Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation Tue, 30 November 2010 16:15
There are 20 cards in the new deck; 8 single cards with a distinct combat command and 6 other combat commands (2 cards each). We will look at 4 of the 8 single cards in this post along with the Bitter Resistance Action. Some of this discussion has official answers and some of it has unanswered questions.

BITTER RESISTANCE
There are 11 cards with the Bitter Resistance symbol on them. These cards may be used as a BITTER RESISTANCE action instead of the Winter Combat action.

Winter Wars Rules p.5
Quote:

When a Winter Combat card features the Bitter Resistance symbol, you may either play the card as written OR as a Bitter Resistance action.

Bitter Resistance action: The unit you play Bitter Resistance on may ignore a flag rolled against it.


AMBUSCADE
Quote:

You lay in Ambuscade. Roll your battle dice first. If opponent's unit wasn't eliminated or forced to retreat, it may then attack normally.

Basically this is played the same as an AMBUSH Command Card, the difference being no replacemant card is drawn once the Combat Card is played. A question that will arise is:

Can my opponent play a Winter Combat Card after I play AMBUSCADE, declare BITTER RESISTANCE and nullify my flag thrown so that he may attack normally after the AMBUSCADE?

If the card has the Bitter Resistance Symbol, THE ANSWER IS YES.
Not only Ambush flags, but Barrage flags and Airpower flags may also be redeemed (ignored) with the Bitter Resistance Action. This card trumps them ALL. So, if you throw 2 flags and your opponent plays 2 cards as Bitter Resistance, he may hold his ground and attack normally after your Ambush.

See the following discussion:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=199672#msg_199672


CAMOUFLAGE
Quote:

Place a spare Camouflage token on 1 ordered unit's hex after the unit has moved and/or battled

The unit must either move, battle or both to be able to camouflage. The question that will arise is:

My unit starts it's turn on a wire obstacle or a mine obstacle and chooses to remove the wire or mine rather than moving this turn. Does using a battle action [i.e. removing wire (standard infantry), removing a mine (combat engineer)] count as battled for this camouflage requirement?


INFILTRATORS
Quote:

1 ordered INFANTRY unit may move up to 3 hexes. Unit may battle with 1 additional die, then move again up to 3 hexes. Terrain movement restrictions are ignored. Terrain battle restrictions still apply.

Basically you play this like BEHIND ENEMY LINES Command card for 1 ordered infantry. The problem will arise when you have ordered more than one unit. This question has yet to be answered:

When ordering multiple units and 1 unit is using INFILTRATORS, does one unit finish his whole move before the other one does anything, or do they each move...then each attack...then the INFILTRATOR move again?

PULL BACK
Quote:

Pull a defending unit back. You may retreat up to 3 hexes, through any ground units, and ignore terrain movement restrictions. Your opponent's unit loses its opportunity to battle for this turn.

This card is played after your opponent declares a Close Assault.

The question that will arise is:
Since I am going through occupied ground unit hexes (a no-no), may I also go across impassable terrain (another no-no)?
THE ANSWER IS NO.

See the discussion on the following post:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20546&start=0

[Updated on: Tue, 30 November 2010 16:23]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation Tue, 30 November 2010 19:51
Stevens, this was a very good post and should become a sticky for a while. Or maybe you shold have it become a FAQ for the Winter Combat Cards.

Some comments below.

Stig Morten

stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 16:15


CAMOUFLAGE
Quote:

Place a spare Camouflage token on 1 ordered unit's hex after the unit has moved and/or battled

The unit must either move, battle or both to be able to camouflage. The question that will arise is:

My unit starts it's turn on a wire obstacle or a mine obstacle and chooses to remove the wire or mine rather than moving this turn. Does using a battle action [i.e. removing wire (standard infantry), removing a mine (combat engineer)] count as battled for this camouflage requirement?


The normal rules tells us these actions counts as battled or are instead of battling, and I must say I think they do for this unit too.

This card has another wording than the "Fortify" card. That has "..after the unit has moved and battled".
Is this an unintentional difference or can you only Fortify units that has moved and battled? Not units that has just moved or just battled?

stevens wrote on Tue, 30 November 2010 16:15



INFILTRATORS
Quote:

1 ordered INFANTRY unit may move up to 3 hexes. Unit may battle with 1 additional die, then move again up to 3 hexes. Terrain movement restrictions are ignored. Terrain battle restrictions still apply.

Basically you play this like BEHIND ENEMY LINES Command card for 1 ordered infantry. The problem will arise when you have ordered more than one unit. This question has yet to be answered:

When ordering multiple units and 1 unit is using INFILTRATORS, does one unit finish his whole move before the other one does anything, or do they each move...then each attack...then the INFILTRATOR move again?




In the Pacific Theater the FAQ tells us what to do about BEL when played by the Marines as they can order 2 units with that card.
Too lazy to link to it but it says something like:
Move both units, battled with both units and take ground where applicable, move both units again.
I think we must assume you do the same when you play Infiltrators. Move all ordered units, battle with all ordered units, move again with the Infiltrators unit.


Another question that now arises is about the new SWA's.
Old SWA's could move and battle with BEL. Can you now choose if these units battle like infantry or SWA's when ordered by BEL?

[Updated on: Tue, 30 November 2010 19:52]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation Tue, 30 November 2010 20:52
Great job Paul.
Even clear for a non English player Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation Tue, 30 November 2010 21:41
I am anticipating the need for a separate FAQ so this is a way to get all the info in one place.
Thanks Guys!

Got to help Jesse out when we can.
Laughing Laughing Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards - Rule Interpretation Tue, 30 November 2010 21:52
FAQ p. 34
Quote:

Q. When playing as the Allies in the Pacific theater, the Marine player gets to order two Infantry units with Behind Enemy
Lines. What order do the two units move in?
A. The turn sequence as printed on page 6 of the core rules is stilled followed for both units.
1. Play a Command card - Allied player uses the Behind Enemy Lines card
2. Order - Announce the two Marine Infantry units that are being ordered.
3. Move - Move the ordered units, one at a time.
4. Battle - Battle with the ordered units, one at a time.
Because the Behind Enemy Lines allows ordered units to move again, the two ordered units may move again, one at a time.
5. Draw a new Command card.



Hey Ad79
I agree that the INFILTRATORS card should work this same way if multiple units are ordered on one turn.

I also think you are correct in thinking there is a particular REASON that CAMOUFLAGE says move, battle or both and that the FORTIFY card specifies both moving AND battling. So I think each card is distinct in it's particular application.
However, for either card, the question arises whether doing a BATTLE action (removing a wire or a mine) is the same as attacking an enemy unit?????

[Updated on: Tue, 30 November 2010 21:53]

      
    
Previous Topic:Winter Wars Shipping Date?
Next Topic:Online medals
Goto Forum: