Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Book
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 887
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 28 July 2010 17:09
gheintze wrote on Tue, 27 July 2010 09:26

I just heard back from jdrommel.

Air rules are not in effect for those three Breakthrough scenarios as well as the 12 French open scenarios. At least that is how they were designed...

Geoff


Also, in Breakthrough to Gembloux the rules say Allies should discard "Air Sortee" if drawn and re-draw. This should read "Air Power".
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 949
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 28 July 2010 17:33
Sgt Storm wrote on Wed, 28 July 2010 11:09

gheintze wrote on Tue, 27 July 2010 09:26

I just heard back from jdrommel.

Air rules are not in effect for those three Breakthrough scenarios as well as the 12 French open scenarios. At least that is how they were designed...

Geoff


Also, in Breakthrough to Gembloux the rules say Allies should discard "Air Sortee" if drawn and re-draw. This should read "Air Power".


I can't remember while I'm at work, but this may alse be the case with some of the French open scenarios. Or "Air Strike" maybe...

Geoff
      
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 29 July 2010 19:48
There is no mention of the Coastlines (Desert) Terrain in the FAQ.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 29 July 2010 22:43
THe Coastline hexes plays as Ocean hexes for all purposes.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 29 July 2010 23:43
Ad79 is absolutely correct.

Check out Richards post on this topic for January 25, 2008.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=122888#msg_122888
      
alboy
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 30 July 2010 13:28
It would be helpful if the FAQ would mention Coastlines (Desert) being the same as Ocean in all respects, l am sure l am not the only person who has asked about this before.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1381
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 14 August 2010 17:03
I just tried to download the latest version of the official FAQ and I got a box saying that the PDF file was corrupt. Anyone else have this problem?

      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 14 August 2010 17:21
50th wrote on Sat, 14 August 2010 16:03

I just tried to download the latest version of the official FAQ and I got a box saying that the PDF file was corrupt. Anyone else have this problem?




Just tried it. Works fine for me.

I opened it first, then saved it.

[Updated on: Sat, 14 August 2010 17:22]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1381
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 16 August 2010 21:40
OK, it worked this time. Thanks.

Well, it works on IE but not on Firefox. Every time I try to download on firefox, I get a corrupt PDF message.



[Updated on: Thu, 09 September 2010 02:38]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 09 September 2010 02:26
OK Jesse!
New for Half-tracks
May battle and remove wire like an Armor unit on the same order. No armor overun however. Official response from Eric.

Laughing

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20188&start=0
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 10 September 2010 04:41
Ok Richard gives the definitive answer on the Raid on Barce scenario:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20195&start=0
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2101
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 14 September 2010 22:23
Sabotage

Terrain Pack rule vs the Sabotage Summary card.

The main difference between the two is the number of dice rolled, 3 vs 2. The other is that using the card, the unit must start the turn in the target hex.

TP: Sabotaging unit must be on the hex and then roll its close assault dice (3?).

A question was asked if the unit in question could be ordered, then move into the hex and then attempt the sabotage.

CARD: Sabotaging unit must start the turn on the hex and roll 2 dice.

In this case, I wonder if the unit in question (starts the turn in the hex) has to be ordered to attempt to sabotage.

I was under the impression that the summary cards were just that, a breif overview of the main rule section in a given rule book. So why is there a change in the number of dice rolled?
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 949
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 16 September 2010 05:13
We should probably also include the answer to the Firefight question: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20109&start=0

Geoff
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 20 September 2010 19:12
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=157002#msg_157002

Don't know if this is in the FAQ about having to EXIT the board to score a medal.

Sample Question:
Q. Can my unit claim a medal if it has landed on an Exit Token or on my opponents baseline.

A. No, you have to actually exit the board to get the medal, you must cross this hex and leave the board by ordering this unit on your turn. When your unit leaves the board, it then moves to your medal stand.


Follow up question.

Q. Can my unit retreat off the board to claim a medal.

A. No, your unit, if it is unable to retreat, must lose a figure. And, in a scenario where your unit is attempting to exit on your own baseline, your unit must be issued an order and exit on your turn.

[Updated on: Tue, 21 September 2010 13:21]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 03 October 2010 09:35
Here is a thread about using the extra movement in desert battles to move off the board at an exit marker.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20315&start=0

My goodness...the FAQ is getting large! Confused
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 03 October 2010 13:28
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20315&start=0

Hey Jesse,
This thread also ties in with the exiting question. In the way that the armor unit was ordered and then uses it's ability to move during the battle phase "armor overrun" to exit the board.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2101
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 07 October 2010 22:42
Currently I cannot seem to acces / open PDF files on my computer -- they changed appearance from the standard look with "PDF" on them to looking like a small computer screen.

This means I cannot acces the Mem '44 FAQ on my computer either. I printed out the one from last Aug '09, but would like to have the newest version too.

Is there any way to get the FAQ to another format, or perhaps info on how this happened to my PDF files and /or how to fix it.

[Updated on: Thu, 07 October 2010 22:43]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1381
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 08 October 2010 04:04
They may have been associated with another program. Right click one of the files and go to properties and make sure the extension is still pdf, the close. Then (in windows explorer)right click one of the pdf files and when the menu comes up go to open with... select adobe reader or whatever program you use to open pdf files and check the box that says always use this program. Than should fix it.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 11 October 2010 09:28
Here is a link to the discussion about Tigers being targeted by Big Guns.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/530740/tigers-big-guns

It should be included in the next FAQ update.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2101
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 13 October 2010 22:41
Ok, when the FAQ is updated and posted, will the additional info be highlighted, as I assume it the new info will be incorporated into the exiting FAQ in the section pertaining to each new FAQ added?

I last printed this out in Aug of '09. I think I would rather see additional pages added to the end of the existing FAQ so that I would not have to print out the entire thing (50+ pgs).

So perhaps a separate smaller update document could be offered up too to those who have already printed out the earlier FAQ?

Just a suggestion.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 14 October 2010 09:19
tank commander wrote on Wed, 13 October 2010 13:41

Ok, when the FAQ is updated and posted, will the additional info be highlighted, as I assume it the new info will be incorporated into the exiting FAQ in the section pertaining to each new FAQ added?


After a suggestion by a fellow player of Memoir '44, I've been including a Battle Star next to each card or rule that has been added or updated. That way you can look through the Table of Contents and quickly see what's new. In the document itself the star is next to the header for each item that was updated or changed.

When version 1.3 is released, you'll notice that the stars are next to changes that were made in that version (so they'll be different than version 1.2).

Quote:

I last printed this out in Aug of '09. I think I would rather see additional pages added to the end of the existing FAQ so that I would not have to print out the entire thing (50+ pgs).

So perhaps a separate smaller update document could be offered up too to those who have already printed out the earlier FAQ?

Just a suggestion.


I'm afraid that making a separate smaller document would be a lot more work than you realize! Razz For it to make sense I would have to basically recreate the FAQ format on a smaller scale...and adding the new answers at the end of the document wouldn't work because each answer is listed under the appropriate card, terrain, or rule to be easily found.

The reason we have the FAQ available as a Full FAQ download as well as each section is so that you can look over the PDF file for each section and only print out the sections that have changed from the last one you had. It's possible that something has changed or been updated in every section because it's been so long since my last update, but that's not always the case.

I hope this makes sense. Cool

[Updated on: Thu, 14 October 2010 09:23]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 15 October 2010 21:57
A question about Engineers and Abatis:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=198285#msg_198285
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 17 November 2010 13:35
Combat Card- Pull Back
works similar to a BEL, unit may not move through impassable terrain.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20546&start=0

[Updated on: Wed, 17 November 2010 13:38]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 17 November 2010 13:42
But DOW will have to give you the official ruling on this.

These are my remarks regarding the play of engineers on ABATIS. Make sure you get their ruling and not just my opinion..
Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 18 November 2010 14:09
DESTROYERS vs. BIG GUNS

It would be nice to have an official ruling on Destroyers moving and losing their Target Markers, many folks play this way, but nothing OFFICIAL on it:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20528&start=0
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 28 November 2010 13:54
Richard's answer regarding dice hits from artillery during limited visibility in WINTER WARS:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20679&start=0
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 29 November 2010 13:54
Richard's delineation of when to use Air Rules:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20701&start=0
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1381
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 29 November 2010 20:09
Thanks Stevens for those links. This clears things up.

      
ChizelMonkee
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 137
Registered:
November 2010
Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 05:21
The rules for Hedgerow Hell mention the five Exit Points for use by the Allies. I want to make sure I understand them correctly.

1) They don't seem to confer any bonus other than perhaps allowing a unit to escape further attacks from the enemy.

2) Once a unit reaches the spot with the exit icon they are removed from the board. They don't have to move another spot to actually exit and they don't have the option to hit one of those spots and keep moving somewhere else on the map.

Does that sound about right?

Thanks!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 06:05
ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 08:21

The rules for Hedgerow Hell mention the five Exit Points for use by the Allies. I want to make sure I understand them correctly.

1) They don't seem to confer any bonus other than perhaps allowing a unit to escape further attacks from the enemy.


I don't have the map in front of me, but an Exit Marker normally allows units to exit the board to gain a medal (hence the "Exit" in the name). I'm not sure what other bonuses you might be referring to, so I might not have helped you much here.

Quote:

2) Once a unit reaches the spot with the exit icon they are removed from the board. They don't have to move another spot to actually exit and they don't have the option to hit one of those spots and keep moving somewhere else on the map.

Does that sound about right?

Thanks!


No, a unit has to move off the board under their own power to get the medal. It's not enough to get to the exit marker...they have to move one hex further to actually exit play.
      
ChizelMonkee
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 137
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 14:10
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 12 December 2010 23:05

ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 08:21

The rules for Hedgerow Hell mention the five Exit Points for use by the Allies. I want to make sure I understand them correctly.

1) They don't seem to confer any bonus other than perhaps allowing a unit to escape further attacks from the enemy.


I don't have the map in front of me, but an Exit Marker normally allows units to exit the board to gain a medal (hence the "Exit" in the name). I'm not sure what other bonuses you might be referring to, so I might not have helped you much here.




Thanks for taking a stab at this.

The text on the map says "The five road hexes with an Exit marker on the Axis player's baseline are Exit hexes for the Allied forces."

There is no reference to any medals earned on the printed text or in the game FAQ. Instinctively, I thought it would work the way you suggest, but I see nothing stated that way. That is why I am asking.

Are there general rules for Exit Markers that I can refer to?

Thanks again.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 15:39
ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 17:10


Thanks for taking a stab at this.

The text on the map says "The five road hexes with an Exit marker on the Axis player's baseline are Exit hexes for the Allied forces."

There is no reference to any medals earned on the printed text or in the game FAQ. Instinctively, I thought it would work the way you suggest, but I see nothing stated that way. That is why I am asking.

Are there general rules for Exit Markers that I can refer to?

Thanks again.


Exit Markers were introduced in the Air Pack and if you look in the Air Pack rule book on page 10, you'll find that it says,

"Exit markers, used in some scenarios to designate specific hexes - or range of hexes - through which a unit may successfully exit the map to safety and claim a Victory Medal."

It's not enough to just land on the exit marker, though...you have to move off the board. Have fun!! Cool
      
ChizelMonkee
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 137
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 16:02
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 08:39

ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 17:10


Thanks for taking a stab at this.

The text on the map says "The five road hexes with an Exit marker on the Axis player's baseline are Exit hexes for the Allied forces."

There is no reference to any medals earned on the printed text or in the game FAQ. Instinctively, I thought it would work the way you suggest, but I see nothing stated that way. That is why I am asking.

Are there general rules for Exit Markers that I can refer to?

Thanks again.


Exit Markers were introduced in the Air Pack and if you look in the Air Pack rule book on page 10, you'll find that it says,

"Exit markers, used in some scenarios to designate specific hexes - or range of hexes - through which a unit may successfully exit the map to safety and claim a Victory Medal."

It's not enough to just land on the exit marker, though...you have to move off the board. Have fun!! Cool



Ah, I don't have the Air Pack so that is why I didn't see it. I'll grab those rules now. Something for the FAQ too perhaps?

Thanks!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 16:17
ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 19:02


Ah, I don't have the Air Pack so that is why I didn't see it. I'll grab those rules now. Something for the FAQ too perhaps?

Thanks!


Glad to help. Smile

As to adding this to the FAQ I'm afraid the document is already growing larger than expected and when something is outlined clearly in a rule book it does not need to be repeated in the FAQ. The rule books should always be the first place we look for answers and entries for the FAQ will have to continue to be reserved for issues that require official help from DoW or Richard Borg himself.

I'm glad I was able to help you find an answer, though! Enjoy and have fun!! Cool
      
ChizelMonkee
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 137
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Mon, 13 December 2010 16:20
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 09:17

ChizelMonkee wrote on Mon, 13 December 2010 19:02


Ah, I don't have the Air Pack so that is why I didn't see it. I'll grab those rules now. Something for the FAQ too perhaps?

Thanks!


Glad to help. Smile

As to adding this to the FAQ I'm afraid the document is already growing larger than expected and when something is outlined clearly in a rule book it does not need to be repeated in the FAQ. The rule books should always be the first place we look for answers and entries for the FAQ will have to continue to be reserved for issues that require official help from DoW or Richard Borg himself.

I'm glad I was able to help you find an answer, though! Enjoy and have fun!! Cool


Makes sense. Thanks for the help. I'll download the rulebooks I don't own for future reference.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3038
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Exit Points in Hedgerow Hell Fri, 17 December 2010 17:31
Winter Wars Tank Destroyer Question

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20864&start=0

Quote:

I am sorry, but that is not the intent of the visibility rules.
TD when targeted by non-infantry are hit on stars.

Richard Borg


Dear Jesse,
Here is a suggested question relative to Richard's response:

Q.
In playing Winter Wars scenarios with reduced visibility rules, do Tank Destroyers still get hit with STARS by non-infantry units firing from a distance?
A.
Yes, all STARS are hits against TD from non-infantry units.
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 18 January 2011 23:35
I have a new question that I'm guessing will probably deserve an entry in the FAQ:

In the Breakthrough command card deck many cards have an extra "on the move" order to move units. How does this "on the move" order affect special units? Specifically Supply Trucks and Airplanes:

- Can a supply truck still supply a unit?
- Can you even order an airplane with an on the move order?
- If so, can they do Ground Interdiction? Strafing? Others?
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 990
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 19 January 2011 00:14
GoboGobo wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 23:35

I have a new question that I'm guessing will probably deserve an entry in the FAQ:

In the Breakthrough command card deck many cards have an extra "on the move" order to move units. How does this "on the move" order affect special units? Specifically Supply Trucks and Airplanes:

- Can a supply truck still supply a unit?
No, only move.
- Can you even order an airplane with an on the move order?
Yes, but only move.
- If so, can they do Ground Interdiction? Strafing? Others?
No, they can only move.


My answers are in Bold.
Correct me if I'm wrong fellas.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7092
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 19 January 2011 02:46
Erik has it. Units can only move! Cool
      
Jokull
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 225
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 01 February 2011 00:49
Great work,

throw in how exit markers work next time around.

Smile
      
Pages (8): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Bridge questions
Next Topic:Overlord - Constructing a Pontoon and crossing it in the same turn
Goto Forum: