Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sat, 02 October 2010 23:32
We played Panzers in the Atlas today and came across a situation were my Allied tank unit close assaulted a German Panzer on the Exit hex(German baseline). The German Panzer was elliminated and my Sherman tank took ground.
Now comes the problem as African Desert Rules allow me to move and extra hex on this Overrun, so my question is: Can I use this extra move to exit the board for another medal?


I couldn't see this issue in the FAQ.


And Panzers in the Atlas was a very cool scenario, as Tank Commander might attest to. He has played it a lot of times. Very Happy
Stig Morten
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 07:33
ad79 wrote on Sat, 02 October 2010 14:32

We played Panzers in the Atlas today and came across a situation were my Allied tank unit close assaulted a German Panzer on the Exit hex(German baseline). The German Panzer was elliminated and my Sherman tank took ground.
Now comes the problem as African Desert Rules allow me to move and extra hex on this Overrun, so my question is: Can I use this extra move to exit the board for another medal?


I couldn't see this issue in the FAQ.


And Panzers in the Atlas was a very cool scenario, as Tank Commander might attest to. He has played it a lot of times. Very Happy
Stig Morten


Interesting question! It's not in the FAQ because I don't think this has ever come up before (at least not that I remember). I would think that should be allowed, unless the extra hex of movement is dependant on the Armor battling for a second time.

What do others think? Confused
      
pocloclo
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
March 2009
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 08:00
As i see the rules, taking ground and the battle after it are two separate actions. It is possible to take ground and no fight(the opposit isn't true). In my iterpretation you can use the free extra hex move to leave the board.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2279
Registered:
August 2006
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 08:44
"On a successful Close Assault combat, an ordered Armor unit may move into the vacated hex and may then move one additional hex; it may then battle again."

That's an affirmative movement. It "may" battle again -- battle isn't required. I see no reason why it can't be a movement through the exit.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 09:08
I'll take these replies as valid answers and I guess Jesse will include it in the next FAQ. Rolling Eyes

And for some unimportant info: There are 8 scenarios where this situation could arrise, as these 8 scenarios have both North African Desert rules and Exit hexes.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 09:33
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 02 October 2010 23:44

"On a successful Close Assault combat, an ordered Armor unit may move into the vacated hex and may then move one additional hex; it may then battle again."

That's an affirmative movement. It "may" battle again -- battle isn't required. I see no reason why it can't be a movement through the exit.


Makes sense to me! Thanks for using the official rules in your answer...full marks for you! Laughing

I'll varify with Richard Borg before this goes into the FAQ but it makes sense to me. Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3072
Registered:
February 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Sun, 03 October 2010 13:23
Sam is the Man. I agree wholeheartedly. It is just a smart play.
      
Freeloading Phill
Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
August 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 07:48
The only hitch to this that I can see is the tecnicality brought up in the thread about retreating through an exit as a result of your opponents attack.
It seemed that you can only exit as part of the move part of your turn and taking ground wouldn't be in that part of the turn.

Phill
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 09:23
Freeloading Phill wrote on Wed, 06 October 2010 07:48

The only hitch to this that I can see is the tecnicality brought up in the thread about retreating through an exit as a result of your opponents attack.
It seemed that you can only exit as part of the move part of your turn and taking ground wouldn't be in that part of the turn.

Phill


I think there is a significant difference between armor Overrun and retreating.

Armor Overrun is on your turn, and the unit is ordered by you.
Retreat is a forced move on your opponents turn because the opponent put too much pressure on your unit.

The ordered by you part is the important thing here I think.

Stig Morten
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 10:06
I agree with Stig that Armor Overrun and Take Ground are different than retreating. It's a good point though, and a perspective that I hadn't looked at before.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3072
Registered:
February 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 12:13
The simple thought is this:
When you are retreating, you are REACTING on your opponent's turn.

When you are doing Armor Overrun (movement even though not in the MOVEMENT PHASE) you are ACTING on your turn.
If you can MOVE IN for the possible kill and a Medal, why can't you just as easily MOVE OUT and exit for a Medal?

So just a smart play.

[Updated on: Wed, 06 October 2010 12:16]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 12:58
stevens wrote on Wed, 06 October 2010 03:13



When you are doing Armor Overrun (movement even though not in the MOVEMENT PHASE) you are ACTING on your turn.
If you can MOVE IN for the possible kill and a Medal, why can't you just as easily MOVE OUT and exit for a Medal?

So just a smart play.


Along those same lines...a tank could Take Ground onto a Medal Objective. In the same way it could move off the board for an exit medal. Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3072
Registered:
February 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Wed, 06 October 2010 13:55
By jove! I think he's got it!
Laughing
      
Shnik
Senior Member
Kursant

Posts: 100
Registered:
May 2008
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Thu, 07 October 2010 02:25
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 06 October 2010 06:58


Along those same lines...a tank could Take Ground onto a Medal Objective. In the same way it could move off the board for an exit medal. Smile


But then again a tank could also Retreat onto a Medal Objective, so that might not be the best example available! Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:African Desert rule- Can the extra overrun move be used to exit the board? Thu, 07 October 2010 04:04
Shnik wrote on Wed, 06 October 2010 17:25

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 06 October 2010 06:58


Along those same lines...a tank could Take Ground onto a Medal Objective. In the same way it could move off the board for an exit medal. Smile


But then again a tank could also Retreat onto a Medal Objective, so that might not be the best example available! Razz


Good point... Confused
      
    
Previous Topic:Air checks & planes on ground
Next Topic:Battle Of The Atlantic?
Goto Forum: