Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Barbarossa - some questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Barbarossa - some questions Sun, 04 April 2010 23:10
So, Easter is here, which means enough time off work for a new campaign. Decided on barbarossa.

Already a few questions tho...

Cavalry - are represented by infantry figures- but obviously are not infantry (clue is in the horses) - can they then be ordered with a "move out" or an "infantry assault" card (FAQ is curiously quiet on the cavalry.)

The other puzzler was with the air rules and the Commissar chip - as far as I can make out, it gets put face up at the side as normal, and the FAQs say that it can be played together with a card already under the chip, or else with a recon 1 directly from the hand. Can it be played on its own though? if it can, then the playing of a recon 1 to accompany it would seem unnecessary, if not, then it would seem massively limiting - do you put it face-up under the chip if you want to play it without a section card?

anyone any thoughts?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 00:02
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Sun, 04 April 2010 14:10

So, Easter is here, which means enough time off work for a new campaign. Decided on barbarossa.

Already a few questions tho...

Cavalry - are represented by infantry figures- but obviously are not infantry (clue is in the horses) - can they then be ordered with a "move out" or an "infantry assault" card (FAQ is curiously quiet on the cavalry.)


It's silent on the matter because there haven't been any questions yet that required additional help. I'm afraid your question isn't going to make it into the next version of the FAQ either...Razz Page 6 of the Eastern Front rule book explains that Cavalry are ordered just like normal Infantry units. So they can be ordered by both of the cards you mentioned.

Quote:

The other puzzler was with the air rules and the Commissar chip - as far as I can make out, it gets put face up at the side as normal, and the FAQs say that it can be played together with a card already under the chip, or else with a recon 1 directly from the hand. Can it be played on its own though? if it can, then the playing of a recon 1 to accompany it would seem unnecessary, if not, then it would seem massively limiting - do you put it face-up under the chip if you want to play it without a section card?


It runs in my mind that this is answered, but I would have to find where. I'll look into it when I have more time. Have fun! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 00:35
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Sun, 04 April 2010 23:10

The other puzzler was with the air rules and the Commissar chip - as far as I can make out, it gets put face up at the side as normal, and the FAQs say that it can be played together with a card already under the chip, or else with a recon 1 directly from the hand. Can it be played on its own though? if it can, then the playing of a recon 1 to accompany it would seem unnecessary, if not, then it would seem massively limiting - do you put it face-up under the chip if you want to play it without a section card?

anyone any thoughts?


For standard scenarios it is answered in the FAQ on page 27 under the Air Rules chapter.

I quote:
Q. Can the Air Sortie card be played on its own, in lieu of the pre-programmed card when using Russian Command rules? i.e.
the pre-programmed card remains in place this turn, as it does if a Recon 1 card is played from the hand.
A. Yes. Note: Air Sortie equivalents (the Air Power card and Recon 1 cards when Air Strikes are available) must be played
from the Commissar Chip like normal cards.



For Overlord scenarios it is answered on the Combat Card rules sheet that came with Sword of Stalingrad. (Also downloadable here on Daysofwonder.com)

I quote:

Unlike in a standard Eastern Front scenario, in Overlord mode, Recon 1 cards cannot be played directly from a Soviet Commander-in-Chief's hand. Instead, they are placed under the Commissar
chip.
The Air Sortie (if Air rules are in effect) and Counter-Attack cards are exceptions; they may be played as normal, Air Sortie card visible on the table, and Counter-Attack card directly from
the Soviet Commander-in-Chief's hand, but only if playing these card(s) AND the Command cards already placed under the Commissar chip during the prior turn does not exceed the maximum of 3 Command cards played during a turn!

The Ambush card is an exception as well: it may be given to a Field General and played immediately even if there are already 3 cards under the commissar chip (since the Ambush card is not
played during your turn).
Air Sortie equivalent cards, such as Air Power if Air rules are in effect, and Counter-Attack cards can also be placed and played from under the Commissar chip, if the Soviet Commander-in-
Chief wishes to, but the limit of 3 Command cards placed under the chip and 3 Command cards maximum being played during the turn must still be respected.


That should answer your question about the air sortie.

Stig Morten
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 00:38
Hey Migthy Jim,
You are probably making allusion to the AIR SORTIE card which is always placed face-up next to your other cards.

Yes, you may play it alone, however should you do so, your opponent may play a COUNTER-ATTACK card and launch his own Air attack on the ensuing turn.

By playing the AIR SORTIE with the RECON-1 card, your opponent now may only counter the RECON-1 card, not the AIR SORTIE.
[One notable exceoption would be if you were playing against the Germans, who in their particular special rules could use a RECON-1 as an AIR SORTIE in which case you would draw no advantage from that 2-card play.]
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 00:50
stevens wrote on Sun, 04 April 2010 15:38


[One notable exceoption would be if you were playing against the Germans, who in their particular special rules could use a RECON-1 as an AIR SORTIE in which case you would draw no advantage from that 2-card play.]


Good point, Stevens! I assume you're talking about when the Blitz rules are in effect... Smile
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 01:00
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 04 April 2010 23:02

Page 6 of the Eastern Front rule book explains that Cavalry are ordered just like normal Infantry units. So they can be ordered by both of the cards you mentioned.




Ahah! the Eastern Front Rules- never thought to look there - i just used the "troops" card, then jumped straight to the FAQs.

where would we be without the discussion forums...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Barbarossa - some questions Mon, 05 April 2010 01:46
I've made that mistake before. Now my order of research when a question comes up is:
1) Reference Card.
2) Rule Book where the rule in question was first introduced.
3) FAQ.
4) Forum.

Any more, I rarely reach step 4.

Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Sun, 04 April 2010 16:00


where would we be without the discussion forums...


We would probably all be having fun playing Memoir '44 but we would each be using slightly different rules! Very Happy It would be crazy at conventions because all of us would be convinced that our interpretation was correct! Confused Laughing

[Updated on: Mon, 05 April 2010 01:47]

      
    
Previous Topic:blitz rules got it backwards
Next Topic:Early thoughts on some of the "newer" expansions
Goto Forum: