Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Double Ambush
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 618
Registered:
May 2008
Double Ambush Sun, 21 November 2010 09:22
This came up in a overlord solo game i played.
I had 2 Ambush cards at game start in my axis hand.
Can you then Ambush 2 times in the same turn?
Thanks.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7108
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 21 November 2010 09:37
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 21 November 2010 12:22

This came up in a overlord solo game i played.
I had 2 Ambush cards at game start in my axis hand.
Can you then Ambush 2 times in the same turn?
Thanks.


Sure, why not?

I can just imagine the look on your face when you played both of those...on yourself! Laughing Laughing
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 618
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 21 November 2010 10:27
My opponent had a pokerface , i did not see it coming Very Happy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7108
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 21 November 2010 12:23
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 21 November 2010 13:27

My opponent had a pokerface , i did not see it coming Very Happy


Laughing Laughing You'll have to keep working on those observation skills! Very Happy
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3050
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 21 November 2010 13:15
OKay JJaz, you have me worried now about our game tomorrow.

Actually, even if playing a regular scenario with the COMBAT CARDS the same situation can repeat itself. It would be possible to have both the AMBUSH card and the AMBUSCADE CARD:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=ambuscade

Big Ouch!
That's an offense killer.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2259
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Double Ambush Mon, 22 November 2010 00:05
Nothing in the rules forbids double-Ambush. Sounds perfectly doable to me.

Imagine the Breakthrough deck with Winter Combat cards. 2 Ambushes, and presumably an Ambuscade-type card, and then perhaps an Out of Ammo. Pity the poor SF Panzer that runs into all that.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2115
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Double Ambush Mon, 22 November 2010 00:41
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 21 November 2010 03:22

This came up in a overlord solo game i played.
I had 2 Ambush cards at game start in my axis hand.
Can you then Ambush 2 times in the same turn?
Thanks.



Hmm,you are not talking about playing two Ambushes on the same attacking unit in the same turn before it even gets to fire once, are you?

It sounds like you question may have sparked just such a discussion.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7108
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Double Ambush Mon, 22 November 2010 02:44
tank commander wrote on Mon, 22 November 2010 03:41

JJAZ wrote on Sun, 21 November 2010 03:22

This came up in a overlord solo game i played.
I had 2 Ambush cards at game start in my axis hand.
Can you then Ambush 2 times in the same turn?
Thanks.



Hmm,you are not talking about playing two Ambushes on the same attacking unit in the same turn before it even gets to fire once, are you?

It sounds like you question may have sparked just such a discussion.




I think that's exactly what he's talking about... Smile
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Double Ambush Mon, 22 November 2010 11:47
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 22 November 2010 02:44

tank commander wrote on Mon, 22 November 2010 03:41

JJAZ wrote on Sun, 21 November 2010 03:22

This came up in a overlord solo game i played.
I had 2 Ambush cards at game start in my axis hand.
Can you then Ambush 2 times in the same turn?
Thanks.



Hmm,you are not talking about playing two Ambushes on the same attacking unit in the same turn before it even gets to fire once, are you?

It sounds like you question may have sparked just such a discussion.




I think that's exactly what he's talking about... Smile


I agree that you are able to use 2 AMBUSH cards on the same turn,
but
I disagree to the statement that an Attacking unit can have 2 AMBUSH cards played against the same announced close combat. I think a unit can only AMBUSH an attacking unit once for each ammounced attack.

But if you have 2 AMBUSH cards you can AMBUSH the initial attack and the Armor Overrun attack if such a condition apply.

Bottom line: Only 1 interruption(Ambush, Ambuscade, Out of Fuel, etc) per annonced Close Combat. That is my interpretation.

Stig Morten
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3050
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Double Ambush Mon, 22 November 2010 13:14
 Page 5 WINTER WARS RULES:
Quote:

There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a
player may hold or the number of Combat cards he
may play during his, or an opponent's, turn.


I will agree that only 1 AMBUSH COMMAND CARD per DECLARED BATTLE is a fair and reasonable way to play. However, the rules seem to imply that any number of COMBAT CARDS (AMBUSCADE, OUT OF AMMO, etc) could be played on one opposing unit during the opponents turn.

[Updated on: Mon, 22 November 2010 13:17]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 618
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Double Ambush Tue, 23 November 2010 08:02
Guys , I was talking to myself , ok!
I did not want to start WW3 Laughing
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Double Ambush Tue, 23 November 2010 08:22
stevens wrote on Mon, 22 November 2010 13:14

 Page 5 WINTER WARS RULES:
Quote:

There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a
player may hold or the number of Combat cards he
may play during his, or an opponent's, turn.


I will agree that only 1 AMBUSH COMMAND CARD per DECLARED BATTLE is a fair and reasonable way to play. However, the rules seem to imply that any number of COMBAT CARDS (AMBUSCADE, OUT OF AMMO, etc) could be played on one opposing unit during the opponents turn.



To me it seems completely illogical that you can ambush the same enemy unit twice with 1 unit.

I am moving in to attack you and you AMBUSH me. Ok, my bad.
BUT that you are able to AMBUSH me again before I can launch my attack against you. I admit I might not be the smartest, most tactically savy soldier, but this rule seems seriously odd to me, you gave up your position when you AMBUSHED me the first time, and you imply that I'll let you hide again to AMBUSH me a second time. Rolling Eyes

Not directed at anyone special, just illustrating my point.

What we need here is an official clarification from Richard.

Does it mean we can play as many INTERRUPT COMBAT CARDS(AMBUSCADE, OUT OF AMMO, etc) cards we like
1. on the opponents turn, but only 1 against EACH DECLEARED ATTACK
or
2. on an opponents DECLEARED ATTACK

AND

Can 2 AMBUSH Command cards be played against the same DECLEARED attack? (Apply to both Overlord and new Breakthrough deck and with 2 decks shuffled together)

AND

Can you play an AMBUSH command card AND then an INTERRUPT COMBAT CARD, before the opponent gets to attack?

Richard, can you clarify this?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7108
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Double Ambush Tue, 23 November 2010 09:20
ad79 wrote on Tue, 23 November 2010 11:22

To me it seems completely illogical that you can ambush the same enemy unit twice with 1 unit.

I am moving in to attack you and you AMBUSH me. Ok, my bad.
BUT that you are able to AMBUSH me again before I can launch my attack against you. I admit I might not be the smartest, most tactically savy soldier, but this rule seems seriously odd to me, you gave up your position when you AMBUSHED me the first time, and you imply that I'll let you hide again to AMBUSH me a second time. Rolling Eyes


At first I was thinking that you should be able to Ambush twice in a row...before the poor sap gets to attack at all. But now I'm thinking that might not make much sense. Here's how I could see it working, though: My unit is actually a larger group of men than I usually think of. So if I break my unit into smaller groups and one group ambushes your troops as they enter my trap...and then just as your troops are recovering from the Ambush my second group attacks from a different hiding place! That could work. Razz

I agree, though...it sounds like we need some help with this one because I could see it from either side! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Double Ambush Tue, 23 November 2010 18:50
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 23 November 2010 09:20

ad79 wrote on Tue, 23 November 2010 11:22

To me it seems completely illogical that you can ambush the same enemy unit twice with 1 unit.

I am moving in to attack you and you AMBUSH me. Ok, my bad.
BUT that you are able to AMBUSH me again before I can launch my attack against you. I admit I might not be the smartest, most tactically savy soldier, but this rule seems seriously odd to me, you gave up your position when you AMBUSHED me the first time, and you imply that I'll let you hide again to AMBUSH me a second time. Rolling Eyes


At first I was thinking that you should be able to Ambush twice in a row...before the poor sap gets to attack at all. But now I'm thinking that might not make much sense. Here's how I could see it working, though: My unit is actually a larger group of men than I usually think of. So if I break my unit into smaller groups and one group ambushes your troops as they enter my trap...and then just as your troops are recovering from the Ambush my second group attacks from a different hiding place! That could work. Razz

I agree, though...it sounds like we need some help with this one because I could see it from either side! Cool


Let's just wait for the official ruling, as this, like most ambigious parts of the game, can look very doable because the system can support multiple wievs on the matter.

But I still think the rules mean "per turn" and not "per Decleared attack".
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2115
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Double Ambush Thu, 25 November 2010 17:06
Alright, as to the back to back AMBUSH card play on the same declared attack.....

Text on the Ambush card:

"If your opponent's unit wasn't eliminated or forced to retreat, it may then attack normally."

So that sounds to me like the Ambushed unit is entitled to attack after an Ambush.

Playing a second Ambush before the attacking unit got to fire would be ignoring what is stated on the card.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 618
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Double Ambush Thu, 25 November 2010 17:59
I would agree on that john.
Maybe i don't read good enough what is on the cards.

So i presume if you play a combat deck and ambuscade the same would apply.

Thanks

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3050
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 28 November 2010 13:31
I think John has a reasonable argument. However, this is one battle we are referencing. If there were three battles on your opponent's turn and you had 2 AMBUSH cards and 1 AMBUSCADE card, I believe you could play one of these cards on each of the declared battles.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 28 November 2010 18:12
stevens wrote on Sun, 28 November 2010 13:31

I think John has a reasonable argument. However, this is one battle we are referencing. If there were three battles on your opponent's turn and you had 2 AMBUSH cards and 1 AMBUSCADE card, I believe you could play one of these cards on each of the declared battles.


This I can agree to, stevens.
1 Ambush or Ambuscade per attack.

      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 28 November 2010 18:13
unless they are attacking the winning last fig unit!!!! anything to live!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2115
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Double Ambush Sun, 28 November 2010 21:54
stevens wrote on Sun, 28 November 2010 07:31

If there were three battles on your opponent's turn and you had 2 AMBUSH cards and 1 AMBUSCADE card, I believe you could play one of these cards on each of the declared battles.


We are on the same page on the above.


      
    
Previous Topic:FAQ v1.3 Available
Next Topic:For those of you who use MotionX-Dice Plus...
Goto Forum: