Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Question regarding entering the board
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
MST27
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2010
Question regarding entering the board Mon, 30 August 2010 00:16
Hey everyone, this is my first post. SW is also my first DoW game! I love it and hope to add some more DoW games to my new collection. Here is my question:

Can you enter the board from multiple points or can you only enter the board from one region? For example, on my first turn, can I enter the map on a southern region, then also enter it from the north? There isn't anything I can see in the rules about conquering multiple border regions without being adjacent to them. However I could be misinterpreting the rules as they do say once you enter the board you can only attack adjacent regions. So again my question is, can you enter the board multiple times in non-adjacent regions with the SAME race? Thanks for any help!
      
Conundrum Crow
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Registered:
August 2010
Re:Question regarding entering the board Mon, 30 August 2010 17:25
You only get to enter the board once and in one region. After that you have to conquer new areas adjacent to the region you entered from. Unless you have flying/underworld, abandon territory or is forced out of a region by force you can't generally split up your active race.
      
MST27
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2010
Re:Question regarding entering the board Mon, 30 August 2010 18:05
Thanks for your answer. That makes sense. The more and more I played the game, the more I thought that was the case. I just wanted to be sure. It obviously makes a big difference in how the game will play out!
      
particle_man
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
May 2010
Re:Question regarding entering the board Mon, 06 September 2010 06:47
Although one trick you can pull is to, at the beginning of your next turn, abandon *all* of your regions and reenter the board as if it were your first turn with that race. Generally this is not cost-effective, but might be worth it with Pillaging Orcs, or if you find yourself boxed in by Heroic Halflings.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7072
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Question regarding entering the board Mon, 20 September 2010 10:49
Note that Halflings can enter the board anywhere, but they are still limited the same as every other race; once you have one land, you can only conquer adjacent regions (unless you have a special power that allows something different).
      
    
Previous Topic:small world on ipad question
Next Topic:Leaders of Small World
Goto Forum: