Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Do you count cards when you play Memoir?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 10:39
The question came to me when I soloed Coldstream Hill last night with the Overlord Deck to have more cards when playing Breakthrough scenarios.
It was suggested by Eric to have two decks for Breakthrough to get more interesting and fun card combinations. The overlord deck worked great as two normal decks for me, as I am familiar with the cards. The name of the card and the FG icons tells me how it works with only three sections.

But I found that I had no clue about what cards had been played and not, so for me it was very fun to use the overlord deck. I went through over half the overlord deck and saw TFH and BEL twice(I drew BEL twice in a row for the Allied side), but no Ambush or Air Power, so I would think two decks adds even more replayability to Breakthrough scenarios. Had I used only one deck Ambush and Air Power would have come up for sure.
And just for the record, I like the element of luck in the card draw, as it challenges me to do my best with the cards I've got.

But enough on the subject of using two decks. I recommend it and it got me thinking about counting cards in Memoir.
I normally only count/keep track of the Ambush card and on occasions the Air Power card and sometimes that influence my strategy. I am more reluctant to engage in close assault late in the scenario if the game is at stake and Ambush hasn't come up, and I rarely keep weak units bunched up with other units if I don't have control of the Air Power card.

So my question is
Do you count cards when you play Memoir?
And as an add on question.
Does it influence your strategy in any way?

Stig Morten

      
marnick
Member
Lucky Bastard

User Pages
Posts: 79
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 12:39
In the last couple of battles I found myself counting section cards. I had TFH as soviet. My opponent was hammering my center section. With a handful of heavily wounded units left I realized that the deck was exhausted of center section cards. Playing TFH would have given him new center cards to win the game by clearing up my center.

Instead I kept the card and forced him to play on my flanks. As all my units were still fresh there I managed to collect a few more medals before he finally won.

It ended 6-5. Had I not counted it could have easily been 6-2.

The same goes for air powers, ambushes, counter attacks and barrages obviously. Behind enemy lines needs to be accounted for when it can be used for the capture of the last victory medal in my backline.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 13:46
I confess, I don't count them one-for-one, even though I have created a sheet on my USER PAGE just for that purpose. Command Card Index
However, I do make a mental note of how many cards are played in a section and especially account for the major tactics cards [TFH, AMBUSH, etc.] With the streak of "bad luck" I have had recently, maybe I should be counting more....

Laughing

[Updated on: Sun, 28 March 2010 13:48]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2102
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 14:46
I think keeping track of the biggies -- TFH, Barrage, BEL, Ambush, Armor Assault, Counterattacks, ect is certainly helpful and could very well be decisive in a game.

For example in my last game, I needed to earn 4 medals one of which needed to be a town hex (I could not win w/o capturing the town.

I had only 2 Inf and had no use for a Dig In in my hand but was going to play it and get rid of it. But, I then relaized that both CAs had not be played and if my opponent was able to CA my Dig In, he could make capturing that town very difficult. So I
played a different card to avoid that possibility.

[Updated on: Mon, 29 March 2010 11:32]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 17:37
Great question, Stig.

I agree with Tank Commander that it's valuable to keep track of the biggies. Also, I played some chess as a teenager, so I got into the habit of writing down the moves of my games. I do the same thing in Memoir (though not in 100% complete detail).
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 20:08
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 28 March 2010 17:37

Great question, Stig.

I agree with Tank Commander that it's valuable to keep track of the biggies. Also, I played some chess as a teenager, so I got into the habit of writing down the moves of my games. I do the same thing in Memoir (though not in 100% complete detail).


I agree that keeping track of the biggies is a good thing, and maybe have a general knowledge of section cards played.

In breakthrough scenarios where you need to cross the map, like Breakthrough to Gembloux you got to know where you can make your advance and section cards played will impact this.No good starting up the right flank if that one is drained of cards.
And I found that more than keeping track of BEL, I tend to put units on the medal hex or exit hex, to avoid having my oponent get that free medal.

But maybe I will start to count the cards now that I have started to think about it.

Sam, do you use those notes for anything, or is it just a habit?

Stig Morten
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 22:24
It helps when writing AARs, and I occasionally refer back to them afterward.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 23:13
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 28 March 2010 22:24

It helps when writing AARs, and I occasionally refer back to them afterward.


And here I thought you had an elaborate scheme to study your opponents to make sure you won your ladder matches. Laughing

Stig Morten
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Sun, 28 March 2010 23:35
Come join the ladder and find out. http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/Mem44kingladder/ Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Mon, 29 March 2010 00:30
I was wondering how Sam did it!!!!!!

Now I know.

Laughing Laughing
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1382
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Tue, 30 March 2010 04:59
I just keep track of the biggies, I try to give my forward units cover for when the close assault or armor assault cards come up.

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Tue, 30 March 2010 17:02
ad79 wrote on Sun, 28 March 2010 19:08

In breakthrough scenarios where you need to cross the map, like Breakthrough to Gembloux you got to know where you can make your advance and section cards played will impact this.No good starting up the right flank if that one is drained of cards.


Interesting then that DoW play-tested the new Breakthrough scenarios with a double deck. I haven't done this before but looking forward to giving it a try when the new boards & scenarios arrive! Very Happy

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Tue, 30 March 2010 17:53
Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 08:02

Interesting then that DoW play-tested the new Breakthrough scenarios with a double deck. I haven't done this before but looking forward to giving it a try when the new boards & scenarios arrive! Very Happy


It'll sure make the idea of counting cards a lot harder! Razz
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 09:31
Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 16:02



Interesting then that DoW play-tested the new Breakthrough scenarios with a double deck. I haven't done this before but looking forward to giving it a try when the new boards & scenarios arrive! Very Happy




Interesting idea -although once again, bit tricky for people without an extra base game - do people reckon it would work using the Overlord deck?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 10:10
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Wed, 31 March 2010 09:31

Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 16:02



Interesting then that DoW play-tested the new Breakthrough scenarios with a double deck. I haven't done this before but looking forward to giving it a try when the new boards & scenarios arrive! Very Happy




Interesting idea -although once again, bit tricky for people without an extra base game - do people reckon it would work using the Overlord deck?


As noted in the OP for this thread, I Soloed Battle for Coldstream Hill with the Overlord deck.
If you know the cards by name, it should be no problem.
Section cards are easy. FG image show the section and the name tells you how many units you can order. Recon, probe, Attack and Assault are very easy.
General Advance, Pincer Move and Recon-In Force are those that are different, but if you know those cards it should work.
The Tactics cards require you to be familiar with the text on the origianl cards for most of them, but it should be easy for players with experience.

But I might order the replacement deck for the original cards to help out those of my opponents that isn't as familiar with the cards as I am.

I might even order two decks to avoid having to sort them out for regular scenarios.

Does the replacements decks available in the store include the correct text for Behind Enemy Lines?

Stig Morten
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 10:15
Hi Stig
Re: ordering a new deck. That's what I am thinking of doing.

I don't believe that the revised BEL text is included in the standard deck yet.

[Updated on: Wed, 31 March 2010 10:16]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 11:20
Achtung Panzer wrote on Wed, 31 March 2010 10:15

Hi Stig
Re: ordering a new deck. That's what I am thinking of doing.

I don't believe that the revised BEL text is included in the standard deck yet.



My basegame bought last year, included the revised text. It also included the wooden dice with the engraved icons.

And I think that was printed before the Air Pack if i'm not mistaken, so I hope the Command card deck with matching Air Sortie cards you can buy in the store includes the Revised text.

Stig morten

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1067
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 12:25
ad79 wrote on Wed, 31 March 2010 10:20

Achtung Panzer wrote on Wed, 31 March 2010 10:15

Hi Stig
Re: ordering a new deck. That's what I am thinking of doing.

I don't believe that the revised BEL text is included in the standard deck yet.



My basegame bought last year, included the revised text. It also included the wooden dice with the engraved icons.


First time I've heard about these being available! Shocked

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 14:09
Dear Stig
I purchased a new set of Command Cards with the Air Sorties when they first came out in December 2007. Much to my disappointment, the BEL card in the "new" deck was the same misprint as the original deck.
After DOW came out with the news of the misprint error and once this information went in to the FAQ, I thought that certainly they will have fixed this by now, so in March 2009, I purchased a second "new" set of command cards. Guess what, this deck also had the misprint BEL card.
When I purchased the SWORD OF STALINGRAD from DOW in December of 2009 it actually came with (1) Revised BEL card.
Quote:

This Battle Map set also includes 2 Standard scenarios playable on a regular Memoir '44 board - Mamayev Kurgan and Pavlov, Hero of the Soviet Union; and Summary cards for the previously published Battle Maps and Mediterranean Theater. Also includes a revised Behind Enemy Lines Command card.

So I thought, if they are printing this card to give out, maybe they will replace my bad cards.
I wrote to DOW:
Quote:

> Problem Description
> I have purchased 3 copies of Memoir 44 basegame. I have purchased 2 new decks of command cards. All 5 of my purchased command card decks have the errant BEL card.
I do not think it too much to ask for 5 replacement BEL cards (as you now make
them available in the Sword of Stalingrad expansion). Any assistance you can give
would be appreciated.


There sole response to me:
Quote:

Unfortunately, the only source of the corrected card is in the Stalingrad map
expansion soon to be released. I do not have any extras on hand.

Best Regards,

Marilyn Butler
Customer Service
Days of Wonder
Come out and play!


So not a satisfactory response.
I know DOW is a great bunch of folks and are doing the best they can to make the customer happy. But in this case, they dropped the ball.

So my caveat to you is get a promise from them in advance if you are purchasing the "new" command deck.

As Forest Gump said ".... you never know what you are going to get!"
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 14:47
Thanks for the answer, Stevens.

I might just have to send them a message, now that they are recommending that we use two decks for breakhtrough scenarios.

Does the BEL from Sword of Stalingrad match the deck or does it stand out?

Stig Morten
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 15:13
My eyes are not the best, but my particular copy may only have a slight color variation. I know that no matter how hard they try, it is hard for anybody to match color tones with already used decks - so I think they have done a good job on this card.
However, if you are playing face to face, your eagle-eyed opponent may spot it.
Laughing

Since most of my cards are used, I just leave the "original" BEL card in play as I and others already know the actual rule.

Forgive me for my rant on DOW before. I guess I was just disappointed with the short answer, rather than a conversation that might say:

"Although we are unable to assist you now because of production issues. Let's get back with you later and see what we can do as a compromise solution to your problem".

I am in customer service daily and I certainly understand their plight of not being able to expend the resources to make everything right. So I should be more understanding of this. I support their effort to produce a quality product and I have not continued to buy direct. In fact, I have already ordered the Breakthrough Map extension.
All probably more than you wanted to know, but I needed to give them some kudos for the 99% positive support I get from DOW.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 15:32
Sorry to hear you haven't been able to get an updated copy of the BEL card. Personally, I can't remember the last time I read the text from any of the Tactic Cards! Since I know what they all do, I just glance at the title and move on...though when I play with someone who isn't as familiar with the rules I know they read every card. Razz I have yet to meet an opponent who was upset when I explained the modified rules for the BEL card! Rolling Eyes
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 17:21
The reality Jesse, is that it just doesn't matter in the big scheme of things. It is very petty of me to have brought it up. Thanks for seeing the bigger picture.

[Updated on: Wed, 31 March 2010 18:34]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Do you count cards when you play Memoir? Wed, 31 March 2010 22:29
stevens wrote on Wed, 31 March 2010 08:21

The reality Jesse, is that it just doesn't matter in the big scheme of things. It is very petty of me to have brought it up. Thanks for seeing the bigger picture.


I'm always glad to help in any way I can. Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Double Back
Next Topic:Scenario Odds / Balanced Scenarios
Goto Forum: