Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Help with the Air Power card
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
BeansHarpoon
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 24
Registered:
May 2009
Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 08:34
My wife and I cant quite figure out the Air Power card. After the attacker selects which adjacent enemy units will be targets are the dice rolled for EACH unit one unit at a time? Or are they all rolled at once. If its all at once how is determined what unit takes the hit(s)and by whom?

[Updated on: Sat, 30 January 2010 08:36]

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 942
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 08:38
You'll have to roll 1 (if Axis) / 2 (if Allied) for each targeted unit. You can also target a single unit.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 08:52
BeansHarpoon wrote on Fri, 29 January 2010 23:34

My wife and I cant quite figure out the Air Power card. After the attacker selects which adjacent enemy units will be targets are the dice rolled for EACH unit one unit at a time? Or are they all rolled at once. If its all at once how is determined what unit takes the hit(s)and by whom?


I had a very similar question when I first started out. You roll the designated number of die for each hex. So if you are the Allies and you targeted 3 hexes, you would roll 2d for the first hex and figure out if you hit (on symbols, Grenades, and Star). Flags can't be ignored when you're rolling for this card so her unit would have to retreat if you rolled any of those (even if she has sandbags or bunkers). After taking away any casualties and retreating with that first hex, you would roll 2d for the next hex and determine damage the same way. Finally you would roll 2d for the last hex and determine damage.

Hope that helps. Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 09:28
JUst a question to follow up this.

If units are lined up like ABC, I take it we have to hit/resolve them in the order ABC or CBA? Is this official or is it just something I have interpeted as a rule?
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 942
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 11:27
The order of attacking is the choice of the attacker.
      
BeansHarpoon
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 24
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 16:34
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 30 January 2010 02:52

BeansHarpoon wrote on Fri, 29 January 2010 23:34

My wife and I cant quite figure out the Air Power card. After the attacker selects which adjacent enemy units will be targets are the dice rolled for EACH unit one unit at a time? Or are they all rolled at once. If its all at once how is determined what unit takes the hit(s)and by whom?


I had a very similar question when I first started out. You roll the designated number of die for each hex. So if you are the Allies and you targeted 3 hexes, you would roll 2d for the first hex and figure out if you hit (on symbols, Grenades, and Star). Flags can't be ignored when you're rolling for this card so her unit would have to retreat if you rolled any of those (even if she has sandbags or bunkers). After taking away any casualties and retreating with that first hex, you would roll 2d for the next hex and determine damage the same way. Finally you would roll 2d for the last hex and determine damage.

Hope that helps. Cool



That's what I wanted to know. Thank you.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sat, 30 January 2010 16:39
I'm not sure if you've seen it yet, but you might find the Official FAQ useful for other questions you have. Smile

It's large, so it might be kind of overwhelming at first (especially if you only own the base game, since it answers questions for every expansion) but you can use the Table of Contents to find your questions. Anyway, it might answer your questions and if it doesn't, please let us know so I can include your question in a future release! Cool
      
may666
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
January 2010
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sun, 31 January 2010 05:08
hi there!.
I am new in this game. And another basic question about APC.
It is not possible to draw in the message, it would be easier. But i will try to explain myself.
When you target 4 units, adjacent means there can be placed like when you do strafe attack with a plane?. Like in a row.
Or there is just one way that four units are able to be attacked. When they are forming like a square?. All together.
Sorry if did not explaint it right. I am from Spain. Rolling Eyes

[Updated on: Sun, 31 January 2010 05:12]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sun, 31 January 2010 08:14
may666 wrote on Sat, 30 January 2010 20:08

hi there!.
I am new in this game. And another basic question about APC.
It is not possible to draw in the message, it would be easier. But i will try to explain myself.
When you target 4 units, adjacent means there can be placed like when you do strafe attack with a plane?. Like in a row.
Or there is just one way that four units are able to be attacked. When they are forming like a square?. All together.
Sorry if did not explaint it right. I am from Spain. Rolling Eyes


You did a fine job explaining. With the Air Power Card, you can attack 4 enemy units that are adjacent to each other (touching on at lest one edge of the hex) in any order or formation. They can be in a line, in a clump, in a squiggle, diagonal, circle, etc. As long as they are next to each other, they can be attacked.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sun, 31 January 2010 08:15
As long as they are adjacent you can attack them, it doesn't matter how they are organized.
And as Nemesszili said, you choose what order to attack them in.

Did that answer your question?
      
may666
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
January 2010
Re:Help with the Air Power card Sun, 31 January 2010 18:19
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 31 January 2010 08:14


touching on at lest one edge of the hex in any order or formation. They can be in a line, in a clump, in a squiggle, diagonal, circle, etc.


Hi there!.
Thanks a lot my General. Clear as water. Also for answering so quick.
The thing is, today I have bought the Air pack. And after reading the rules. what is my surprise when i discover the APC is no longer what it used to be( it is suppossed to be the air representantion on the core battlefield game). Instead I have my very own plane!. Now you are talking.
Surprised
      
    
Previous Topic:a new guy question...
Next Topic:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls
Goto Forum: