Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Pirate's Cove - English » Cacafeugo question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
RabidRoadkill
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
April 2006
Cacafeugo question Fri, 05 January 2007 23:00
We were playing a game the other night and a weird thing happened. On turn 11 all 4 of us choose outer islands, I went for Captain Hook. I took him down and the next pirate was the Cacafeugo. So on turn 12 there were 4 of us and the Cacafeugo at Treasure Island.

Does this supercede the main rules and the 4 of us would fight at Treasure Island (therefore all but one would not get to bury treasure) or should we just split the fame generated by it?

[Updated on: Fri, 05 January 2007 23:01]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Sat, 06 January 2007 08:12
You don't fight amongst yourselves at Treasure Island (that is not allowed). However, you all 4 fight against the Legendary Pirate. See Page 7.
      
RabidRoadkill
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Sun, 14 January 2007 18:23
Right, we understand that, but it is the Cacafeugo. Which is the one pirate you don't actually fight, you fight each other to see who gets the fame.

So which rule overrides the other?

PS. GO COLTS =)

[Updated on: Sun, 14 January 2007 18:23]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Sun, 14 January 2007 20:19
You're right! That's what I get for answering a question to a game I haven't played in a while.

Looking at it all again, i would have to say that you can't fight and get the fame points from the Cacafuego. I know of nothing that overrules the rule that you can't fight at Treasure Island. So I would say that no one can attack each other and the Fame points that the Cacafuego gives you are not available on Turn 12.
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Cacafeugo question Tue, 16 January 2007 18:28
ColtsFan76 schrieb am Sun, 14 January 2007 20:19

You're right! That's what I get for answering a question to a game I haven't played in a while.

Looking at it all again, i would have to say that you can't fight and get the fame points from the Cacafuego. I know of nothing that overrules the rule that you can't fight at Treasure Island. So I would say that no one can attack each other and the Fame points that the Cacafuego gives you are not available on Turn 12.


I agree, you can't fight against each other at Treasure Island, this rule can't be broken. So I think you can choose how you to regulate this situation... Noone get's the fame points from Cacafuego - as suggested - or (my advice) you split up the points on all present pirates without fighting.

That's a slight difference... In the first variant nobody gains points, in the second variant some pirates do (in particular these who are at Treasure Island and split up the booty of the Cacafuego) and some do not (those who are at other islands). That's analog to the rule, that if a Legendary Pirate is sunk, the fame value indicated on its reference card is immediately split among all players present...
Smile
      
foxybro1
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Cacafeugo question Sun, 28 December 2008 19:32
you could still fight for the fame points and the player that wins gets the points but the losers would not be sent to pirates cove and would be aloud to bury their treasure
      
Stroika
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Cacafeugo question Tue, 10 March 2009 19:04
This happened to us last night, we decided that the fastest ship got there first and took the Cacafuego! If there is a tie, maybe roll or something...
      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 160
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Cacafeugo question Tue, 10 March 2009 21:05
Interesting.
I assume you agreed this rule whilst you were playing.
Why did the players that didn't have the fastest ship agree to this they must have known it would just give the points away.

Unless we agreed a house rule beforehand I can't imagine the people I play with agreeing to it

L8R's
T
      
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Cacafeugo question Sat, 28 March 2009 10:23
Finally we "lost virginity" and opened the box yesterday evening. We could not wait until Easter. And we played our very first game. And we had this trouble with being more pirates + the Cacafuego on Treasure Island. And what we did is that each of us (2 in fact) rolled a dice and both got fame points. It is less of a competitive solution (the adversary was my son of 5 years, so I avoid being a tough guy) but it may align with the general rule that no one knows how much treasure Caca exactly carries. Maybe enough for 2 pirates who are so peaceful on Treasure Island...
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Cacafeugo question Fri, 19 June 2009 19:32
Ok heres an idea for maybe a house rule about the The Cacafuego and a loose bit of reasoning behind it.

Nuestra Señora de la Concepción (Our Lady of the (Immaculate) Conception) was the real name of the ship but was nicknamed The Cacafuego due to its woeful Cannon numbers. It was a massive cargo ship essentially so ...

Whilst the Ship is at Treasure island it Cannot be attacked by any players as it would not be worth while. The ship is restocking with "Treasures" whilst at anchor so not much fame to be had sinking an empty ship! Then once fully laden will head off again on its merry way ready for the players to attack on mass.

Other players can still goto Treasure island whilst the ship is at anchor but no combat can take place

Well hope it helps

[Updated on: Fri, 19 June 2009 19:34]

      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 160
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Cacafeugo question Mon, 22 June 2009 16:47
Good house rule with sensible reasoning behind it

L8R's
T
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1344
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Tue, 20 July 2010 04:45
Newbie questions about how fighting Cacafeugo works.
1. which player do I fight?
2. Does this mean they don't get to go to the island of their choice, but must go to the island where Cacafeugo is to fight me?
3. Does this mean if I force them to flee, they must then go to pirates cove?

If the answers are yes, then this is a way to keep another player from getting the upgrade they were wanting, or keeping them from burying their treasure at treasure island. Especially when you know that your ship is better, or you have a better parrot for fighting, or you have volley or battle cards.

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 840
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Tue, 20 July 2010 19:16
50th wrote on Mon, 19 July 2010 22:45

Newbie questions about how fighting Cacafeugo works.
1. which player do I fight?
2. Does this mean they don't get to go to the island of their choice, but must go to the island where Cacafeugo is to fight me?
3. Does this mean if I force them to flee, they must then go to pirates cove?

If the answers are yes, then this is a way to keep another player from getting the upgrade they were wanting, or keeping them from burying their treasure at treasure island. Especially when you know that your ship is better, or you have a better parrot for fighting, or you have volley or battle cards.




Sounds like you may have another issue, but I will try to answer.

1. You only fight another player if you both end up at the same island as another player, but not at Treasure Island (unless you have a house rule as proposed above).
2. Everyone decides where they want (their ships) to go first using their compass (so "No" sort of). If as a result of the compass selection, two players end up on the same island and the Cacafuego is there, then they fight for the Cacafuego spoils. Normally, all players would together fight the LP first and then each other until one was left to get the spoils. Since the Cacafuego has no cannons, the players fight each other (but not at Treasure Island).
3. Loser of a battle moves their ship to Pirate's Cove.

Now, this thread covers a special situation at Treasure Island. So normally, without a house rule (which is not necessary - read on), you would not fight, and I believe the fame points would be split amongst the players according to the rules on page 13, superceding the specific rules regarding the Cacafuego on page 14.. Here the rules say "If a Legendary Pirate is sunk, the fame value indicated on its reference card is immediately split among all players present who survive the combat." Since the Cacafuego does not fight, all players automatically survive the "conflict" and the fame points should be split.

But generally, if it happens that a single player ends up at an island with a Legendary Pirate (LP) that actually CAN fight, then another player will role the dice for the LP (since someone has to do it) but that player does not move his ship to the island or lose anything if the LP loses. They just serve as a proxy for the LP during the battle so the player(s) fighting do not roll the dice for the LP.

[Updated on: Tue, 20 July 2010 19:31]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1344
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Wed, 21 July 2010 23:11
I already know all that, but when facing the Cacafeugo which does not battle the rule book on page 14 says,"The Cacafeugo is defenseless. Player pirates battle each other to determine who will pilfer the greatest riches of this floating treasure chest, but don't know how much riches they are fighting for until after the battle is won."
So again my questions remain;

1. If I am at an island with the Cacafeugo and battle it, which player do I battle?

2. Do we move his ship to the island where I am at with the Cacafeugo, which cancels his navigation?

3. If the opponent has to flee, does he go to pirates cove, and lose his treasure and gold, and force him to forfeit his intended island of choice?

Does anybody play this LP?
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 840
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Thu, 22 July 2010 00:40
50th wrote on Wed, 21 July 2010 17:11

I already know all that, but when facing the Cacafeugo which does not battle the rule book on page 14 says,"The Cacafeugo is defenseless. Player pirates battle each other to determine who will pilfer the greatest riches of this floating treasure chest, but don't know how much riches they are fighting for until after the battle is won."
So again my questions remain;

1. If I am at an island with the Cacafeugo and battle it, which player do I battle?

2. Do we move his ship to the island where I am at with the Cacafeugo, which cancels his navigation?

3. If the opponent has to flee, does he go to pirates cove, and lose his treasure and gold, and force him to forfeit his intended island of choice?

Does anybody play this LP?

Well you are missing something cause that's it.

1. You battle all players at that island according to the battle rules (as if the LP wasn't there). If there are no other players there, then you get the spoils without battling.

2. No ships move after navigation. Only the ships at the island with the Cacafuego battle for the spoils (Not "all players" just "all players on the island").

3. Players (on the island and so in the battle) that flee or are defeated follow standard rules and go to Pirate's Cove. There is no "intended island of choice" because all players made their choice during the navigation phase and are either in the battle, because they chose the island with the Cacafuego or are on another island.

[Updated on: Thu, 22 July 2010 18:29]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1344
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Thu, 22 July 2010 20:55
Thank you, I misunderstood your previous post. Now I see, how this LP works. Sorry I didn't understand what you said the first time. I really like the game. I bought it at a gaming convention this year. I played it at a con about three years ago, and remembered that I liked it. Again, I love the uncanny support that there is for days of wonder games.

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 840
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Cacafeugo question Thu, 22 July 2010 23:06
That's okay. I often find I have misread or forgotten certain rules in these types of games.

Pirate's Cove is a really excellent game. Although there is forum support, I wish there was more "support" from DOW in terms of extending the game with expansions. However, there are some variants out there that look interesting...just haven't got around to printing the cards.

[Updated on: Thu, 22 July 2010 23:07]

      
    
Previous Topic:Royal Navy question
Next Topic:mercy rules?
Goto Forum: