Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Counter attacking
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 01:26
Simple question this - if you counter attack when combat rules are in play, do you counter the combat card or just the ordinary command card?
      
PanzerRunes
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 229
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 07:34
Hmmm... Not so simple... Do you counter attack only the Command card (most likely) or the Command card and Combat card.

This probably needs to go to Richard for a ruling.


A "Counter Attack" is the countering of enemy's Command card.

or

A "Counter Attack" is the countering of the enemy's actions (cards played).
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 08:34
I would say you can only counter the command card.

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 09:58
ad79 wrote on Fri, 12 February 2010 07:34

I would say you can only counter the command card.


That would be my view too.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 678
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 11:10
Think so to...
If the opponent play a recon 1 as airpower or, if your opponent play a section with a air sortie you only counter the command card.. Right?

[Updated on: Fri, 12 February 2010 11:10]

      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 11:22
Recon 1 as an air power is a bit tricky, though, as that's a special power, whereas combat cards (mostly) can be played by either side...
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2193
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Counter attacking Fri, 12 February 2010 11:53
Achtung Panzer wrote on Fri, 12 February 2010 03:58

ad79 wrote on Fri, 12 February 2010 07:34

I would say you can only counter the command card.


That would be my view too.




I would agree here too. Combat cards are not like regular Command Cards.

As an above post pointed out, if you play CA after your opponent plays a section card along with an AS card, you only Counterattack the section card.

Most Combat Cards are played with a regular command card. I would think in this case that it would be like countering a section card played with an AS card (the combat card would not be countered - only the card it was played with).
      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Counter attacking Sat, 13 February 2010 01:32
I'd be of the opinion that, just like with Air Sortie cards, you don't counter the Combat Card. But you'd be allowed to play your own Combat Card with your Counter-Attack. You'd also be allowed to play a Combat Card with a Counter-Attack if your opponent didn't play a Combat Card with his own Command Card.
      
    
Previous Topic:Pavlov, Hero of the Soviet Union
Next Topic:Are Air Rules in effect if scenario doesn't mention anything about them?
Goto Forum: