Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Clarification of Cardplay in OVERLORD
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Clarification of Cardplay in OVERLORD Fri, 09 April 2010 18:14
I reread the OVERLORD rules last night and had a different take on cardplay then I have had before. Because of this, I thought it might be good to clarify how cardplay works, especially in the area of card limits.

Let's say that the Allies get 8 cards and the Axis get 8 cards.
On the first turn the Allies play 3 section cards and because 2 is the card limit for drawing afterwards (unless a RECON-1 card is played) they draw their 2 cards and now have a total of 7 cards in their hand.

Axis turn. The Axis player decides to play 2 cards, one tactic card and one RECON-1 card. At the conclusion of his turn, according to the rules, he may draw 3 cards.

Which is the correct play:

A. He may actually draw three (3) cards and then discard the 1 extra card so as not to exceed his hand limit of 8 cards.

B. Since he already has 6 cards in his hand, he may only draw a total of 2 cards and keep both.

How do you play it?

One further example.
The Allies have 8 cards in their hand and only play a single RECON-1 card. May he now draw 3 cards and discard 2 extra cards or may he only draw 1 card?

[Updated on: Fri, 09 April 2010 18:17]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7072
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Clarification of Cardplay in OVERLORD Fri, 09 April 2010 19:21
I don't have the Overlord Deck in front of me, so I can't check what the Recon 1 card says for Overlord games, but I think you're combining the two different versions of this card.

In normal games, Recon 1 allows the player to choose 1 extra card and select the most useful option. In Overlord, Recon 1 allows the Commander in Chief to draw 3 cards but he must keep them all (unless it would be over the limit).

My understanding is that if you only need 2 cards and playing a Recon 1 card would put you over that limit, you only get to draw 2...in Overlord you don't get to draw more than you can hold. But I can see the other side and I can see how this would be confusing. I'd have to look more closely at the rules to be sure. Smile
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Clarification of Cardplay in OVERLORD Fri, 09 April 2010 19:44
I answered a question just like it on bgg.com a few days ago.

You can never draw more cards than your maximum hand size.

It is actually written very clear in the old version of the Overlord rules, and not as clear in the new version, so I can see why you want it clarified.

Stig Morten

Rules from both the new and old version qouted below.

From the Operation Overlord rules page 5:
When drawing new cards, the Commander-in-Chief can never hold more Command cards than allowed by the scenario's briefing notes or Battle Map's indications.

You can as this rule says, never hold more than the max hand size, so if drawing 3 cards after Recon 1 would bring you above that limit, you only draw enough cards to reach the limit.
You never draw cards to bring you above the limit and discard down.

The original Overlord rules released before the Overlord deck was released, says this about Recon 1.

If drawing three cards would give the Commander-in-Chief more cards in hand than allowed per the scenario's briefing, reduce the number of crads drawn accordingly.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Clarification of Cardplay in OVERLORD Fri, 09 April 2010 20:49
Thanks Stig,
I thought the original rules were clearer about card distribution. I didn't know if the "newer" rules actually changed the card play or just failed to clarify them as clearly as the original.
      
    
Previous Topic:Easter campaign
Next Topic:Vassal Overlord, this Saturday, April 10
Goto Forum: