Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Bridges
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:04
ln the main game it says on the card that Bridges block line of sight but in the Air Pack expansion it says it does not. Can someone let me know which is correct.
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:19
Bridges Do not block line of sight.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_9.jpg

Maybe someone else would know why your main game card says it does? possibly an old copy with typo? or a Mission specific rule? anyways whatever the reason you have an answer. Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 16 December 2009 11:20]

      
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:21
So is the card in the main game wrong.
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:32
Ok have got out a copy of the card i think you are refering too.

River and Waterways is the card in question.

It states

Impassable except over bridges which are considered normal terrain..

So the "river hex" is Impassable without a bridge.. but the bridge itself is treated as "normal terrain" which means line of sight isn't blocked.

Hope this clears up the question
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2111
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:43
alboy wrote on Wed, 16 December 2009 05:04

ln the main game it says on the card that Bridges block line of sight but in the Air Pack expansion it says it does not. Can someone let me know which is correct.



The bridge cards which states "blocks LOS" are incorrect. That was addressed when the updated bridge cards were printed.

[Updated on: Wed, 16 December 2009 11:57]

      
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 11:46
Yes that is the card Rivers & Waterways, lt does say "Impassable except over bridges which are considered normal terrain", l assume refers to movement, but below that it says "Bridges block Line of Sight, Rivers do not".
Has the ruling changed since the main game was issued.
Sorry just missed the reply above.

[Updated on: Wed, 16 December 2009 11:47]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3047
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Bridges Wed, 16 December 2009 14:41
Yes the original card was a misprint. This has been corrected by a reprint of the card found in the AIR PACK expansion, and also by the FAQ p.7:
Quote:

Q. Does a bridge block Line of Sight?
A. No, unless stated otherwise in a scenarios special rules.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Bridges Thu, 17 December 2009 00:13
Sorry if my second reply caused any confusion Alboy Just re-read it and will make a promise not to try to be helpful when rushing out. Glad you got the answer you needed Smile
      
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Bridges Thu, 17 December 2009 12:08
Thanks everyone.
      
    
Previous Topic:Mine Fields
Next Topic:360 degree
Goto Forum: