Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Overlord Section card question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
xfoley96
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 52
Registered:
January 2005
Overlord Section card question Thu, 17 December 2009 23:04
I bought my first Overlord map recently. I will be playing with 2 copies of the base game, and I don't own the Overlord Expansion. There seems to be a slight inconsistency in the rules for the Section cards Recon in Force, General Advance, and Pincer Move. In the 'traditional' Overlord rules for 2 base games, it says you can't play multiple section cards on a single Field General on the same turn if any of the cards above are played on that General. However, even though the rules for how the cards function seem unchanged in the expansion (and new cards) for Overlord, the new Overlord rules don't make that distinction explicitly, and would indicate you can play a 2nd section card with those above.

Now, I can follow the logic of not using Recon in Force and General Advance with a 2nd section card, since these cards already give orders to both sections and you're supposed to apply multiple section cards one to each of the 2 sections a Field General controls. But, if I'm reading the Pincer rules right, you can only order 2 units in one section (which kind of negates the concept of it being a 'pincer' move, but I'll let that slide) with that card, which would make applying a 2nd section card seem legal and logical.

So, to boil it down, my questions are:

1.) Can you play a 2nd section card with Recon in Force or General Advance, even though these cards apply to both sections? Has the rule been changed from the old rules? My inclination is no.

2.) Which rule is correct for Pincer? Seems in this case that the new rule (you can play another section card with Pincer on the same General) supersedes the old....

[Updated on: Thu, 17 December 2009 23:05]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Overlord Section card question Thu, 17 December 2009 23:12
Answer to question 1 is no. It was confirmed by Richard just a few days ago.

Question 2: I think you can play a second section card in the other section.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2247
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Overlord Section card question Fri, 18 December 2009 02:42
Pincer Move may only be played by the Left or Right Field General. It orders 2 units in one of his two sections. The FG may not be given it in conjunction with another card.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3020
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Overlord Section card question Fri, 18 December 2009 05:27
These rules come from the ORIGINAL version of the Overlord Rules on p.5

http://static0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/lang/english/images /mm_overlord.pdf

Quote:

- Recon in Force: Order 1 unit in each of the sections under the command of the receiving Field
General (i.e. a total of 2 units when playing a double-board scenario).
A Field General receiving a Recon in Force card may not be given any other Command card during the same turn.

- General Advance: Order 2 units in each of the sections under the command of the receiving
Field General (i.e. a total of 4 units when playing a double-board scenario).
A Field General receiving a General Advance card may not be given any other Command card during the same turn.

- Pincer Move: Order 2 units in one of the section under the command of the receiving Field General.
The Pincer Move card must be given to one of the two Field Generals sitting on the end of the boards (right or left flank),
never to the Field General in charge of the center.
A Field General receiving a Pincer Move card may not be given any other Command card during the same turn.


Seems pretty clear if you receive any one of these three cards, you may not receive another card on the same turn.

[Updated on: Fri, 18 December 2009 05:32]

      
xfoley96
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 52
Registered:
January 2005
Re:Overlord Section card question Fri, 18 December 2009 20:04
stevens wrote on Thu, 17 December 2009 23:27

These rules come from the ORIGINAL version of the Overlord Rules on p.5

Seems pretty clear if you receive any one of these three cards, you may not receive another card on the same turn.


Yes, I was attempting to summarize these rules in my original post. But none of that was mentioned in the Overlord Expansion rulebook. That's why I was wondering if the rule was changed. It seems definitely no in the case of the first 2 cards, and I would play it that way- makes sense to me.

At this point, the only question I have remaining is if the Pincer card really can't be played in conjunction with another card. Considering the benefits you could get playing an "Attack All" card in conjunction with another card, I'm wondering what the logic is for not allowing another card with Pincer, when you only get to order 2 units in one section with it? If played that you can't give a 2nd card, it feels like they've taken what was once one of the better Section cards and reduced it's potency considerably.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3020
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Overlord Section card question Fri, 18 December 2009 21:06
I believe on p.4 of the NEW Overlord Expansion, it does describe the use of the PINCER MOVE card as only for the RT or LFT flank and orders up to 2 units in either section. However, there is no limiting discussion that it is the only card played as there is in the original rules. As a frequent player I can tell you that traditionally in tournament play, the original rules are what people play by and although it may be a great card to have in Memoir 44 small board it is just another card in Overlord.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2247
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Overlord Section card question Sat, 19 December 2009 00:19
I'd say that it giveth and it taketh away.

Compared to a Probe Left, it has the advantage that it can be used on either the left or right flank. But it has the disadvantage that a second card may not be given along with it.
      
    
Previous Topic:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo
Next Topic:selling breakthrough map on ebay
Goto Forum: