Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn Sat, 02 October 2010 11:48
I recently ran the Rats in a Factory Overlord game with 8 players. There was some confusion about the Soviet's first turn. I understand that the C-in-C must place 1,2 or 3 cards immediately under the chip but when exactly does he repeat this process?

Presumably the sequence is (for the first turn):

1. Places cards from initial hand of 9 cards under his chip. for example 2, leaving 7.
2. Axis player plays his turn
3. Soviet player "after taking the cards placed under his chip... places some new command cards under his chip, in preperation for his next turn". This means, in this example, he must choose from 7 cards for this first turn.
4. Soviet player actions his 2 cards from under the chip.
5. At the end of his turn he draws 2 new cards (assuming he didn't play Recon 1)
6. Soviet player places his cards under the chip for the next turn.

My question is whether I have steps 5 and 6 above in the correct order?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn Sat, 02 October 2010 12:48
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sat, 02 October 2010 11:48

I recently ran the Rats in a Factory Overlord game with 8 players. There was some confusion about the Soviet's first turn. I understand that the C-in-C must place 1,2 or 3 cards immediately under the chip but when exactly does he repeat this process?

Presumably the sequence is (for the first turn):

1. Places cards from initial hand of 9 cards under his chip. for example 2, leaving 7.
2. Axis player plays his turn
3. Soviet player "after taking the cards placed under his chip... places some new command cards under his chip, in preperation for his next turn". This means, in this example, he must choose from 7 cards for this first turn.
4. Soviet player actions his 2 cards from under the chip.
5. At the end of his turn he draws 2 new cards (assuming he didn't play Recon 1)
6. Soviet player places his cards under the chip for the next turn.

My question is whether I have steps 5 and 6 above in the correct order?


Step 6 is done in step 3, so no need to do step 6.
The Russian places cards for his next turn before he activates the cards for this turn.

Stig Morten
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn Sat, 02 October 2010 18:27
Thanks for clearing that up Stig. Now I can play with confidence.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn Sat, 02 October 2010 23:07
Only happy to help.

Confidence will only get you part of the way, skill will take you all the way, but luck might also be worth to carry with you. Very Happy

Stig Morten
      
    
Previous Topic:Breakthrough Deck and Air Rules
Next Topic:Pontoon Bridges
Goto Forum: