Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Obligatory objectives
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Obligatory objectives Thu, 27 January 2011 21:53
I'm planning to play the Vercors campaign in the next week or so, and I noticed that it includes two scenarios in which the Axis player has to capture a certain objective in order to win. Now I wonder, what happens if the Allied player has lost all his units, but the Axis player still hasn't captured the obligatory objective? Must the Allied player skip his turns then and wait for his opponent to reach the hex in question? I know, it's a rather hypothetical question as the Allied player will try anything to cover the objective with one of his units, but the situation per se is imaginable.
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Obligatory objectives Thu, 27 January 2011 23:22
Yep, I have no units... play card turn over your turn... play card move that last Artillery unit up another hex... My turn, play card, turn over... yeah, kinda boring...
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Obligatory objectives Thu, 27 January 2011 23:41
And another thought: as the medals gathered in those scenarios count towards the campaign victory, I guess that in the case of a 7-3 Axis victory, only the 5 or 6 medals required according to the conditions of victory are counted? Otherwise, the Axis player could gather additional victory points just by refusing to occupy the obligatory objective until all enemy units are destroyed.
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Obligatory objectives Fri, 28 January 2011 00:56
I would guess officially nothing past the 6 medals would count, but it would increase the fig count....
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Fri, 28 January 2011 08:06
I don't remember where, but the official word came down that you can't pad your score with extra medals. Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Fri, 28 January 2011 12:50
P. 3 The FAQ - ENDING THE GAME:
Quote:

Q. When is the game officially over?
A. Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory
section of the scenario. Players do not get to finish their turn; they cannot do Armor Overrun or Take Ground.

Q. If you capture a multi-point objective at the end of the game, is it possible to get more than the needed medal count?
A. No. In a scenario where a set number of medals is listed as the Conditions of Victory, the game will end when the
Conditions of Victory number is achieved. Sorry, there is no gravy!

Q. If a scenario can't be won until I capture a specific objective, can I increase my final medal count by destroying other units before I capture the objective?
A. No. Like the answer about the multi-point objective, you cannot pad your score. For score-keeping purposes you will only
receive the number of medals outlined in the conditions of victory section if you win.


Bet that looks familiar Jesse..
Laughing

[Updated on: Fri, 28 January 2011 12:51]

      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:Obligatory objectives Fri, 28 January 2011 14:00
So presumably if you're playing the Germans in a 6 medal scenario, where the Germans HAVE to capture an objective, you could lose 6-6?

That could make keeping track of scores in a campaign/competition tricky.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Fri, 28 January 2011 15:29
This is correct. The medals still help the Germans in the total medal count, this may be beneficial in a tiebreaker situation in the end, so don't stop fighting. However, benefits in the Campaigns tend to be awarded for victories. So having the victory is an essential factor for the Allies as well.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Sat, 29 January 2011 07:25
stevens wrote on Fri, 28 January 2011 15:50

P. 3 The FAQ - ENDING THE GAME:
Quote:

Q. When is the game officially over?
A. Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory
section of the scenario. Players do not get to finish their turn; they cannot do Armor Overrun or Take Ground.

Q. If you capture a multi-point objective at the end of the game, is it possible to get more than the needed medal count?
A. No. In a scenario where a set number of medals is listed as the Conditions of Victory, the game will end when the
Conditions of Victory number is achieved. Sorry, there is no gravy!

Q. If a scenario can't be won until I capture a specific objective, can I increase my final medal count by destroying other units before I capture the objective?
A. No. Like the answer about the multi-point objective, you cannot pad your score. For score-keeping purposes you will only
receive the number of medals outlined in the conditions of victory section if you win.


Bet that looks familiar Jesse..
Laughing


I knew I had seen it somewhere!! Razz Turns out I wrote it in the FAQ... Embarassed
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Sat, 29 January 2011 10:49
Turboheizer wrote on Thu, 27 January 2011 21:53

I'm planning to play the Vercors campaign in the next week or so, and I noticed that it includes two scenarios in which the Axis player has to capture a certain objective in order to win. Now I wonder, what happens if the Allied player has lost all his units, but the Axis player still hasn't captured the obligatory objective? Must the Allied player skip his turns then and wait for his opponent to reach the hex in question? I know, it's a rather hypothetical question as the Allied player will try anything to cover the objective with one of his units, but the situation per se is imaginable.


I have seen this happen on vassal in "The escape of the Elster Column" breakthrough scenario. The Germans elliminated all the Allied units and had to move 2 more units out. The Allied drew and discarded cards hoping to get "Barrage" or "Air Power". Strange situation but tense.
      
PlanBee
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 118
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 17:54
stevens wrote on Fri, 28 January 2011 11:50

P. 3 The FAQ - ENDING THE GAME:
Quote:

Q. When is the game officially over?
A. Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory
section of the scenario. Players do not get to finish their turn; they cannot do Armor Overrun or Take Ground.

Q. If you capture a multi-point objective at the end of the game, is it possible to get more than the needed medal count?
A. No. In a scenario where a set number of medals is listed as the Conditions of Victory, the game will end when the
Conditions of Victory number is achieved. Sorry, there is no gravy!

Q. If a scenario can't be won until I capture a specific objective, can I increase my final medal count by destroying other units before I capture the objective?
A. No. Like the answer about the multi-point objective, you cannot pad your score. For score-keeping purposes you will only
receive the number of medals outlined in the conditions of victory section if you win.



Bet that looks familiar Jesse..
Laughing


If you read A literally, the game is over once the Germans reach 6 medals. But because they haven't captured specific objectives they do not win (not sure if they lose)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 19:01

Quote:

Q. If a scenario can't be won until I capture a specific objective, can I increase my final medal count by destroying other units before I capture the objective?
A. No. Like the answer about the multi-point objective, you cannot pad your score. For score-keeping purposes you will only
receive the number of medals outlined in the conditions of victory section if you win.

PlanBee wrote on Mon, 31 January 2011 20:54


If you read A literally, the game is over once the Germans reach 6 medals. But because they haven't captured specific objectives they do not win (not sure if they lose)


No, the game is not over until the victory conditions are met for one side or the other. Nobody loses and nobody wins until a victory condition is met; in this case it would include a specific condition and other medals. Cool Nice try though... Laughing

[Updated on: Mon, 31 January 2011 19:04]

      
PlanBee
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 118
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 20:40
Ah but, according the FAQ:

'Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory'

Doesnt say victory conditions need to be met

Perhaps the FAQ needs re wording Laughing

[Updated on: Mon, 31 January 2011 20:40]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 20:55
You are trying to do some mighty fine parrsing of the rules there friend.

The Victory Conditions determine when the battle is over.
Nice try though.

Laughing Laughing Laughing

If you think you have a case, please specify a particular scenario in which you think you would get an option. We will see if the standard you are applying will fit that scenario.

[Updated on: Mon, 31 January 2011 20:58]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 903
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 22:56
I know its somewhat amusing, but pointing this out as PlanBee did makes perfect sense.

The first Q/A on this issue in the FAQ is worded in contradiction to the obligatory objective rule. That is, "Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory".

This statement is not true. It is only true, if there are no obligatory objectives. It should be rephrased to something like:

"Battles are over the instant once side meets the Conditions of Victory, for example, capturing the required number of medals and any obligatory objectives."

I should point out that this doesn't bother me, but we all know there is going to be some post in the future that points out the inconsistency of this and how it justifies some errant interpretation, and then what follows will be a long thread trying to convince this person that the Q/A should not be read too literally. Laughing

[Updated on: Mon, 31 January 2011 23:01]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Obligatory objectives Mon, 31 January 2011 23:08
Okay Jesse time for a rewrite when you update the FAQ.

Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:Cannot Run Any of the Beta Upgrades?
Next Topic:Medics & Mechanics card in new Breakthrough deck
Goto Forum: