Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Hedegrow Hell Advice
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 589
Registered:
November 2009
Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 18:39
Hi guys, I'm anticipating playing my first Overlord game tomorrow ... I have five other friends coming over to join me, only a few of which have played with me before (Base scenarios only).

I'm planning on running the Omaha Beach Overlord scenario from the rules manual, and to follow that with the Hedgerow Hell battle map ... needless to say, it's going to be a great afternoon!

I have a few simple q's regarding both scenarios, but am generally asking for people's advice on H.H, particularly if, when you've played it, you've made a any easy rules blunders etc missing rules the first time you played, that kind of thing ...

Omaha Beach:

1) The special rules state every Recon card can be played as a Barrage card. Have people experienced that rule to be slightly over the top? I'm assuming playing this card as a barrage card means you can pick ANY unit, as the barrage card states? It strikes me there could be alot of medals won just playing this card, which appears quite frequently. Also, do you draw 2 cards after playing this card, if you've chosen to barrage? (i asssume not).


Hedgerow Hell:

1) Is the river completely 'fordable' at every space?
2) Presumably the exit markers provide a medal for every Ally unit that escapes through them?
3) The Axis players start with three medals? (for the three villages they occupy) And just to check, even if they vacate the towns they keep the medals, unless the Allies capture them, where the medals switch to the Allies as long as they hold the town).

Any other tips/experiences for both these Overlord scenarios would be gratefully received in the next 12 hours Smile



[Updated on: Sat, 16 October 2010 18:46]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 18:52
Omaha Beach

Any Recon-1's played as Barrage is a Barrage, so no 3 card draw afterwards.

This scenario is really tough for the Allies. Better let your players know that, as this can turn into a slaughter.
I managed to lose this one 8-0 as the Allies, but not all of that can be blamed on the scenario itself. Mostly it was me. Laughing Rolling Eyes
So my best advice is, be the Germans. Laughing

Or Barrage the artilleries and frontline German units in protective terrain before wading ashore, because the beach is not a safe place in this scenario.

Hedgerow Hell

Also a hard scenario for the Allied player. Focus on one section if you have cards for that to get a foothold in there and maybe be able to exit weakened units for medals.

1. Yes
2. Yes


Are you playing with the Overlord deck or 2 regular command decks shuffled together?

Recon-1 in Overlrod let you draw 3 cards at the end of your turn instead of 2(up to the max hand limit)

I would also say that you should try to follow the communication rules for Overlrod as much as you can. That is what makes Overlord very fun to me. For you with 6 players, that means 1 is the CinC and the other 2 takes the left and right for themselves and then share the middle section. And the CinC can only talk to his FG's in one section per turn as outlined in the rules.

Stig Morten

Have fun and good luck.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 18:54
Hey, edited while I wrote my reply. Razz

Hedgerow Hell


3. Those 3 town hexes are Allied medals ONLY when the Allied player occupies them, any other time (no unit in them or German unit in them) they give the Germans 1 medal each.
Germans start with 3 medals.

Stig Morten
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 589
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 19:02
Cheers Stig ... looking forward to it !

Any other's able to offer advice?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 19:20
Omaha Beach

remeber if you use Recon-1 as a Barrage that is a card played by the CinC so you can still give out 2 more cards that turn to your FG's. You can also give the FG that had the Barrage in his section a card or 2.

And if your opponent plays Recon-1 as a Barrage you can counter that as a Barrage with Counmter-Attack.

Stig morten
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sat, 16 October 2010 21:46
Hedgerow hell may be hard for the allies, but it's fairly straightforward. Not too many extra rules or complications (my first overlord was Sword of Stalingrad, that hurt!) I reckon you'll have fun.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 589
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sun, 17 October 2010 00:11
Thanks guys,

Just to answer your earlier question Stig, I will be using the excellent Overlord deck.

One thing I just need to confirm, when you refer to a 'Recon 1' card, are you simply referring to a 'Recon' card (which orders 1 unit), to distinguish it from the 'Recon in Force' card?


Thanks Mighty Jim for your encouragement Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sun, 17 October 2010 03:59
Jaykay2010 wrote on Sat, 16 October 2010 15:11

Thanks guys,

Just to answer your earlier question Stig, I will be using the excellent Overlord deck.

One thing I just need to confirm, when you refer to a 'Recon 1' card, are you simply referring to a 'Recon' card (which orders 1 unit), to distinguish it from the 'Recon in Force' card?


Thanks Mighty Jim for your encouragement Smile


Recon 1 is the Recon card that only orders one unit...so yes, the "Recon" card, not "Recon in Force". Recon in Force cannot be used for Barrage and you cannot draw extra cards after playing it.

Have fun! Cool
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Sun, 17 October 2010 04:01
Jaykay2010 wrote on Sat, 16 October 2010 18:11

One thing I just need to confirm, when you refer to a 'Recon 1' card, are you simply referring to a 'Recon' card (which orders 1 unit), to distinguish it from the 'Recon in Force' card?

Hi, Jaykay -- Yes, that is a common way of making that distinction.

Have fun with the OLs!
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 589
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Mon, 18 October 2010 11:25
Just a footnote to report everyone had a great introduction to the Overlord rules! In the end there were four of us playing, so we assigned one player as CiC, with the other playing the role of both FG's on either flank, with the CiC taking up the central field.

The rules worked smoothly, although we came away with one significant question which was particular to the Omaha beach scenario. When the Recon 1 card is used as a barrage card, (and therefore used by the CiC), could the CiC still receive/play a section card in the central field, (as the Field General)? We assumed that because that field hadn't technically received any instruction (The Barrage card would normally be exclusive to the CiC), and presuming the total card count hadn't yet reached 3, then it was ok for the CiC, acting as the FG to play another card, or at least to make an initiative roll through that turn ... would that be how others would have played it?

I think in an 8 player game with people playing their specific roles, this might not even need interpreting, it would be quite obvious who had/hadn't played cards, but we had to check ourselves a few times playing 2-a-side, to distinguish between the two roles played by the CiC. It didn't dampen our enthusiasm for a full on 8 player experience tho Smile and other than that minor query, the game was a huge success.

We didn't actually get round to playing Hedgrow Hell, other than showing people the map, which won a few rounds of 'oooohs' and 'ahhhhs' .. and clearly, havfing spent a good 20 minutes setting up Omaha beach on two boards people were relieved to see that next time the terrain will all be in place!

Somebody noticed on the 'bridges' card printed on the HH map, it talks about movement thru Bridges being disrupted if they are destroyed, and it shows a small image of a tile that looks like a broken bridge. I haven't come this tile in any of my expansions.

1)Where was this realeased?
Also, 2) is the 'destroying bridges' option a valid part of this scenario?
3) Are the rules for this the same as those found in the Terrain Pack?

It was great to see my group get to grips with the basics of the game (we played a team/co-operative 'solo' scenario first : Montelimar, to introiduce them to the rules, before playing Overlord rules on Omaha Beach ... everyone found the Overlord rules to be a much better 'system' for multiple players.

I think HH will definately be getting another airing soon ...!


For the record, the Allies won the Omaha Beach scenario ... but only just: 8 medals to 7 !!!!! It was a close finish, which the Axis could have won with a single roll from their artillary, onto a single infantry figure, who was wondering dazed across the beach ... they rolled an armor symbol, leaving the Allies to motor into one of the many undefended towns to pick up their winning medal. A close run thing!

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedegrow Hell Advice Mon, 18 October 2010 12:36
You are correct about the FG being able to play a card after using Recon'1 as Barrage.

The destroyed bridge token came from the Air Pack.
Some scenario has rules for blowing up bridges and that token can be used to show a blown bridge.
No scenario so far has the broken bridge on the board from the start.

No blowing up bridges in Hedgerow Hell scenario, but it is an option on the Cadets of Saumur scenario on the flipside of Hedgerow Hell.

Stig Morten

Glad to hear you had fun.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 October 2010 12:37]

      
    
Previous Topic:OBG's take (and yours?) on the new units
Next Topic:Overlord - max cards in hand
Goto Forum: