Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Landing Craft Movement
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
General-Barrage
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 29
Registered:
April 2007
Landing Craft Movement Tue, 31 August 2010 12:16
Well, thought I would find an answer, no luck so here goes.

Me and a bud played a beach map with the air pack utilizing the LCs. He says you can move two hexes and then deploy the LC unit on the beach for a total of a 3 hex move. Rolling Eyes

His reasoning is that when the LC "deploys its unit on the beach", the 1 hex deployment on the beach does not count towards the "move up to 2 hexes" as stated by the FAQ (and the help card). So in his method of play, he could go left or right a hex, towards the beach one hex, then deploy the unit on the first row of sand.

I think he is completely wrong on this and it should be two hexes total, period. Thoughts?

GB
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Landing Craft Movement Tue, 31 August 2010 13:14
This question is answered on page 11 of the Airpack rules. (Second paragraph of column 2.)

"When they finish their moves on a beach or shore hex, they are automatically removed, at no medal cost, and the unit they carried left on the hex they landed on."

But remember, no gloating. Wink
      
General-Barrage
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 29
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 08:29
Hey Sam, thanks for the reply, but not sure I follow. Confused

My question is can they move 3 hexes total?

GB
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 09:38
General-Barrage wrote on Wed, 01 September 2010 07:29

Hey Sam, thanks for the reply, but not sure I follow. Confused

My question is can they move 3 hexes total?GB


I think what he's saying is that the LC can move but the infantry can only move 1 beach hex - the one that they are placed on from the LC.

There are different rules for LC and units simply placed on a sea hex.
      
General-Barrage
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 29
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 10:48
Quote:

I think what he's saying is that the LC can move but the infantry can only move 1 beach hex - the one that they are placed on from the LC.


Hmm, now you really confused me...so the LC can move...up to 2 hexes...and the infantry can only move 1 beach hex - the one that they are placed on from the LC...

So they can move (the unit in the LC) 3 hexes total if they are in an LC, and if they move at least 2 hexes while in the ocean?

I suppose I'm just misreading the comments, but I really need a simple example of all possible movements of an infantry starting on the back ocean hex in an LC. Embarassed

Thanks all,

GB
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 11:05
How I read this rule:

LC can move 2 hexes. If they land on a beach hex, the LC token is removed and the infantry left in that hex.

So infantry in LC can will only move 2 hexes total.

Stig Morten
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 13:12
Stig's post is exactly correct. I hope that answers your question, GB.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2935
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Wed, 01 September 2010 13:53
These explanations are all accurate. The way to think of the infantry in an LC is just as a passenger. If the LC in its' second move lands upon a beach hex, the infantry disembarks on that hex and may move no further and may not batle on it's landing.

The confusing part for most folks is when the LC is positioned in the second row of ocean hexes directly adjacent to the beach. Although the LC in practice may typically move 2 hexes total, if the LC owner decides to run directly up onto the beach to unload in this turn, he is limited to that one hex (the beach hex) as his movement ends there. The infantry disembarks and effectively has only gained the first beach hex and ithe infantry unit may not move further or battle.
However, if you were playing without LCs and the infantry unit was itself placed in the second row of ocean hexes adjacent to the beach. If you gave that infantry unit an order, it could move 1 hex upon the beach and battle, or 2 hexes inland and not battle. If it was a commando unit, it could actually move two hexes inland and battle. In these cases the infantry unit that is on an LC is actually more limited in its' inland movement and battle capabilites than an infantry unit not assigned to the LC.
The main advantages to being on an LC is the ability to make the beach from the first row of ocean hexes on one order as well as both farther retreats and faster lateral movement in the ocean.

[Updated on: Wed, 01 September 2010 13:57]

      
General-Barrage
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 29
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Thu, 02 September 2010 12:22
Thanks for the replies (and patience) fellas. I thought thats the way it was, but wanted to be sure.

This means he has been playing it wrong.

What he does is (which is NOT a legal move btw):
1. Moves the unit in the LC up one hex towards the beach (so its now on the 2nd row of ocean hexes)
2. Now moves LC over to the right (or left) in same row of ocean (still in 2nd row of ocean)
3. Deploys unit (inf or tank) onto first beach hex and removes LC unit.

So total movement is 3 hex: 1 up, 1 over, 1 up on beach hex(sometimes switching step 1 and 2, but same effect).

Anyway, I always had a hunch that it was not correct, but wasn't sure so we had a sort of "house rule" I suppose looking back. Definitely gonna have to kabash that idea tomorrow, haha.

Thanks again to all, and keep gaming. Very Happy

GB

[Updated on: Thu, 02 September 2010 19:47]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Landing Craft Movement Thu, 02 September 2010 13:12
You probably don't even want to repeat his erroneous method here. Somebody will see it, without reading carefully, and assume it was the correct way. Landing Crafts and the units in them NEVER move 3 hexes.

Landing crafts: 2 hex maximum, unit disembarks onto the LC's hex on the first dry hex it hits, and the unit may not move further or battle.

By the way, units in LCs are not ordered by unit-specific cards, such as Move Out, Behind Enemy Lines, Armor Assault, or Artillery Bombard.

[Updated on: Thu, 02 September 2010 13:14]

      
General-Barrage
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 29
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Landing Craft Movement Thu, 02 September 2010 19:45
Good call about the posting.

The only reason I decided to post it was I wanted to make sure everyone reading the post would understand what I was asking since my original post did not seem clear, even after I went back and reread it. Which is why some of the replies seemed different than what I was expecting.

Anyway, I'll edit my previous post about the sequence of steps the other player was making and make it clear that it is not correct, or else I agree, someone probably will read it and go "look I can move 3 hexes, here's an example". Rolling Eyes

Thanks Sam.

GB

[Updated on: Thu, 02 September 2010 19:45]

      
    
Previous Topic:Memoir '44 League or Tournament?
Next Topic: Italians Figures and other questions
Goto Forum: