Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Supply Trains
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 954
Registered:
December 2006
Supply Trains Thu, 07 October 2010 18:09
What happens with the train when the units have left the train ? Does it just stay there or can I order it to move around so it protects some units hiding behind it (Los) ?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Supply Trains Thu, 07 October 2010 18:20
The train stays and can be ordered and targeted like normal.

Stig morten
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 954
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 12:32
Thank you. One more :
Is an empty train ordered (and targetted) as infantery or as armour ?
Or does it depend of the kind of unit that just left the train ?

Grtz,
Erik.

[Updated on: Sat, 09 October 2010 12:33]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2936
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 13:28
The terrain pack rules:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/rules/

Quote:

A train may move forward or backward by 1, 2 or 3 hexes along the
railroad tracks, but it may not move when the tracks are blocked.
You order it like any other unit, by playing a Command Card. If the
train is across two sections, it may be ordered in either section.
An enemy unit may target a train. One hit is scored for each Grenade rolled on the train. Place a Battle Star token on the locomotive for each hit on the train.
On the second hit, place a second Battle Star. On the third hit, place a third
Battle Star and remove the wagon. On the fourth hit, the locomotive is removed.
When both sections of the train are removed, place the locomotive on an empty Victory Medal space.
A train may ignore the first flag rolled against it. When it retreats,
it moves back (opposite way the locomotive is facing) one hex along the tracks for each Flag rolled against it. If it cannot retreat, place one Battle Star on the locomotive for each hex it cannot retreat.

Supply Train - Reinforcements
A locomotive and wagon may carry infantry or armor
reinforcement troops. The units that are being carried
are indicated in the scenario. Carried units may not
battle. When the locomotive arrives at the station, the
units riding on the supply train are placed on the hexes
adjacent to the locomotive and wagon. Units may not
move or battle the turn they arrive at the station.
Armored Train
An armored train contains an artillery figure on its wagon piece. It may move up to 3 hexes and still battle. Apply the artillery range and firepower regular rules. Use the other train rules above for movement and counting damages (four grenades to destroy the train).


The FAQ:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/

You will look particularly at page 23.

I could be wrong on this, but I think that the empty train is ordered either with a section card or a card that orders any unit. Cards that specifically order infantry do not, in general, order a supply train with infantry on board (Infantry Assault, Move-Out). However, if you had no infantry units on the gameboard you could still order the train using the last line of these cards -
Quote:

If you do not command any infantry units,issue an order to 1 unit of your choice
.

[Updated on: Sat, 09 October 2010 15:11]

      
Funlerz
Member

User Pages
Posts: 96
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 17:12
From what I know of supply trains, there a unit all its own, just use the Terrain Pack rules regardless of whats inside.
Another point is, since a unit in a train cant attack, it makes sense it cant be used to order the train.
      
CptJack
Member
Cadet

Posts: 64
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 17:29
There was a short discussion a few years ago here (which supports you, Stevens):

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=119500#msg_119500

The train does not seem to be classified as either armor or infantry. If this is true, one would think that a train in a train station would therefore gain no terrain benefits (-2 armor; -1 infantry) if attacked there. Is this true?

[Updated on: Sat, 09 October 2010 17:32]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 17:35
CptJack wrote on Sat, 09 October 2010 17:29

There was a short discussion a few years ago here (which supports you, Stevens):

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=119500#msg_119500

The train does not seem to be classified as either armor or infantry. If this is true, one would think that a train in a train station would therefore gain no terrain benefits (-2 armor; -1 infantry) if attacked there. Is this true?


Regardless of what unit is on the train station hex infantry gets -1 die when they attack and armor gets -2.

Stig Morten
      
CptJack
Member
Cadet

Posts: 64
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Supply Trains Sat, 09 October 2010 18:48
ad79 wrote on Sat, 09 October 2010 11:35

CptJack wrote on Sat, 09 October 2010 17:29

There was a short discussion a few years ago here (which supports you, Stevens):

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=119500#msg_119500

The train does not seem to be classified as either armor or infantry. If this is true, one would think that a train in a train station would therefore gain no terrain benefits (-2 armor; -1 infantry) if attacked there. Is this true?


Regardless of what unit is on the train station hex infantry gets -1 die when they attack and armor gets -2.

Stig Morten


Duh! Embarassed (brain cramp!)
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Supply Trains Sun, 10 October 2010 10:49
CptJack wrote on Sat, 09 October 2010 18:48



Duh! Embarassed (brain cramp!)


Don't worry, honest mistake.

We all make them.

Stig Morten



      
    
Previous Topic:Battle Of The Atlantic?
Next Topic:Numbering of scenarios
Goto Forum: