Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Frozen Ground
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1013
Registered:
December 2006
Frozen Ground Tue, 28 December 2010 22:08
Hi all,

A little problem with the "Frozen Ground" card.
This card allows you "to move 1 hex more than their normal movement this turn".

The WW-rule book says, concerning Winter Weather, p. 4 :
"Armor and vehicle movement is reduced to 2 hexes, unless the entire movement is on a road in wich case it may move 1 additional hex for a maximum of 3.
Now there I'm confused, because playing a "Frozen Ground" would make it a 4hex move, but the maximum is 3.

HELP ! MEDIC !
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Frozen Ground Tue, 28 December 2010 22:38
In Winter Weather, the "normal" movement of armor and vehicles is reduced to 2 hexes. If you happen to make the move on a road or use a Frozen ground card that increases you normal movement by 1 hex, then you would move 3 hexes indeed.

eric
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1013
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Frozen Ground Tue, 28 December 2010 22:41
Thanks, but if you move on a road combined with a Frozen Ground ?

[Updated on: Tue, 28 December 2010 22:42]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3072
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Frozen Ground Tue, 28 December 2010 22:58
Then you move 4 hexes.
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1013
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Frozen Ground Tue, 28 December 2010 23:03
Ok. Thanks.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2167
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Frozen Ground Wed, 06 April 2011 22:42
Ok, the card states "Up to 3 ordered units may move 1 hex more than their normal movement this turn."

I have played it as just boosting a units max move.

So a tank which can only move 2 hexes can now move 3.

An infantry can also move 3 hexes instead of its normal 2 hexes.

How many of you treat this as a mini Inf Assault card?

That is the infantry can now off this card move 1 or 2 and battle or move 3.

I am not sure that is right.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3072
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Frozen Ground Wed, 06 April 2011 23:24
You are correct Tank Commander.

Infantry may move 2 and battle or 3 and no battle. Terrain entry considerations still apply.

And if the infantry was on a road throughout his movement, he could move 3 and battle or 4 hexes and not battle.
      
    
Previous Topic:Fortress and ignoring flags
Next Topic:My favorite rule!
Goto Forum: