour exits (or just forbid armour reserves in this scenario). Or it could cost 2 pts for infantry and 4 points for armour with a limit of 4 pts per scenario.

Just a thought.
      
    
Previous Topic:Op Market Garden Misprint?
Next Topic:Sword of Stalingrad
Goto Forum: