Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sheridan
Member
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 95
Registered:
December 2008
Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 15:01
Hi

More than happy as my air pack has arrived, but i have a couple of questions - i have checked the FAQ too.

1. Under Interdiction an armor unit can battle. Can it still do an over run?

2. If i used the plane for strafing and so it can't do interdiction, can enemy units adjacent move away, and/or through the hex that contains the plane?

3. If i don't move the plane so it is removed from the board, do i get another plane via an air-sortie, or air-sortie equivilaant - i.e. do planes have an "endless" supply?

4. If i lose a plane through air check or Kamikaze and the opponent gets a medal, can i get another plane later in the game (relates to question above).

5. If the scenario states i start with a Storch but lose it, if i can get another plane during the game via an air sortie etc, does it have to be a Storch, or can i use an me-109?

6. Scenario 1 - Yellow Beach. What does the "29 S" mean under the number 1?

7. The air pack symbol is not on Yellow Beach and the rules don't say that air rules are in effect. However, at the start of the book it says all scenarios may be used with the air pack. If this scenario wasn't tested with air pack rules, it is just up to the players if they want to use them? - That is in the FAQ but i didn't understand the statement on there.




Thanks

[Updated on: Fri, 22 October 2010 15:05]

      
OldBloodandGuts
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 306
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 15:11
Haha...these questions remind me of why I quickly gave up on using the air rules. Enjoy your Air Pack! Smile
      
Sheridan
Member
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 95
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 15:17
OldBloodandGuts wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:11

Haha...these questions remind me of why I quickly gave up on using the air rules. Enjoy your Air Pack! Smile



Damn........The air pack is out of print and i had to order from the states, so paid alot for P&P and then had to pay customs here. Hope it wasn't a mistake........... Confused
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 19:06
Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 15:01

Hi

More than happy as my air pack has arrived, but i have a couple of questions - i have checked the FAQ too.

1. Under Interdiction an armor unit can battle. Can it still do an over run? NO

2. If i used the plane for strafing and so it can't do interdiction, can enemy units adjacent move away, and/or through the hex that contains the plane? If the Airplane has used the strafing action, enemy units can move normally on their turn. ie, they can move away. Ground units can not move through a hex containing an Air Plane

3. If i don't move the plane so it is removed from the board, do i get another plane via an air-sortie, or air-sortie equivilaant - i.e. do planes have an "endless" supply? Yes, supply is unlimited

4. If i lose a plane through air check or Kamikaze and the opponent gets a medal, can i get another plane later in the game (relates to question above). Yes, supply is unlimited

5. If the scenario states i start with a Storch but lose it, if i can get another plane during the game via an air sortie etc, does it have to be a Storch, or can i use an me-109? After the Storch is gone, you can choose

6. Scenario 1 - Yellow Beach. What does the "29 S" mean under the number 1? Numbering system for scenarios. Not really anything you need to know or use anytime soon. 1 is new number, 29S is old numbering

7. The air pack symbol is not on Yellow Beach and the rules don't say that air rules are in effect. However, at the start of the book it says all scenarios may be used with the air pack. If this scenario wasn't tested with air pack rules, it is just up to the players if they want to use them? - That is in the FAQ but i didn't understand the statement on there.

If Air Rules isn't mentioned it is up to you if you want to use it. Give each player 1 Air Sortie card if you use it.




Thanks



I think the Air Pack is a worthwhile purchase, but I don't always use the Air rules. I used the Air Planes to great effect during my Fall Gelb campaign from the Campaign book. I was the germans and harrassed the Allied units with Airplanes and had a blast.

Stig Morten

[Updated on: Fri, 22 October 2010 22:41]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 20:27
Stig Morten did a great job answering your questions. The Air Pack is a great expansion to have and comes with so many great things...you won't regret having it!

I too enjoy playing with the Air Rules as they are written but when it comes down to it, as long as you're having fun you don't have to follow the rules exactly the way they're designed. Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1406
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 20:35
Sheridan, you have an alternative to the air pack rules, I have my own rules available on my user page that I have been using for about two years now. I keep improving on them, and I am about to make a couple of more improvements, but right now doctor appointments are keeping me busy.

      
OldBloodandGuts
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 306
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 21:06
Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:17

OldBloodandGuts wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:11

Haha...these questions remind me of why I quickly gave up on using the air rules. Enjoy your Air Pack! Smile



Damn........The air pack is out of print and i had to order from the states, so paid alot for P&P and then had to pay customs here. Hope it wasn't a mistake........... Confused


Nope, it wasn't a mistake. There's lots of good stuff in there with cards and the scenario book. The minis are even neat. But I'm with ad79 -- I almost never use air rule (it's a joke around my house to call them the "Err Rules" Smile )

Although the air rules are cumbersome, mine is more of a philosophical objection, because it puts aircraft, which were mostly used strategically in the war, into a tactical role.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 903
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 21:08
Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:01


2. If i used the plane for strafing and so it can't do interdiction, can enemy units adjacent move away, and/or through the hex that contains the plane?



If you are NOT using interdiction, and as you say, you ARE using strafing, then adjacent enemy units CAN move, however, enemy units can never move through the hex that contains the plane.

This contradicts what Stig Morten said above. If someone disagrees, please site the rule/card, as this is how I have always played.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 21:13
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 12:08

Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:01


2. If i used the plane for strafing and so it can't do interdiction, can enemy units adjacent move away, and/or through the hex that contains the plane?



If you are NOT using interdiction, and as you say, you ARE using strafing, then adjacent enemy units CAN move, however, enemy units can never move through the hex that contains the plane.

This contradicts what Stig Morten said above. If someone disagrees, please site the rule/card, as this is how I have always played.


Good catch...the units can indeed move but they cannot move under the plane. That would be a mistake that Stig can correct when he has a chance. Razz

[Updated on: Fri, 22 October 2010 21:14]

      
Sheridan
Member
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 95
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 21:38
Hi everyone

I really appreciate all the replies, so thanks to you all.

I am looking forward to this weekend to start using the air pack in earnest.

Next step - winter wars.....


Thanks.

      
Nordiskanc
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 370
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 22:04
OldBloodandGuts wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 15:06

Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:17

OldBloodandGuts wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:11

Haha...these questions remind me of why I quickly gave up on using the air rules. Enjoy your Air Pack! Smile



Damn........The air pack is out of print and i had to order from the states, so paid alot for P&P and then had to pay customs here. Hope it wasn't a mistake........... Confused


Nope, it wasn't a mistake. There's lots of good stuff in there with cards and the scenario book. The minis are even neat. But I'm with ad79 -- I almost never use air rule (it's a joke around my house to call them the "Err Rules" Smile )

Although the air rules are cumbersome, mine is more of a philosophical objection, because it puts aircraft, which were mostly used strategically in the war, into a tactical role.



differing view points, the air pack is the least used expansion for me and my gaming group (not counting the bag)
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Air Pack Has Arrived....couple of questions Fri, 22 October 2010 22:39
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 21:08

Sheridan wrote on Fri, 22 October 2010 09:01


2. If i used the plane for strafing and so it can't do interdiction, can enemy units adjacent move away, and/or through the hex that contains the plane?



If you are NOT using interdiction, and as you say, you ARE using strafing, then adjacent enemy units CAN move, however, enemy units can never move through the hex that contains the plane.

This contradicts what Stig Morten said above. If someone disagrees, please site the rule/card, as this is how I have always played.


Thanks, I see I only answered the last part of the question. I'll edit
      
    
Previous Topic:Carentan Causeway
Next Topic:Recommended World War 2 Book for Boy aged 7
Goto Forum: