Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Pontoon Bridges
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sheridan
Member
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 95
Registered:
December 2008
Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 12:01
Hi

I have checked the FAQ and it doesn't seem to address this?

If i have an all units right card, and i have 5 units on the right, if i have to use 3 to build a bridge, can i still move 2 units?


Thanks
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 12:14
The Pontoon Bridge can ONLY be build by using an Attack card. It is tied to the card, not the 3 orders on the Attack card.

Stig morten
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 15:12
And you don't need to have any units by the river to build the bridge.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 15:13
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:12

And you don't need to have any units by the river to build the bridge.


No. It's a card play and doesn't have anything to do with units. If that's not already in the FAQ it will be in the next update. Cool
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 15:17
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 14:13

Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:12

And you don't need to have any units by the river to build the bridge.


No. It's a card play and doesn't have anything to do with units. If that's not already in the FAQ it will be in the next update. Cool


Don't panic Jesse - it's already there on FAQ page 12 as the first question! Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Sun, 03 October 2010 16:20
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:17

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 14:13

Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:12

And you don't need to have any units by the river to build the bridge.


No. It's a card play and doesn't have anything to do with units. If that's not already in the FAQ it will be in the next update. Cool


Don't panic Jesse - it's already there on FAQ page 12 as the first question! Smile


That's great news!! It means I have one less thing to add to the FAQ at a later date! Smile Thanks for checking...you saved me from getting a few more gray hairs! Laughing
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Pontoon Bridges Mon, 04 October 2010 08:44
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 15:20

Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:17

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 14:13

Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 06:12

And you don't need to have any units by the river to build the bridge.


No. It's a card play and doesn't have anything to do with units. If that's not already in the FAQ it will be in the next update. Cool


Don't panic Jesse - it's already there on FAQ page 12 as the first question! Smile


That's great news!! It means I have one less thing to add to the FAQ at a later date! Smile Thanks for checking...you saved me from getting a few more gray hairs! Laughing


Whilst I can see the reasoning behind not being able to split the units, it does seem odd that an Attack is enough to build a bridge, but an assault isn't...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Mon, 04 October 2010 09:08
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Sun, 03 October 2010 23:44

Whilst I can see the reasoning behind not being able to split the units, it does seem odd that an Attack is enough to build a bridge, but an assault isn't...


Ah, but it's not about the strength of the order...it's simply about the use of the card. My guess would be that Richard chose the Attack card because it balances card value, how common the card is, and how useful the card is.

For example:

If you had to use an Assault Card to place a bridge, players would only place a bridge in extreme cases because it would feel like a total waste of a valuable card. A Probe or Recon might not be valuable enough (players would gladly pay one of those to have a bridge) but the Attack card makes for a hard choice but not too hard.

That's just my theory! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Pontoon Bridges Mon, 04 October 2010 10:21
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 04 October 2010 09:08

That's just my theory! Cool


And a fine theory it was, Jesse. I think you are spot on.

Stig morten
      
    
Previous Topic:Overlord Soviet Command Rule - 1st turn
Next Topic:The Ardennes Expansion
Goto Forum: