Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Breakthrough-Kit Questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Breakthrough-Kit Questions Fri, 30 April 2010 22:30
Well, starting with the first questions Rolling Eyes

Scenario 6 - Breakthrough at Mortain:
How many figures have the supply truck. There are no
notices about it in the scenario notes.


      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3098
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 00:25
Hey Bayernkini,
The rest of us are just jealous because you already get to ask questions while we still wait to see the new boards!!!
Confused

[Updated on: Sat, 01 May 2010 00:26]

      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 09:18
Hello Paul, but in this way the scenario creators can
be answer some unclear notes/rules just in time, before you
and all other start there great Breakthrough games too Smile

And after first quick view about all scenarios tells me:
THANKS DOW, another GREAT EXPANSION Razz

[Updated on: Sat, 01 May 2010 09:18]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 10:27
Maybe you can choose how many trucks you want to have. Very Happy

Isn't there a number on the unit on the map? That's the way it's done on Hedgerow Hell. (If this was what you meant by scenario notes, ignore this comment)

I am waiting for my kit. Shipped from England on Thursday.

Stig Morten
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 11:25
Quote:

Isn't there a number on the unit on the map?

No, therefore i ask Rolling Eyes
The troopcard refers only to the scenario-notes, about the
number of figures, but there is notice about it Rolling Eyes
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 12:40
Another questions:
Scenario 4- Breakthrough to the beach:
The notes speaking about only 4 SF british-units, but there are
5 to see (one with a french badget). Is this french unit also a SF or a missprint?


      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 12:56
No its a unit that speaks french but is brittisch
Mei biensuur Laughing
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 14:23
Can you give us a short overwiev of the scenarios included and which front they are from?

Stig Morten
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3098
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 15:04
See what you have started Michael:
Now you are the resident expert on BREAKTHROUGH.

Thanks for getting this thread started so we can all post our questions here and Jesse can start the NEW BREAKTHROUGH FAQ.
Laughing

PS
Thanks for all your hard work which has made it possible to play and enjoy Breakthrough on Vassal. Smile Smile

[Updated on: Sat, 01 May 2010 15:35]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 01 May 2010 22:06
Bayernkini wrote on Fri, 30 April 2010 13:30

Well, starting with the first questions Rolling Eyes

Scenario 6 - Breakthrough at Mortain:
How many figures have the supply truck. There are no
notices about it in the scenario notes.


Eric said that the trucks in Breakthrough at Mortain should have 3 figures each. The little number is missing from the units, sorry about that. Cool
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sun, 02 May 2010 10:15
So there's a scenario requiring supply trucks?

what other scenarios are there requiring bits and pieces from specific expansions? (stupid Post office not working Sundays or bank holidays...)

Hope I'm not going to get it and find there's too many scenarios i'm missing out on...
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sun, 02 May 2010 10:54
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Sun, 02 May 2010 09:15

So there's a scenario requiring supply trucks?

what other scenarios are there requiring bits and pieces from specific expansions? Hope I'm not going to get it and find there's too many scenarios i'm missing out on...


I'm very happy as previously the trucks only appeared in one official scenario and I think they're a great idea. Very Happy

You could use some kind of token / chit as the truck rules are freely available.
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 12:53
Another question:
Scenario 15 - Manado Landings:
What is the meaning of the 5 hexes marked with a "battlestar" Rolling Eyes

      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 12:59
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 02 May 2010 09:54



I'm very happy as previously the trucks only appeared in one official scenario and I think they're a great idea. Very Happy

You could use some kind of token / chit as the truck rules are freely available.



Indeed - shame that Hedgerow Hell is out of print, but I'm sure some kind of convincing miniature/ piece of cardboard can be found...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 14:53
Bayernkini wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 03:53

Another question:
Scenario 15 - Manado Landings:
What is the meaning of the 5 hexes marked with a "battlestar" Rolling Eyes


One sentence was left out of the special rules section. The paragraph about para-dropping units onto the board should have read,
Quote:

"Once in full daylight, as long as the Axis player has enough figures to form full airborne units, he may attempt to airdrop units on hexes marked with a battle star each turn (Actions 20 - Paradrop). Each paradrop requires an order (for example, with an "Attack" card, the Axis player may airdrop 3 units, or move 2 ground units and airdrop 1 unit, etc.). Each time a unit successfully drops on one of these hexes, remove the corresponding battle star (to keep track of the total number of units dropped).


The bold text is missing from the book. Enjoy! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 15:03
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 14:53

Bayernkini wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 03:53

Another question:
Scenario 15 - Manado Landings:
What is the meaning of the 5 hexes marked with a "battlestar" Rolling Eyes


One sentence was left out of the special rules section. The paragraph about para-dropping units onto the board should have read,
Quote:

"Once in full daylight, as long as the Axis player has enough figures to form full airborne units, he may attempt to airdrop units on hexes marked with a battle star each turn (Actions 20 - Paradrop). Each paradrop requires an order (for example, with an "Attack" card, the Axis player may airdrop 3 units, or move 2 ground units and airdrop 1 unit, etc.). Each time a unit successfully drops on one of these hexes, remove the corresponding battle star (to keep track of the total number of units dropped).


The bold text is missing from the book. Enjoy! Cool


So 1 unit per battle star for a total of 5 possible units?

Stig morten
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 15:12
Confused
So the dropped unites must exact land on one of this marked hexes? And if not, they can try it next turns up to the limit of 5?

And if units landed on one of this hexes, the remaining units must land on the other still marked hexes?

[Updated on: Mon, 03 May 2010 15:12]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 15:26
I believe you hold a figure over a Star Token, drop it, and remove the corresponding Token. You will do 5 airdrops and remove 5 tokens...but no, they don't have to land on the Token. You do have to hold your hand over the tokens though...instead of dropping your paratroopers over the beach or something.

These questions and many others are already in the FAQ and will be available with the next update.

Stig, does this mean your copy arrived? Very Happy

[Updated on: Mon, 03 May 2010 15:27]

      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 17:42
And still another question:
Scenario 4 - Breakthrough the beach:

- The Churchill AVRE tanks have also the standard flamethrower rule?
- They must OR can remove mines when entering a minefield with OR without battle?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 18:08
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 15:26

I believe you hold a figure over a Star Token, drop it, and remove the corresponding Token. You will do 5 airdrops and remove 5 tokens...but no, they don't have to land on the Token. You do have to hold your hand over the tokens though...instead of dropping your paratroopers over the beach or something.

These questions and many others are already in the FAQ and will be available with the next update.

Stig, does this mean your copy arrived? Very Happy



No, my copy hasn't arrived. Probably by the end of the week. Hopefully before the weekend.

Just asking questions to clarify things here.
It says: each time a unit successfully drop on these hexes, remove the corresponding battle star.

That means that only successful drops will be counted towards the 5 possible units, right?
And with an Assault card, you can attempt all 5 drops in 1 turn, right?

Stig Morten
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Mon, 03 May 2010 18:28
ad79 wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 09:08

Just asking questions to clarify things here.
It says: each time a unit successfully drop on these hexes, remove the corresponding battle star.

That means that only successful drops will be counted towards the 5 possible units, right?


I'm afraid this question is above my pay-scale. Razz The only information I have is the missing sentence that I provided, so we'll have to wait for jdrommel to weigh in, or for someone from DoW to explain how this works.

I would guess that like normal airdrops, if a unit doesn't fall safely, you don't get to try again...they just didn't make it!

ad79 wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 09:08

And with an Assault card, you can attempt all 5 drops in 1 turn, right?


Correct. As long as all the Stars are in the same section...which I can't remember off the top of my head and I don't have the scenario with me.
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Tue, 04 May 2010 16:28
Ok, next question.
Scenario 8 - Noville to Foy:

Quote:

The three sets of of road hexes connecting Noville, Foy and Recogne are each worth a single Temporary Medal Objective for the Axis Player. If the Axis player occupies one or more hexes in any of these sets at the start of his turn, he scores one Temporary Medal. Only one medal is gained for each set, regardless of the number of road hexes held there.


So i can get 3 medals, 1 for each set?

Count the three named roadcrosses also to this sets or only the road between the crosses.
And if they count, so they can only count to one set?
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Tue, 04 May 2010 20:23
Arrived this afternoon - hurrah!

No.4 - breakthrough to the beach I would say the badge on teh French unit is just to show that it is French, so not special forces - there's certainly nothing to suggest it is, so i'll assume that until further notice.

As far as the flamethrower tanks go, the badge just seems to be being used as a means of distinguishing the units - after all, I've never ehard of a flying dustbin being equipped with flamethrowers- it was just a tank full of engineers. I'd assume then that it plays as a standard tank, except when entering a minefield, in which case it's battle action will be to remove the mines (being a tank, it doesn't have the engineers issue of how far it moved affecting eligibility to battle.)

Obviously, those are just my opinions, but they seem t fit the scenario text and the history.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Tue, 04 May 2010 22:37
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 19:23

Arrived this afternoon - hurrah!


Mine did too, but nobody in the house to receive it Humph! Sad
      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
FFM44 Bureau

User Pages
Posts: 770
Registered:
March 2006
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Tue, 04 May 2010 23:06
Hello Mighty Jim 83,

Just a word concerning the French unit landing at Sword : it's a commando unit known as "Commando Kieffer" (1st BFM) and part of Commando N°4, 1st Special Service Brigade under the command of Lord Lovat. Use "Specialized Unit" rules for this unit too.

Jdrommel.
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 00:10
jdrommel wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 22:06

Hello Mighty Jim 83,

Just a word concerning the French unit landing at Sword : it's a commando unit known as "Commando Kieffer" (1st BFM) and part of Commando N°4, 1st Special Service Brigade under the command of Lord Lovat. Use "Specialized Unit" rules for this unit too.

Jdrommel.


Fair enuf- I'm well and truly outranked on that one.

Don't have a second base game yet anyway, so can't play that one yet.

Thanks for the clarification!.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 06:53
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 15:10

jdrommel wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 22:06

Hello Mighty Jim 83,

Just a word concerning the French unit landing at Sword : it's a commando unit known as "Commando Kieffer" (1st BFM) and part of Commando N°4, 1st Special Service Brigade under the command of Lord Lovat. Use "Specialized Unit" rules for this unit too.

Jdrommel.


Fair enuf- I'm well and truly outranked on that one.

Don't have a second base game yet anyway, so can't play that one yet.

Thanks for the clarification!.


You can look at the background of the unit to find this information as well. If the background has an arch over the unit (Infantry or Armor) it means the unit is elite. If the background is just square, it indicates that the unit is normal.

I can see why that French unit was a little confusing, since it wasn't mentioned in the Special Rules section. Thanks for the clarification, Jdrommel. Cool
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 946
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 13:29
Are Tigers used in any of these scenarios?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 15:00
nemesszili wrote on Wed, 05 May 2010 04:29

Are Tigers used in any of these scenarios?


Yes, Tigers are used in a few different scenarios! Cool
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 946
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 17:34
More precisely? Very Happy (I'm sure of Prokhorovka, I even played that one when it was online)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 18:29
nemesszili wrote on Wed, 05 May 2010 08:34

More precisely? Very Happy (I'm sure of Prokhorovka, I even played that one when it was online)


Two scenarios use Tiger Tanks. I don't have the booklet in front of me to know which scenarios use Tigers, sorry. Smile
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 18:32
Quote:

Just a word concerning the French unit landing at Sword : it's a commando unit known as "Commando Kieffer" (1st BFM) and part of Commando N°4, 1st Special Service Brigade under the command of Lord Lovat. Use "Specialized Unit" rules for this unit too.


Ok, then another question to this French SF unit.

Quote:

Pegasus Bridge, over the Orne canal, is a Permanent Medal Objective for the British Special Forces starting on the ocean baseline


Can this French SF also occupy the Orne Bridge to get the medal or only the 3 British SF units (as written in notes)

Rolling Eyes
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 19:03
Bayernkini wrote on Wed, 05 May 2010 17:32

Quote:

Just a word concerning the French unit landing at Sword : it's a commando unit known as "Commando Kieffer" (1st BFM) and part of Commando N°4, 1st Special Service Brigade under the command of Lord Lovat. Use "Specialized Unit" rules for this unit too.


Ok, then another question to this French SF unit.

Quote:

Pegasus Bridge, over the Orne canal, is a Permanent Medal Objective for the British Special Forces starting on the ocean baseline


Can this French SF also occupy the Orne Bridge to get the medal or only the 3 British SF units (as written in notes) Rolling Eyes


I would read "British" as "Allied" in this instance.

[Updated on: Wed, 05 May 2010 19:03]

      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Wed, 05 May 2010 21:10
Next Question:
Scenario 7 - The Surrender of Elsters Column:

Quote:

The Allied player alone is able to conduct Air Strikes (Artions 3 - Air Strikes).

The "Air Power" card cannot be played by the Allied player. If he draws it or receives it at game start,
he must immediately discard it and draw a new one.


Allies can use Airstrikes but no Airpower card...
Is this correct or an missprint
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Thu, 06 May 2010 08:52
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 05 May 2010 17:29

nemesszili wrote on Wed, 05 May 2010 08:34

More precisely? Very Happy (I'm sure of Prokhorovka, I even played that one when it was online)


Two scenarios use Tiger Tanks. I don't have the booklet in front of me to know which scenarios use Tigers, sorry. Smile


Scenario No.8 - Noville to Foy, also has a few Tigers (looks like 3 at a quick glance)
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Thu, 06 May 2010 21:26
Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 21:37

Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 19:23

Arrived this afternoon - hurrah!


Mine did too, but nobody in the house to receive it Humph! Sad



The Kit has now safely arrived. Was it worth the wait? You bet! Another class expansion from DoW! Many thanks to all involved Very Happy

Off to a wargames / boardgames event on Saturday, book-ended by some serious Breakthrough Memoir-a-thon!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Thu, 06 May 2010 21:42
Nice!! Have fun. It sounds like a lot of Memoir is in your future and I envy you. Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 08 May 2010 23:21
Bayernkini wrote on Mon, 03 May 2010 08:42

And still another question:
Scenario 4 - Breakthrough the beach:

- The Churchill AVRE tanks have also the standard flamethrower rule?
- They must OR can remove mines when entering a minefield with OR without battle?


The Special Rules section says,

Quote:

Place a badge on the two flame thrower tank units. These tanks are Churchill AVRE and behave like Combat Engineers when entering minefields (Troops 4 - Combat Engineers).


Because it says, "the two flame thrower tank units" it sounds like they are flame thrower tanks that can also remove mines. I will find out for sure and include this in the FAQ.

To answer your second question, the rules say they behave like Combat Engineers when entering minefields...so they can move 2 hexes (because they are limited by the beach hexes) and still remove minefield tokens. If they can battle (which they always can), they have to remove the mines instead of attacking. So if they enter a hex with mines, they cannot battle. Note: They have to remove minefield tokens that are "0" and still can't battle.

I hope that helps.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sat, 08 May 2010 23:28
Bayernkini wrote on Tue, 04 May 2010 07:28

Ok, next question.
Scenario 8 - Noville to Foy:

Quote:

The three sets of of road hexes connecting Noville, Foy and Recogne are each worth a single Temporary Medal Objective for the Axis Player. If the Axis player occupies one or more hexes in any of these sets at the start of his turn, he scores one Temporary Medal. Only one medal is gained for each set, regardless of the number of road hexes held there.


So i can get 3 medals, 1 for each set?

Count the three named roadcrosses also to this sets or only the road between the crosses.
And if they count, so they can only count to one set?


Yes, you can get a total of 3 medals from the roads (1 from each set that the Axis player controls).

The question about the crossroads is another question that I will check on and include in the FAQ. I believe the crossroad hexes do not count toward the medals...but I could be wrong.

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Breakthrough-Kit Questions Sun, 09 May 2010 09:19
I got my Breakthrough Kit yesterday and it naturally had a crushed corner due to the mailman squeezing it into a mailbox just a little too small. Complaint filed to postal service.
Image on my user page: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/378435/m44/gallery

I played Breakthrough to Mortain and must say it was an excellent scenario, but we encountered a rules question I don't think is cowered by the FAQ.

What happens if the Germans have to retreat THROUGH one of the permanent medal hexes?
Will the Germans get the medal?

My initial thought would be no, but who knows.

In the end my oponent chose another path for his retreat so we didn't have to agree on an answer, but the question is still there.

      
Pages (3): [1  2  3  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:What to see in NYC
Next Topic:Air Power and straffing
Goto Forum: