Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Market Garden
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 231
Registered:
March 2010
Market Garden Tue, 28 September 2010 09:16
Just a quick clarification about the commarnd cards in Market Garden
If the allied cic has 13 cards, plays 3 in his turn then is only able to draw 2 more at the end of his turn (12 cards in his hand). Then on the axis turn the allied player looses a unit dose the allied player lose a card even though he is down to 12 already so then takes him to 11 but has a maximum of 12 he can hold now. I think this is the case just trying to settle a disagreement on how it works.
Id say the allied player dose lose a card because its his fault he played 3 cards in his turn.

Hope this make sense
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Market Garden Tue, 28 September 2010 09:35
Please look at page 46 of the Official FAQ...there is a large section on the Market Garden Overlord battle and this question might be answered there.

If I had more time I would try to give a more complete answer, but I have to run...maybe someone else can write something out for you.

If you still haven't gotten an answer when I have more time I'll be happy to explain a bit more. Have fun and good luck! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Market Garden Tue, 28 September 2010 10:52
THere are 3 separate rules in this scenario that needs to be kept apart.

Maximum/minumum hand size
Starting hand side
What happens when the Allied side losses a unit.


Neither side can go above 13 cards and the Allied can not go below 2 cards. The Axis can not go below 1 card.
These limitations have to be observed AT ALL TIMES during the scenario.

Starting hand is 13 for Allied and 3 for Axis.(Axis can still hold 13 cards at all time, and the 3 cards they start with is only their starting hand, not a limitation)

If the Allied side loses a unit, Axis player draws a card from the draw pile and puts it into their hand(Observing max/min rule) AND discards a randomly drawn card from the Allied hand(Observing max/min rule)
It has no effect on the min/max hand size rule.

With the official rule the Axis player can increase his hand by 1. Elliminating Allied units or 2. Only playing 1 card and drawing 2.

That's the official rule as stated by Richard.



A fun variant that I(and others I think) used in the beginning is this.

Starting hand (Allied 13 and Axis 3) is also the maximum hand size rule, UNTILL Allied looses a unit: Remove a card from the Allied hand, draw a card from drawpile for Axis(Like in the official interpretation) AND reduce the Allied MAXIMUM hand size by 1 card while increasing the Axis maximum hand by one.

THat would give a maximum hand size like this

Start 13-3 (Allied-Axis)
First Allied unit lost 12-4
Second 11-5
Third 10-6
Fourth 9-7
Fifth 8-8
Sixth 7-9
Seventh 6-10
Eight 5-11
Ninth 4-12
Tenth 3-13
Eleventh 2-13 (Axis can't go above 13)
Twelth and onward 2-13 (Allied can't go below 2)

In this variant the Axis can only increase his hand by elliminating Allied units.

Stig Morten
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 231
Registered:
March 2010
Re:Market Garden Tue, 28 September 2010 13:56
ad79 wrote on Tue, 28 September 2010 18:22

THere are 3 separate rules in this scenario that needs to be kept apart.

Maximum/minumum hand size
Starting hand side
What happens when the Allied side losses a unit.


Neither side can go above 13 cards and the Allied can not go below 2 cards. The Axis can not go below 1 card.
These limitations have to be observed AT ALL TIMES during the scenario.

Starting hand is 13 for Allied and 3 for Axis.(Axis can still hold 13 cards at all time, and the 3 cards they start with is only their starting hand, not a limitation)

If the Allied side loses a unit, Axis player draws a card from the draw pile and puts it into their hand(Observing max/min rule) AND discards a randomly drawn card from the Allied hand(Observing max/min rule)
It has no effect on the min/max hand size rule.

With the official rule the Axis player can increase his hand by 1. Elliminating Allied units or 2. Only playing 1 card and drawing 2.

That's the official rule as stated by Richard.



A fun variant that I(and others I think) used in the beginning is this.

Starting hand (Allied 13 and Axis 3) is also the maximum hand size rule, UNTILL Allied looses a unit: Remove a card from the Allied hand, draw a card from drawpile for Axis(Like in the official interpretation) AND reduce the Allied MAXIMUM hand size by 1 card while increasing the Axis maximum hand by one.

THat would give a maximum hand size like this

Start 13-3 (Allied-Axis)
First Allied unit lost 12-4
Second 11-5
Third 10-6
Fourth 9-7
Fifth 8-8
Sixth 7-9
Seventh 6-10
Eight 5-11
Ninth 4-12
Tenth 3-13
Eleventh 2-13 (Axis can't go above 13)
Twelth and onward 2-13 (Allied can't go below 2)

In this variant the Axis can only increase his hand by elliminating Allied units.

Stig Morten



We just played this tonight (we did play it the right way) allies 13 medals vs the axis 9.

Also playing a recon 1 card helps bring the card count up, as it lets you draw 3

thanks for the clarification
      
    
Previous Topic:Tiger , 3 models and hit on stars
Next Topic:Is withdrawal optional?
Goto Forum: