Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Their Finest Hour
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player555918
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
July 2009
Their Finest Hour Mon, 07 December 2009 02:57
When I play the TFH card, if I successfully bring in units, where on the board do I get to place them?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour Mon, 07 December 2009 03:02
Are you talking about the campaign game?
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Their Finest Hour Mon, 07 December 2009 04:23
a lil bit confusing there Laughing
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1399
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour Mon, 07 December 2009 04:54
player555918 wrote on Sun, 06 December 2009 19:57

When I play the TFH card, if I successfully bring in units, where on the board do I get to place them?


You use the TFH card to activate units that are already on the board (anywhere on the board unless overlord). That is- if I understand the question.


      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour Mon, 07 December 2009 12:03
In the campaign scenarios, you may also use TFH to activate units that you have staged just off the board. However, I don't know what other times - so the answer will depend on a lot more information than we have been given so far. Please give us the specifics of your situation and I am sure we can help you resolve this question.

Smile
      
player555918
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
July 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour Thu, 10 December 2009 11:45
Sorry for the confusion. I am probably not well-versed enough to ask the question correctly. For right now, I am talking about the most basic version of the game. It's my move and I just play the card.

Unless here's a possibility I just thought of: maybe I'm simply playing the whole thing incorrectly? I'm not the sharpest tool, but I read the direction and I don't think that's the case.

Thanks in advance for the assist.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour Thu, 10 December 2009 12:09
Here it goes:

If you have 5 cards on your hand, you play TFH, roll 5 dice (same as the number of cards you have), the 5 dice shows (only an example) infantry, tank, grenade, flag, star. Infantry lets you order 1 infantry unit anywhere on the board, tank lets you order 1 tank unit anywhere on the board, star lets you CHOOSE 1 unit of any kind anywhere on the board. Flag and grenade doesn't let you order anything, so you ignore those.
If you roll 2 infantry symbols on the dice, you order 2 infantry units. If you roll infantry or tank and doesn't have that on the board, you can't order anything with those dice.
Move units, battle with units.

Reshuffle card deck and discard pile. (That is unused and used cards. the cards you have in your hand are NOT shuffled.)
Then you draw your new card.

Hopefully that helped you!

Stig Morten

      
player555918
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
July 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour Tue, 15 December 2009 04:35
Yes now I understand. The key within your answer: anywhere on the board. I was wondering if there was a rule somewhere telling me where I place the new unit, but apparently there is not. Thank you very much for the clarification.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour Tue, 15 December 2009 04:45
player555918 wrote on Mon, 14 December 2009 19:35

Yes now I understand. The key within your answer: anywhere on the board. I was wondering if there was a rule somewhere telling me where I place the new unit, but apparently there is not. Thank you very much for the clarification.


I think you're getting there, but there's a little phrase in your answer that indicates you might not have this rule down quite yet...don't worry, it took me a while to figure this game out! Razz

You said you wondered if there was a rule telling you "where I place the new unit". None of the cards in the Command Deck (the deck that lets you order your units) allow you to bring new men on the board. Their Finest Hour lets you order units that you already have. Like Stig said, you can chose the units from anywhere on the board, but you do not get to bring any new men into the battle. Cool
      
player555918
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
July 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour Fri, 18 December 2009 18:36
Okay, now I get it. I can "order" the units, not bring a new one on the board. Thank you very much.
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour Sat, 19 December 2009 11:03
ad79 wrote on Thu, 10 December 2009 11:09

If you have 5 cards on your hand, you play TFH, roll 5 dice (same as the number of cards you have), the 5 dice shows (only an example) infantry, tank, grenade, flag, star. Infantry lets you order 1 infantry unit anywhere on the board, tank lets you order 1 tank unit anywhere on the board, star lets you CHOOSE 1 unit of any kind anywhere on the board. Flag and grenade doesn't let you order anything, so you ignore those.



Does the grenade not let you order an artillery unit?
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Their Finest Hour Sat, 19 December 2009 11:05
Quote:

Does the grenade not let you order an artillery unit?


NO, only Star
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour Sat, 19 December 2009 11:19
Bayernkini wrote on Sat, 19 December 2009 10:05

Quote:

Does the grenade not let you order an artillery unit?


NO, only Star


Your right, I just saw it in the card DB. Bit confusing though as the grenade refers to artillery in lots of other parts of the game. Lack of consistency there. Confused
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour Sat, 19 December 2009 13:36
There is no lack of consistency.
Only a STAR orders an artillery in using the TFH card.

The consistent thing is that apart from retreat rolls (FLAGS) where the artillery cannot retreat and STAR rolls from Snipers and Aircraft, the only way to kill an Artillery is with GRENADES.

A lot of the questions that are being asked on the Forums are already answered in the FAQ, and besides being a great resource it is a fun and clever read. It has just been updated and does not currently cover any specific questions arising from the new COMBAT CARDS introduced with the Sword of Stalingrad expansion.
Check it out:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/
      
    
Previous Topic:selling breakthrough map on ebay
Next Topic:Battle for the Passes
Goto Forum: