Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Attack from two sides help
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Winther
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

Posts: 1
Registered:
July 2010
Attack from two sides help Tue, 03 August 2010 19:28
Hi All! Can someone tell me if, lets say you've got two inf. units next to each other, and you then announce that you will use both units to attack the same enemy unit! The first attack makes the enemy retreat 1 hex, but still in range of your second unit, can you then make your second attack or is it lost because of the retreat? Thank
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 960
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Attack from two sides help Tue, 03 August 2010 21:12
Orders to attack are not simultaneous. Therefore, you can order the 2nd unit to attack at the enemy unit even though it has moved.

There are a few exceptions, such as close assault. With this command card, you can only attck an adjacent unit. So if the unit moves to a nonadjacent hex you cannot attack.

Geoff
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Attack from two sides help Tue, 03 August 2010 23:01
Winther wrote on Tue, 03 August 2010 18:28

Hi All! Can someone tell me if, lets say you've got two inf. units next to each other, and you then announce that you will use both units to attack the same enemy unit! The first attack makes the enemy retreat 1 hex, but still in range of your second unit, can you then make your second attack or is it lost because of the retreat? Thank


If an ordered unit can still attack (i.e. it is in range and has line of sight) then it can battle. Only issue in your example is that fewer dice are used for the second attack following the retreat.
      
SlotraceDK
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 285
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Attack from two sides help Wed, 25 August 2010 21:13
Shouldn't both attacks have been resolved before the enemy unit retreat?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Attack from two sides help Wed, 25 August 2010 21:16
SlotraceDK wrote on Wed, 25 August 2010 21:13

Shouldn't both attacks have been resolved before the enemy unit retreat?


No, you resolve all aspects of the first attack(even the retreat if it applies) before the second unit attacks.
      
    
Previous Topic:Half-Track & Jeep questions
Next Topic:On the Subject of New Units...
Goto Forum: