Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Excuse the beginner
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Excuse the beginner Tue, 12 January 2010 19:11
Hi guys,
Can someone help me in a matter we cannot decide (we are quite beginners with Memoir 44 in fact): if you use a command card that allows commands in one section and you move your unit to a different section, can you still order it to battle (of course, supposing that is CAN battle after the move) or from the point of moving into a different section, it is no longer under the scope of the section card you originally played?
Thanks so much for the answer.
Best,
drkiss
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 12 January 2010 19:24
kissmarci wrote on Tue, 12 January 2010 10:11

Hi guys,
Can someone help me in a matter we cannot decide (we are quite beginners with Memoir 44 in fact): if you use a command card that allows commands in one section and you move your unit to a different section, can you still order it to battle (of course, supposing that is CAN battle after the move) or from the point of moving into a different section, it is no longer under the scope of the section card you originally played?
Thanks so much for the answer.
Best,
drkiss


Welcome!

When you move a unit, as long as they are eligible they can battle even if they cross into a new section. Sometimes it's a really good strategy to move a unit into those hexes that count for two sections, so that later on you can order them with a command card from ether section. Another strategy might be to move units into sections that are having trouble and basically send them reinforcements.

If you play Overlord battles, the same principles apply. So if you move a unit from one of your sections over into the section of a different field general, the unit can still battle (if it would normally be allowed to) and then next turn that other field general can order the unit.

I hope that helps. Cool

[Updated on: Tue, 12 January 2010 19:43]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 942
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 12 January 2010 19:43
Szia!

Ha van még kérdésed a játékkal, regisztrálj és írj a magyar fórumba!

http://www.memoir44.hu/

Üdv,
Szili
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 198
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 12 January 2010 23:25
Nice to have you with us, this is a great game. You might move your artillary into hexes for two sections (with the red broken line running through). This way they can be used with a command card from either section to provide fire support for either section.
      
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Excuse the beginner Wed, 13 January 2010 14:38
Thanks guys, I really appreciate your swift replies and the offer of my Hun friends also. We will surely join the club. And that the big Rasmussen replied in a second? That is really something (serious).
drkiss
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Wed, 13 January 2010 19:08
kissmarci wrote on Wed, 13 January 2010 13:38

Thanks guys, I really appreciate your swift replies and the offer of my Hun friends also. We will surely join the club. And that the big Rasmussen replied in a second? That is really something (serious).
drkiss


rasmussen - cult figure!

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Wed, 13 January 2010 19:20
Achtung Panzer wrote on Wed, 13 January 2010 10:08

kissmarci wrote on Wed, 13 January 2010 13:38

And that the big Rasmussen replied in a second? That is really something (serious).
drkiss


rasmussen - cult figure!




Laughing Laughing Just a fan (and player) of the game, guys. Cool
      
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 19 January 2010 10:50
OK, then I may afford one more question: playing a Counter Attack on the Direct from HQ card.
1) is that allowed?
2) if yes, what do I counter?
a) do I have to memorize what my opponent ordered (e.g. 2 Infantry, 1 Armor, 1 Artillery) and then counter that
OR
b) can I counter it with any 4 units ordered.
Could not find answer on P25 of the FAQ.
Thanks so much again.
drkiss
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 19 January 2010 12:47
When using a counterattack card, you are basically using the card that was just played again. Some people actually put the counterattack card in the discard deck under the card just played and put that card on the top - as if you yourself just played that card.

There are a few limitations though:
If your opponent was countering a section card or an infantry assault card, your troops must react or counter in the same section of the board (it actually states this on the card).

Also you cannot counter an AMBUSH.

You do not have to Mirror or Copy the exact type of units ordered as your opponent. In the case you describe, you are countering DFH. So in effect you are playing that card and you would order 4 units anywhere on the board.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=command_9
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 19 January 2010 12:47
You counter the card, so you can choose 4 units of your own.
      
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Excuse the beginner Tue, 19 January 2010 13:16
Thanks, that is clear now.
Best
      
    
Previous Topic:Storing My Armies
Next Topic:Combat cards and Russian Command rules
Goto Forum: