Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Fri, 26 November 2010 23:10
Okay... units are only HIT on a grenade at range ( and stars if applicable ), and on the unit symbol in "Close Assault". Got that. The barrage card is played normally hitting on symbols and Grenades.

So is Artillery being indirect fire also, subject to only hitting on a grenade also? or full Range of Grenade and symbol???

Flags are flags.

But the Barrage card makes me think that Artillery should not be reduced mainly because of the randomness inherent in indirect fire to begin with.

So what do y'all think???

Is indirect Artillery restricted by reduced visibility???

Not in real life....

So how do you play it?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Fri, 26 November 2010 23:15
Good question, but I will do as we are most often adviced to do.

Read the rule as it stands. Artillery that battles from range hit only on grenade, artillery that battles in close assault hit on grenade and unit symbol.

Stig Morten
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Sat, 27 November 2010 06:00
Read the rule as it stands. Artillery that battles from range hit only on grenade, artillery that battles in close assault hit on grenade and unit symbol.

Richard Borg
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Sat, 27 November 2010 06:03
I hit return before Razz

Richard Borg
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Sat, 27 November 2010 16:11
Thanks for the answer Richard, sometimes the intent of the card is a little different than the wording, and I just wanted to be sure.
      
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 207
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Sun, 28 November 2010 21:57
Another question:

Quote:

Any non-Infantry unit targeting a Tank
Destroyer unit will score a hit on any star rolled.


Hit these units also the tank destroyer in range fire and
Reduced Visibility rules?
      
numquam retro
Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 86
Registered:
May 2010
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Mon, 29 November 2010 09:19
Winter Wars rulebook p.4

Special units, Command or Combat cards that score a hit when a Star is rolled, still score hits on Stars.


So I guess, when Reduced Visibility is applied, non-infantry units hit a tank destroyer also on a star, like this is a "special rule".

[Updated on: Mon, 29 November 2010 09:20]

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3106
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars, Reduced visablity question Mon, 29 November 2010 13:55
That's the way I read it!

[Updated on: Mon, 29 November 2010 13:56]

      
    
Previous Topic:When to use Air rules?
Next Topic:The Campaign Collection thread
Goto Forum: