Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Mon, 11 October 2010 21:05
When we bought recently the terrain expansion set, the shop kindly gave us the vercours campaign booklet. Young lad desperately keen to play but we only have so far the basic memoir set and the terrain expansion set, The book for vercours campaign booklet seems to suggest you need also the campaign volume one book to play it, but on reading it all seems logical and self standing including how to score and what bonus or malus to take into each battle dependent on the result of the previous one. So question, do we really need the campaign volume one book and if so for what additional info. I ask as if the answer to this is yes guess the next add on we will buy is the campaign book and not the eastern front expansion set we were thinking of.

Thanks a lot and hope above makes sense

Simon
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Mon, 11 October 2010 21:51
The Campaign book is needed for the Mortar badges used in 4 of the Vercors scenarios, but the rules for that unit is available online in the card compendium and if you want to play with the new Late War Mortar rules, you can look at page 9 in the Winter Wars rules.
Other than that the Campaign Book provides the Victory event rolls and what effect they have.(Also available online at rasmussen81's user page or on Campaign Book game page)

The Vercors Campaign is very good, I have gone through it 2 times and it has some very cool scenarios.

Note that in scenario 5 the victory condition should be 6 medals.

If you like Campaigns, THe Campaign Book provides you with 3 more cmapaigns. Normandy playable with Basegame only, Fall Gelb with Basegame and Terrain Pack and Barbarossa needs the Eastern Front also. Winter/desert board used for visual effect and Air Pack is required for a few scenarios, but I think you should be able to play without it.

Eastern Front is a very cool army pack and adds the new command rules for the Russians. I really like that way to play.

Stig Morten
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2937
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Mon, 11 October 2010 22:19
You could just as well use a special unit badge from the basic game to indicate the MORTAR unit. Also, an ENGINEER unit in one of the scenarios would also need a badge. So really no further purchase is necessary. Just use the special unit badges you already have and remember who is who.

OOOPS!
Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

I looked closer and saw all the different terrain types from Terrain pack, etc. If you are creative with paper and scissors you can make your own in order to play the scenarios.

[Updated on: Tue, 12 October 2010 00:13]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Tue, 12 October 2010 04:13
Sdmmb,

Since you now have the Terrain Pack, you'll be able to substitute some other badges for the ones you don't have in the Vercours Campaign. You'll just have to remember what they stand for.

The Campaign Book itself is a lot of fun, so I would support the choice of buying that next. If you like Vercours, you'll love the Campaign Book! But when it comes down to it, any expansion will be fun as your next one...they're all great and you'll want most of them eventually anyway! Cool
      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Tue, 12 October 2010 08:38
Thanks a lot to everyone. Think this weekend's plans now fixed!!


Simon
      
Funlerz
Member

User Pages
Posts: 96
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Tue, 12 October 2010 14:12
stevens wrote on Mon, 11 October 2010 16:19


OOOPS!
Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

I looked closer and saw all the different terrain types from Terrain pack, etc. If you are creative with paper and scissors you can make your own in order to play the scenarios.


Hey stevens, he does have the terrain pack, no need for oopsing about that Razz
      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Wed, 03 November 2010 08:59
In the case of victory in a battle in the Vercors campaign, do i just apply the indictaions given in the vercors campaign book for each battle dependent whether it is in an allies or allied victory. This seems to be self-standing but one or two seem to be suggesting that in addition to this, I also have to apply the victory event roll conditions in the campaign book on pages 6-7 and summarised on Rasmussen's site.

I think it is the first as they all seem self evident but after playing all the scenarios in the base set, terrain pack and eastern pacific, this is on the agenda for this weekend with my young lad and wanted to double check.

Sorry if this seems a bit simplistic but still do not yet have the campiagn book.

Simon

P.S. In terms of next expansions was thinking of following order with generally 2-3 months between: air pack (before print runs out); eastern front with board; winter wars; med front; breakthrough; campaing book. Sound sensible?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Wed, 03 November 2010 10:06
Sdmmb wrote on Wed, 03 November 2010 11:59

In the case of victory in a battle in the Vercors campaign, do i just apply the indictaions given in the vercors campaign book for each battle dependent whether it is in an allies or allied victory. This seems to be self-standing but one or two seem to be suggesting that in addition to this, I also have to apply the victory event roll conditions in the campaign book on pages 6-7 and summarised on Rasmussen's site.


If possible and where applicable it would be helpful to include quotes or page numbers to go with your questions. That way when we're trying to help you, everyone knows where you're looking and what the confusion is.

I'm not sure I understand your question here, but I'll give it a try...If the Allies win the first battle, you read the little box under Maquis of Malleval and the Allied Player gets 3 mines and 4 barbed wire (page 4). If the Axis win, you read the Maquis of Mallayal text and the player gets an Armor unit (page 5). On page 2 the text tells us that we use the Core Campaign Rules except that nobody gets reinforcements...that means that after each battle you will still roll the Victory Events just like every other campaign and apply the standard results (I believe my help page includes that information).


Quote:

P.S. In terms of next expansions was thinking of following order with generally 2-3 months between: air pack (before print runs out); eastern front with board; winter wars; med front; breakthrough; campaing book. Sound sensible?


That schedule would work well. Sounds like you'll be having fun with Memoir '44 for a long time to come!! Enjoy and let us know if you have any other questions.
      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Wed, 03 November 2010 11:46
Rasmussen,

Thanks a lot.

Sorry if I was not clear. What I was trying to clarify was if in addition to applying the consequences of a victory as set out on page 4 and 5 of the vercors booklet, which seemed very clear to me I ALSO applied the victory event rule as well (as set out in the campaign book page 6-7). IE each victory would give rise to two bonuses in next battle.

My initial understanding was No, I should only do the first ie that set out in the Vercors booklet and not the second, but your email and clear explanation seems to suggest that i do both.

Presume that is correct and thanks again!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Wed, 03 November 2010 11:53
Don't worry about the clarity issue. Smile It's always hard to make sure we're all talking about the same thing, even when we use page numbers and quotes. Apparently you were clear enough, though, that I was able to answer your question!

Yes, in every battle except for the first one you will apply the Victory Event Roll. It's important to note that both players get to roll for the Victory Event (but the winner of previous scenarios get an extra die for each victory). The winner will enjoy two benefits (the Victory Event Roll and the action from the book), while the loser only gets the one (the Victory Event Roll).

I hope this makes it clear! Cool Let us know if you still have any questions and have fun!

[Updated on: Thu, 04 November 2010 13:48]

      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Fri, 05 November 2010 21:40
Well first battle over and got whopped by my 7 year old who took the axis troops! One small clarification, am I correct in understanding that mortars can always ignore line of sight rules and terrain protection like artillery as not 100% sure that this is now the same for mortars in the new winter war rules as it was for mortars I think in old rules?

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Fri, 05 November 2010 22:46
Old mortars (-42)

move(1 or 2) and not battle
or

not move and battle (3-2-1), ignore LOS and Terrain protection

New mortars(42-)

move(1) and battle like standard infantry (3-2-1), needs LOS (EDIT: FOR ME THE RULES ARE A LITTLE AMBIGIOUS ON THIS ONE. CAN ALSO BE INTERPRETED AS IGNORE LOS IN THIS CASE ALSO.) and terrain protection applies
or
not move and battle like mortar (3-2-1-1), ignore LOS and terrain protection

In Vercors you should use the new Mortar rule

Stig Morten

[Updated on: Fri, 05 November 2010 22:57]

      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Thu, 11 November 2010 18:52
Just played last scenario and finally won a battle even if bizarrely I think I won 5-7 as my son did not get the strategic medal he needed as the Germans. Would be interested in knowing why ad79 flags need for six medals. Is that only for the Germans or where do you see this corrigendum as the version available here on the web also says you need 5 medals,

One question I have not been able to find an answer to. Do you reduce your dice roll when firing from a mountain hex to a hill hex by one with infantry or do you consider that as you are firing from high to low, there is no need?


Thanks

[Updated on: Thu, 11 November 2010 18:53]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Thu, 11 November 2010 20:25
The Vercors booklet says 5 medals in both the dowloadable pdf and the printed booklet that DoW shipped to customers.


The Offical scenario section says 6 medals as win condition for Battle for the passes. Link here. http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=6088

jdrommel(campaign/scenario creator) confirmed that it should be 6 medals in an answer to stevens in this thread:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=181390#msg_181390

Below is the full post by stevens that confirms it.

Stig Morten

stevens wrote on Sat, 19 December 2009 13:25

Dear Sam,
Check out this thread:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=180681#msg_180681

I finally ended up by writing Jdrommel as he was the creator of this scenario and this was his response:
Quote:

Hi Stevens,

Sorry for the delay of my answer.
The answer is 6 medals for this battle, including the medal token in the "Grande Cabane" hexagon for the Axis player.

There is a misprint in the paper, I am really sorry of that.
Nobody has saw this misprint before
I will say it to DoW and place a post in the forums.
Thanks for your remarks.
Regards,
Jdrommel.


He was going to follow up with DOW to get their official response and post it on the Forum in the future. So this is the mostly official answer unil we hear directly from DOW.Hope this is helpful

      
Sdmmb
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Thu, 11 November 2010 21:14
Thanks. Just lost my only victory of campaign. Won't tell my son!!

Sad
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Vercours campaign booklet. Do you need campaign volume 1 to play? Thu, 11 November 2010 21:38
jdrommel also said that the Germans can't get more than 6 medals in the last scenario, no matter how many units they elliminate.
Also true for the second to last scenario in the campaign.

This to awoid a situation where the German can elliminate enough Allied units to take the win, without going for the strategic objective hex.

Stig Morten
      
    
Previous Topic:Their Finest Hour record?
Next Topic:Modification of rules/scenarios for younger players?
Goto Forum: