Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Macron
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
April 2005
Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 07:52
I'm assuming that the rolls listed at the front of the campaign replace the corresponding rolls in the rules on page 5 (eg, Normandy <star><star> only gives an Air Sortie/Power token and not any elite tank/infantry) [since Unternehmen gives all options for <star><star>]. Is this correct?

For the Normandy Axis <flag><star> roll, does the Axis player get both results (wire and advance) before 'The Breakout' (ie, 'Flanking Caen') or just the advance?

Thanks in advance.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 09:08
Macron wrote on Sun, 31 January 2010 07:52

I'm assuming that the rolls listed at the front of the campaign replace the corresponding rolls in the rules on page 5 (eg, Normandy <star><star> only gives an Air Sortie/Power token and not any elite tank/infantry) [since Unternehmen gives all options for <star><star>]. Is this correct?


Correct, they replace the corresponding rolls on page 5.
On page 16 it says:
Reserve rolls are carried out as explained in the core campaign rules, except for these special rolls.

Macron wrote on Sun, 31 January 2010 07:52


For the Normandy Axis <flag><star> roll, does the Axis player get both results (wire and advance) before 'The Breakout' (ie, 'Flanking Caen') or just the advance?

Thanks in advance.


Just the advance when rolled before "The Breakout".

Stig Morten
      
Macron
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
April 2005
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 17:50
The first time through it didn't sink in... After re-reading the campaign rules in preparation of playing (just got the CB on Friday) I found the following:

Under 'The Campaign Notes' on page 8, it indicates that the Axis player gets his choice of either wire or, in The Breakout scenario, moving one of his units forward.

So it's either-or, no problem there. However, 'The Breakout' is a campaign, not a scenario. So does "before The Breakout" mean before each scenario in the campaign before The Breakout (Flanking Caen), before the first scenario of The Breakout, or before each scenario of The Breakout?
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 18:24
Macron wrote on Sun, 31

So does "before The Breakout" mean before each scenario in the campaign before The Breakout (Flanking Caen), before the first scenario of The Breakout, or before each scenario of The Breakout?


In looking at my original notes on this I see that I had laid out the Special Reserve Rolls as per the campaign (instead of overall as they came to be presented in the book). As a result, the "before the Breakout" came into being when my original intent was to mean more "for the Breakout campaign" (which makes more sense in context as players might never get to the Breakout campaign in the Grand scheme of things...so in theory, it might always be 'before').

As for which scenario it would apply to in the Breakout campaign, it would apply to the scenario in which the Special Reserve Roll was rolled only (remember, the Reserve Roll is done prior to playing a scenario in the campaign).
      
Macron
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
April 2005
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 19:11
Thanks for the response.

So if I'm understanding this correctly, before each battle in the Breakout campaign, if the Axis roll a Flag + Star, they may either place 2 wire or advance one unit 2 hexes; neither use reserve tokens.
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 19:36
Macron wrote on Sun, 31 January 2010 10:11

Thanks for the response.

So if I'm understanding this correctly, before each battle in the Breakout campaign, if the Axis roll a Flag + Star, they may either place 2 wire or advance one unit 2 hexes; neither use reserve tokens.


The original intent was that the Breakout campaign had a completely different Special Reserve Roll compared to the other campaigns. So in essence, if a Flag + Star is rolled during any of the Breakout scenarios the Axis player may only choose the advance one unit option. The 'wire' Special Reserve Roll is for all other campaigns. So it's never an option to choose, the 'special' depends on the campaign.

I've made note of this in the errata.

Hope that helps.
      
Macron
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
April 2005
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 19:46
Okay, got it. Thanks again.

I just got the book a few days ago and I'm really looking forward to playing the campaigns. I think they'll add an 'epic' feel to the individual games.
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Campaign - Special Reserve Rolls Sun, 31 January 2010 19:54
Thanks for bringing it up. Glad to clarify.

Hope you enjoy! Cheers!
      
    
Previous Topic:Help with the Air Power card
Next Topic:Bunkered Artillery
Goto Forum: