Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2202
Registered:
October 2004
Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 12:13
Hi all.

Got an e-mail stating that my SoS had been shipped on Dec 3rd and it arrived this past Sat. Took a real quick look at it and then had to return to some house repairs Rolling Eyes

But then on Sun came gaming day. I was the German CinC with Marty (new to Mem 44) as my right FG. Gene, my regular ftf opponent commanded the Russians.

With all the setup and explaining the rules to Marty, I overlooked the text at the top of the Combat Card rules page. So, neither side started out with any CCs although each FG should have had one. Ooooops Embarassed

Well I had hoped to get Marty's large force (the German's real offensive punch on the board) rolling early and often. But I did not have a single card for my right. I also lacked any sector cards for the center other than a Recon 1. I had several left cards, two CAs, a M & M, ARM ASSAULT.

So Marty ended up rolling for Int for a few turns. Meanwhile, I launched an offensive on the left and pretty much just fired the arty in the center. This continued till mid-game.

Gene got the better of the battle on the German left and soon had an early lead 6 to 2 lead (inc 3 objective medals). The German firing was a bit off.

The left saw a Russ Firefight (I was asleep at the wheel as I failed to CA this card - doh),German Armor Forward Combat Card, a Russ Arm Assault followed by a Ger Arm Assault, a Ger Heat of Battle played w/ BEL (which forced a retreat and 2 hits to a Russ Inf in the Red Barr - taking ground into same, then killing off a 2 fig Russ tank for a total medal swing of 5 - pretty good) and a Russ Rattenkrieg. All this battling left both sides spent. Although the Red Barr was held by a by two 1 fig units - tank and Inf - my Germans could do little to take advantage of that situation.

In the center, and interesting battle did develope on the Krugan. A minor German offensive was thrown back with the help of a Russ tank which was later destroyed. Once again, both sides were spent in this area.

On the Ger right, I was able to feed Marty with a card here and there and used one of the CAs to have him counter a Russ FF there but the German shooting was not good.

In the mid-game, Gene got a 10 order TFH (4 orders on both flanks and 2 in the center with plenty of stars all around. This turn saw him pick up 6 medals (3 objective and 3 kills). I played CA but we only got 7 orders with but 1 star. We still managed to make some headway.

On my next turn, I played my own TFH and this got us a lead as Marty's forces were able to roll forward and take a heavy toll on the Russ defenders in this area. Then, on the Ger right and ALL and a 3 card kept up the pressure and a panzer took the South Station.

Finally, with the score at 15 all, Marty scored a kill on a 1 fig tank We needed one more kill and it would have to come in the center. Fortunately, after a brief conference, we decided to take a chance and move a 1 fig panzer into the center to add its 1 shot on a planned 5 dice attack on a 3 fig Russ Inf on the Krugan. This panzer scored a hit. Now it came down to my Arty Bombard ordered arty unit. Its first 2 shots missed but then the next attack killed off this unit for an exciting 17 to 15 Ger win.

One note: In the briefing notes, the wording about the buildings in a bit confusing. There is mention of the prior destruction of the buildings via bombing and it then it states to play them like the terrain on the map, yet after that it mentions ruins -- ?? I am not sure what that is saying there.

[Updated on: Mon, 07 December 2009 12:18]

      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 16:50
tank commander wrote on Mon, 07 December 2009 03:13

I overlooked the text at the top of the Combat Card rules page. So, neither side started out with any CCs although each FG should have had one. Ooooops Embarassed


So did you not play with them at all?

My question regarding the Combat Cards is initially each FG is issued one but when a Recon is played, a CC is drawn. Who gets that? We assumed it goes to the CinC for use as he sees fit but it never did specify.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 17:36
Aren't Recon1 cards handed out to the FG's?
In that case i would think the FG that played the Recon 1 gets the Combat Card.
But that means that the CinC can never play a Combat card. Is that right?
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 18:59
Good point on the Recon (we play OL as 2 player so I often forget about my CinC hat as opposed to my FG hat!).

But then too, the CinC is really the one in charge of the Command Cards in general...so maybe he gets it and gets to decide which FG gets it later?

The Recon card is getting stronger! (allows drawing extra Combat and Command card!)



      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 21:12
I played The Pavlov scenario yesterday solo as a test.
And I agree that the Recon 1 card is getting stronger, especially for the Russian player when the Command rules are in play. The Russians got Out Of Ammo, Pullback and Ambuscade and used them to deny the Germans entry into medal objectives. The Russian played a lot of Recon 1's in this scenario.
Russians won 9-8 in the end. Pull back Combat card ensured the Russians got in a last attack for the final medal.

But I think the FG's get these cards and not the CinC. Other vise I think they should be labeled with who could play them, like the Command cards are in the overlord deck.

Stig Morten
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2202
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Mon, 07 December 2009 22:33
The Combat Cards rule states that each time a Recon 1 is played a Combat Card is drawn. There is also a reference to a player holding Combat Cards. As in an OL game only the CinC can hold or draw cards (and the FGs cannot know what cards the CinC holds) I assume any CCs are drawn and held by the CinC until he hands them out to a FG (s). The only variance is that when the CC rule is in effect for an OL game, each FG starts w/ 1 CC.

In the game that I played, each side played two Recon 1s so both sides did end up with 2 CCs although the Russians only got to use 1 of theirs.

[Updated on: Mon, 07 December 2009 22:33]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2327
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 00:33
The rule sheet says, "Deal 1 [Combat] card to each Field General, when playing in Overlord mode."

From that, I infer that Combat cards are dealt directly to the FG, and that the CinC doesn't receive them, hold them, or decide when to play them.

If an FG receives multiple Recons, he can accumulate (or spend) Combat cards.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2202
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 02:38
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 07 December 2009 18:33

The rule sheet says, "Deal 1 [Combat] card to each Field General, when playing in Overlord mode."

From that, I infer that Combat cards are dealt directly to the FG, and that the CinC doesn't receive them, hold them, or decide when to play them.

If an FG receives multiple Recons, he can accumulate (or spend) Combat cards.



But that section refers to the start of an OL scenario.

Any Combat Cards after that are drawn from the Combat Card deck through the play of a Recon 1 card. That deck is alike to the OL Command Card deck in at least one other aspect in that it is reshuffled (along with any CC cards in the discard pile) after the play of TFH.

I really do not see positive proof that the FGs receive these cards directly after the initial setup.

Looks like a place for an official ruling.
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 05:34
Quote from the original rules as submitted on how Command cards are to be used.

COMBAT CARDS
Before the start of an Overlord battle, shuffle the Combat cards thoroughly and deal one card to each Field Commander.
(In a Standard size scenario, with only one player on each side, deal each player two Combat cards. Play is as normal with each player using Combat cards as he chooses.)

- A Combat card is drawn by the Field Commander at the end of a turn after the Field Commander plays a Recon-Order 1 Unit; Command card.
- There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a Field General may hold or the number of Combat cards that may be played during his own or an opponent's turn.
- Combat cards that increase the number of Battle dice rolled are accumulative.

A Combat card that a Field Commander plays may modify game play in a variety of ways.
- Ambuscade, Not a Step Back, Pull Back and Out of Ammo cards are played during the opponents turn in reaction to an opposing Field General's action.
- Air Bombardment, Armor Factory and Reinforcements cards are played before ordering any units.
- Armor Forward, Spotter, Fortify, Heat of Battle, House to House, Infiltrators, Rattenkrieg, Reposition, Return to Duty, and Sniper cards are played during the Field General's turn and will modify the action of one or more of the Field General's ordered units.

After a Combat card is played the card is discarded.

A Combat card when it refers to buildings, means all town, village, landmark structures including city ruins and train station hexes.

Some Combat cards have a very specific action and may not always be a usable option for a Field General. In such a case the -OR- action Street Fight as noted on the card may be chosen as the action of the Combat card.

Street Fight Action
One ordered unit in or adjacent to a building hex may Close Assault with 1 additional die.

When a Finest Hour Command card is played, the Combat card discards and draw pile are shuffle together to form a new draw pile. If the Combat card deck is depleted, shuffle the Combat card discards to form a new draw pile.

Richard Borg
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2327
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 07:00
Thank you, Richard. And thank you for your detailed answers on the other thread, too.

In Overlord, is the FG allowed to tell the CinC what Combat cards he is holding? Or is he not supposed to do that, the way CinCs are not supposed to discuss their specific Command cards?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2202
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 12:21
Thank you Richard.

I see the use of "Field General" in your original rules was not carried over to the Combat Cards summary sheet (other than the text at the top of that page) where "a player" was used instead.

That wording along with how the cards are handled in OL play left a doubt in my mind as to how the CCs were drawn.

My guess is that is that is not the last time I will be wrong Laughing

      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 16:03
Thanks Richard!

Played Rats in a Factory again last night (this time as the Axis). Fun scenario!
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Tue, 08 December 2009 23:57
So in Overlord the FG's play the Combat Cards, but can any allied FG play the Combat card that refers to the Armor unit in the tractor factory or only the FG in the section that has the tractor factory?

Great game, Richard!
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Wed, 09 December 2009 04:44
Sorry only the Field General with the Tractor Factory may use this card to build tanks, the rest of us because we do not have the Tractor Factory in the sections we command have to use the Combat card as a Street Fight.

Richard Borg

ad79 wrote on Tue, 08 December 2009 17:57

So in Overlord the FG's play the Combat Cards, but can any allied FG play the Combat card that refers to the Armor unit in the tractor factory or only the FG in the section that has the tractor factory?

Great game, Richard!

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Sword of Stalingrad scenario - first playthrough Wed, 09 December 2009 06:56
Thank you for the quick answer, Richard.
      
    
Previous Topic:Tribute
Next Topic:Best army pack
Goto Forum: