Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Dig in at Dieppe.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 13:00
Just to keep everyone warm at the forum.

My next question:

If you play Dieppe overlord and you get the Dig in card.
I presume there are no more sandbags available to a player wanting to dig in?

The seawall is already made of severall pieces and is not removed during play.

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 13:57
I would say use another piece to mark those units that dig in.
That's how I would play it. To me it is pretty lame that there are only X number of sandbags available.

No official answer, but my way of playing.

      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 16:00
Want more sandbags???? Buy another base set.

But really if you ever run out of bag figs, just use a marker such as an unused road block???

      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 17:07
Is that allowed?

I know that combat cards make a big deal of the fact that you can only bring on a full-strength unit as reinforcements, and that if you haven't got enough figures, then tough (no half units)
I wonder if there's a similar issue with sandbags- once you've used all the sandbags, that's your lot
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 17:17
The card says, "Available Sandbags" so the Official rule is that you can only place sandbags that haven't been used and are available with the set...but as always, you can play it any way you want to! Cool
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 17:23
Early on... when there was just the one box set, that was the case. No fig, can't have it.

But now with so many sets and so many figs...

Even the Overlord set gives you cardboard chits to use if you don't have enough figs.

I use my Brits and Japanese figs together on overlord maps...
I replace the live Japs with dead Brit figs, but I have them...

Even Have a set of figs I got a a Con for for 2 bucks I plan to white flock for winter use.

As the old saying go's... "the map is not the terrain", and thus the figs are not the unit.

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Mon, 29 November 2010 20:57
The card says, "Available Sandbags" so the Official rule is that you can only place sandbags that haven't been used and are available with the set...but as always, you can play it any way you want to

So officially the answer would be no then Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 03:06
JJAZ wrote on Mon, 29 November 2010 23:57



So officially the answer would be no then Razz


Correct! Very Happy Though if you own two sets and want to consider them "available" you could probably do that! But for the average player when the card was written, they would have been limited to the sandbags found in a single base game. Cool
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 06:52
and for people that own three sets of minis????

or made custom minis???

guess it's what ever floats your boat....
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 08:26
Randwulf wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 09:52

and for people that own three sets of minis????

or made custom minis???

guess it's what ever floats your boat....


If we're looking for the "Official answer" I think we could look at Memoir '44 Online for guidance with a question like this. Rolling Eyes

If we're playing a regular scenario and somehow all of the sandbags are already on the board, I suspect we would not be allowed to place any more Sandbags...because they are no longer 'available'. The same would hold true when we are able to play Overlord scenarios and 24 sandbags are in use. So, while people can always use a third set or their own custom sandbags, the official answer would be that you are limited to the number of sandbags found in the number of sets you're playing with.

But when it comes down to it, how often would this situation even come up?! Rolling Eyes I've only had to deal with this one or two times before! Very Happy
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 11:12
I agree that would be the official ruling, but preventing a unit(s) from getting their trenching tools out and creating cover, when cover is such a vital part of WW2 gaming, seems harsh.

I would favour using some kind of token for the sea wall and then place the spare sandbag models on the Dug In unit(s), removing them of course when the unit decides to break cover and move off the beach. House rule I know.

[Updated on: Tue, 30 November 2010 11:12]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2192
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 11:27
This subject was somewhat addressed - at least as far as spare figs go -- in the Campaign Book on pg 4 --

Deployment - 1st Para:

"To deploy a Reserve unit directly onto the battlefield, you must have enough spare figures of the matching unit type available immediately after game set-up (owners of multiple copies of the game are free to use figures from their second game box, if needed).

Underlines are mine.

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2192
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 11:29
I guess that in a ftf game where both players are using their own sets for their side's forces only, the owner of 2+ base games would have a larger reserve of pieces to draw from -- the player with one set, would not.

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 14:43
Be a good scout- COME PREPARED.
Laughing
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 19:53
stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 14:43

Be a good scout- COME PREPARED.
Laughing


And do I remember correct when I think you have 4 (!) basegames?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2192
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 21:53
ad79 wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 13:53

stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 14:43

Be a good scout- COME PREPARED.
Laughing


And do I remember correct when I think you have 4 (!) basegames?


Dang, he has got me beat, I only have three Sad
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3099
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 21:54
Yes I do have FOUR basegames. But Jesse has everybody beat hands down.

Or get you some more on Ebay...
http://cgi.ebay.com/Memoir-44-Game-Parts-Allied-Obstacles-x3 -/360302447372?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item53e3b30b0c #ht_1760wt_907

[Updated on: Tue, 30 November 2010 21:57]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2192
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Tue, 30 November 2010 21:56
stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 15:54

Yes I do have FOUR basegames. But Jesse has everybody beat hands down.



Yes, I believe he has 70 or so Laughing
      
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 328
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 00:55
As sandbags are temporal rapidly erected defenses, I use "overturned" trucks or halftracks for them! Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 05:03
tank commander wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 00:56

stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 15:54

Yes I do have FOUR basegames. But Jesse has everybody beat hands down.



Yes, I believe he has 70 or so Laughing


Only about 12... Very Happy Cool But in the United Sates I run an after-school program for elementary students! Now that I'm in the United Arab Emirates I'll be running a Memoir '44 club with them as well...so only two of the sets are for me! Razz
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 07:32
Makes me think of a joke.
A singer meets a fan and the fan says , "I've got all your records"
The singer answers "Ah that is you,who got all my records"
Rolling Eyes
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 09:27
JJAZ wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 13:32

Makes me think of a joke.
A singer meets a fan and the fan says , "I've got all your records"
The singer answers "Ah that is you,who got all my records"
Rolling Eyes


hi Johan, how are you ?
how come you haven't sign up the online program yet Smile
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 13:06
Hi steve.

I do not fancy it and do not like to risk my computer to get any damage from it.
Also paying in the future to use it i don't like the idear.
I have ticket to ride for the family 3 games in total and that is free to play online.

I bought so far all the stuff of memoir and i keep doing that,
As long as i can play on vassal and the ladder i keep also doing that.(i have very few opportunities to play face to face over here in Belgium , mainly because the game is only in English or French.)

The day my only option is to play online and pay online , then that will be the end off the above.

But in the mean time you enjoy it and good luck with your ladder match.

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Wed, 01 December 2010 18:29
The printed maps have sandbag figures printed on the map. In the Dieppe scenario maybe just don't place the plastic sandbag figures on the seawall spaces and then you have plenty to spare.Smile

Personally, I would ignore this rule about only placing available sandbags, especially in scenarios where the sandbags aren't used as sandbags. Dig In is a pretty useless card to begin with in most cases, so if you want to follow this lame rule, at least remove the Dig In card(s) from the deck.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Thu, 02 December 2010 02:41
Sgt Storm wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 21:29

The printed maps have sandbag figures printed on the map. In the Dieppe scenario maybe just don't place the plastic sandbag figures on the seawall spaces and then you have plenty to spare.Smile


If you don't put anything on the board, how can you remember that the sandbags no longer protect a unit after it moves off the hex? Razz I'm afraid my memory isn't that good! Laughing
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Thu, 02 December 2010 03:39
JJAZ wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 19:06

Hi steve.

I do not fancy it and do not like to risk my computer to get any damage from it.
Also paying in the future to use it i don't like the idear.
I have ticket to ride for the family 3 games in total and that is free to play online.

I bought so far all the stuff of memoir and i keep doing that,
As long as i can play on vassal and the ladder i keep also doing that.(i have very few opportunities to play face to face over here in Belgium , mainly because the game is only in English or French.)

The day my only option is to play online and pay online , then that will be the end off the above.

But in the mean time you enjoy it and good luck with your ladder match.




i understand your decision, but since this is still open beta and you get free 100 GI to try, i don't think it's harmful to play, and probably in the future, there's an adjustment to this scheme, who knows Smile

good luck also with your ladder match
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Thu, 02 December 2010 12:17
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 02 December 2010 01:41

Sgt Storm wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 21:29

The printed maps have sandbag figures printed on the map. In the Dieppe scenario maybe just don't place the plastic sandbag figures on the seawall spaces and then you have plenty to spare.Smile


If you don't put anything on the board, how can you remember that the sandbags no longer protect a unit after it moves off the hex? Razz I'm afraid my memory isn't that good! Laughing


For ordinary sandbags, maybe. But presumably the Sea Wall stays put regardless. So you could sandbag sandbags, but leave Sea Walls as Printed?
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 905
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Fri, 03 December 2010 18:28
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 20:41

Sgt Storm wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 21:29

The printed maps have sandbag figures printed on the map. In the Dieppe scenario maybe just don't place the plastic sandbag figures on the seawall spaces and then you have plenty to spare.Smile


If you don't put anything on the board, how can you remember that the sandbags no longer protect a unit after it moves off the hex? Razz I'm afraid my memory isn't that good! Laughing


Yeah, I'm saying don't place sandbags when they aren't actually used as sandbags, in this case, the seawalls, so that you don't run out of sandbags for Dig In (if you care about that rule). Place sandbags where appropriate though (when they can be removed), which is when they actually are sandbags in the scenario.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Sat, 04 December 2010 04:03
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 03 December 2010 21:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 20:41

Sgt Storm wrote on Wed, 01 December 2010 21:29

The printed maps have sandbag figures printed on the map. In the Dieppe scenario maybe just don't place the plastic sandbag figures on the seawall spaces and then you have plenty to spare.Smile


If you don't put anything on the board, how can you remember that the sandbags no longer protect a unit after it moves off the hex? Razz I'm afraid my memory isn't that good! Laughing


Yeah, I'm saying don't place sandbags when they aren't actually used as sandbags, in this case, the seawalls, so that you don't run out of sandbags for Dig In (if you care about that rule). Place sandbags where appropriate though (when they can be removed), which is when they actually are sandbags in the scenario.


That makes sense and would work well. Smile I'm not sure how often this will come up but it's a good solution when it does come up in a Battle Map scenario.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Sat, 04 December 2010 09:47
Yeah, I'm saying don't place sandbags when they aren't actually used as sandbags, in this case, the seawalls, so that you don't run out of sandbags for Dig In (if you care about that rule). Place sandbags where appropriate though (when they can be removed), which is when they actually are sandbags in the scenario.



So at the end off the day , can you play the dig in card and put the 4 sandbags?
Even if you use 2 basic sets. a Yes or No would be good here.

Ras?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7170
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Sat, 04 December 2010 13:48
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 04 December 2010 12:47

So at the end off the day , can you play the dig in card and put the 4 sandbags?
Even if you use 2 basic sets. a Yes or No would be good here.

Ras?


Yes. Very Happy

But it's not that simple. If you went to a tournament and were playing a battle where all 12 sandbags were already used (in a Normal map game), you would probably not be able to place any more sandbags. Part of this would be following the rules where it says, "Place available sandbags" and part of it would probably just be logistics of trying to track down another base game to pull out a few sandbags and delaying a game for the move. But it would depend on the people running the tournament. The same thing would probably apply for an Overlord Battle where all 24 sandbags were already used...

In Memoir '44 Online I don't think you'll be allowed to place over 12 sandbags in a battle, but I haven't seen that come up so we can't test it very easily.

But at home, if you own two sets and you're playing a normal battle you can use Sandbags from the second set every time.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Dig in at Dieppe. Sat, 04 December 2010 18:58
Thank you general Confused
      
    
Previous Topic:Combat Card Question
Next Topic:Winter Wars - Where are the TIgers!
Goto Forum: